Australia: Road Trip To Perth (23 - 27 Nov 2013)

Typhoonz

I'm taking my family to Perth during the above mentioned period and this would be a self drive holiday. I have a total of 8 pax (5 adults & 3 children aged 3, 6 & 9). Planning to pick up the MPV at Perth Airport and was looking at rental websites from Thrifty, Budget and Avis with Thrifty being the cheapest. Also considering a Toyota Commuter minibus.

This is my virgin self drive holiday so would appreciate advise from all who have been and driven there like which is the best vehicle rental company you experienced with and the things to lookout for while driving there. Also I'm confused with the additional costs that the rental website like excess reduction, loss damage waiver and "protection" packages. Any of these that I should take or these are not necessary?

So fire away...

We are off to Perth, Margaret River and Denmark for the 3 weeks prior to you.

We are staying a couple of nights in Perth first. The missus got a great deal at the Sheraton and we are hiring a car from 'Bayswater' in town it being cheaper than hire at the airport.

I have worldwide accident excess cover from when I was in UK recently and this is something I'd recommend although it can be costly getting it from the car hirer rather than a specialized excess cover insurer.

Perth, Margaret River and then to Denmark? Interesting trip this is going to be for you.

Bayswater Car Rental is a super popular choice and I would go for it but they the biggest vehicle they have is a RAV4...

I'm also looking at getting a travel insurance which covers car rental accidents...

Get a commuter, it's more spacious than the Kia Carnival.

Take the full insurance coverage, you never know what might happen and it gives you a peace of mind.

Coincidentally i'll be travelling down south during that period as well.

since this is your virgin drive, few advices:

1. planning, planning and more planning.....

2. keep cool, keep calm and always remember that you are on holiday....

3. dun speed, never speed and enjoy slow driving.....

if you are driving down south, plan your time and dun go too far at one go, stop and spend a night or two along the way if you are heading albany.

my opinion is dun take the highway, use the smaller route cos there are many scenery, small town, food, etc along the road that make the best experience.

Get a commuter, it's more spacious than the Kia Carnival.

Take the full insurance coverage, you never know what might happen and it gives you a peace of mind.

Coincidentally i'll be travelling down south during that period as well.

Yes the more I looked at it the more I feel that the commuter is a better choice.

since this is your virgin drive, few advices:

1. planning, planning and more planning.....

2. keep cool, keep calm and always remember that you are on holiday....

3. dun speed, never speed and enjoy slow driving.....

if you are driving down south, plan your time and dun go too far at one go, stop and spend a night or two along the way if you are heading albany.

my opinion is dun take the highway, use the smaller route cos there are many scenery, small town, food, etc along the road that make the best experience.

We are staying at Scarborough so we won't be going too far away... Will do whale watching, visit the Perth Zoo and drive around...

Nice tip for the small road choice, will definately do that...

Also do not exceed speed limit as they are very strict on that.

Oh the trip is already expensive as it is so won't want to add on to it with other avoidable expenses...

We are staying at Scarborough so we won't be going too far away... Will do whale watching, visit the Perth Zoo and drive around...

summer holiday season, be careful of the wild and drunken teen at Scarborough beach. I stayed there last time, nice neigborhood :D

summer holiday season, be careful of the wild and drunken teen at Scarborough beach. I stayed there last time, nice neigborhood :D C

The compound is fenced up so I guess unless we venture out into the beach area, we won't seeing these drunkards...

Yes the more I looked at it the more I feel that the commuter is a better choice.

Oh the trip is already expensive as it is so won't want to add on to it with other avoidable expenses...

Just back from perth not too long ago.. IMHO.. the must go places from scarborough

1- Swan Valley

2- Fremantle markets (u got to go 23 or 24 coz its wkend mkt)

3- Harbourtown ba.. tho only oakley and sheridian cheap there i think

In terms of makan.. assuming you have a kitchenette to use, can always get groceries from woolworths or IGR pretty convenient... beats spending 200AUD/meal

oh.. and think commuter good for you also.. i had 6 adults + luggage in a carnival.Last roll have to take up one seat liao

and if you plan to go to chinatown perth CBD... u got to chance your luck abit abt the parking.. can be quite troublesome

Oh... and remember must get GPS!.. will not regret

Edited by SuPerBoRed

Just back from perth not too long ago.. IMHO.. the must go places from scarborough

1- Swan Valley

2- Fremantle markets (u got to go 23 or 24 coz its wkend mkt)

3- Harbourtown ba.. tho only oakley and sheridian cheap there i think

In terms of makan.. assuming you have a kitchenette to use, can always get groceries from woolworths or IGR pretty convenient... beats spending 200AUD/meal

oh.. and think commuter good for you also.. i had 6 adults + luggage in a carnival.Last roll have to take up one seat liao

and if you plan to go to chinatown perth CBD... u got to chance your luck abit abt the parking.. can be quite troublesome

Oh... and remember must get GPS!.. will not regret

Wah those 3 you mentioned I all didn't plan for it... Planning to go whale watching on Monday plus the Aquarium after that... Tuesday to the Perth Zoo and drive around... We will be checking out on Wednesday noon and will drive around so perhaps to Harbour Town? Our flight is at 0005H on Thursday so aiming to reach Perth Airport at 2100H...

Good suggestion for the weekend to Fremantle Market...

We are planning to get some strawberries before we head to the airport... Any idea where to get it?

Wah those 3 you mentioned I all didn't plan for it... Planning to go whale watching on Monday plus the Aquarium after that... Tuesday to the Perth Zoo and drive around... We will be checking out on Wednesday noon and will drive around so perhaps to Harbour Town? Our flight is at 0005H on Thursday so aiming to reach Perth Airport at 2100H...

We are planning to get some strawberries before we head to the airport... Any idea where to get it?

Swan Valley try not to miss it if you can.. Got quite a number of nice wineries, chocolate factories, olive oil, ice creameries to look see look see.. Go to the visitor centre, they can help you plot your route.. Took me only 3hr+ to complete the loop there. Quite easy
Harbourtown is their outlet shopping. Not fantastic unless you really lking for something to buy
Eh, not a fan of strawberries.. But saw alot of big, red (fresh looking) ones in many supermarkets. Dont think have strawberry farm in the area tho
Edited by SuPerBoRed

You can try getting them on the weekend at the Subiaco Station Markets. Opens 8 to 5, Fri to Sun only.

Swan valley is very family friendly and you should visit the wild life park and all the food factories/winery about that around.

Fremantle Market would be good for one whole day if you visit the surrounding place museum and dun forget the the famous fish n chips place. I would suggest Kailis' (they're just next to each other) :D

IMG_8849.JPG

kailis-fish-market-cafe.jpg

Edited by Jman888

Swan Valley try not to miss it if you can.. Got quite a number of nice wineries, chocolate factories, olive oil, ice creameries to look see look see.. Go to the visitor centre, they can help you plot your route.. Took me only 3hr+ to complete the loop there. Quite easy
Harbourtown is their outlet shopping. Not fantastic unless you really lking for something to buy
Eh, not a fan of strawberries.. But saw alot of big, red (fresh looking) ones in many supermarkets. Dont think have strawberry farm in the area tho

Looked through the Swan Valley websites and seems interesting...

Is parking easy to find at these places you mentioned?

You can try getting them on the weekend at the Subiaco Station Markets. Opens 8 to 5, Fri to Sun only.

The Fremantle Markets should also have it right?

Swan valley is very family friendly and you should visit the wild life park and all the food factories/winery about that around.

Fremantle Market would be good for one whole day if you visit the surrounding place museum and dun forget the the famous fish n chips place. I would suggest Kailis' (they're just next to each other) :D

IMG_8849.JPG

kailis-fish-market-cafe.jpg

Expensive? I'm quite concerned about food prices there as many have told me that you can spend a bomb and still walk away hungry... Planning to get some supplies for daily breakfast from Coles and perhaps BBQ on one of the nights for dinner...

Also what did you guys do at night? I was in Darwin for a RSAF detachment for 3 months and the nights are spent in front of the TV or if someone is kind enuff to drive me to the Fisherman's Wharf for some good "Fisherman's Basket"... So I would expect Perth to be pretty much the same as Darwin or any other places after 6pm...

Edited by Typhoonz

Looked through the Swan Valley websites and seems interesting...

Is parking easy to find at these places you mentioned?

Expensive? I'm quite concerned about food prices there as many have told me that you can spend a bomb and still walk away hungry... Planning to get some supplies for daily breakfast from Coles and perhaps BBQ on one of the nights for dinner...

parking at swan valley place of interest are all free :D

if there is one meal that you have to eat out, try those seafood. I also cook for breakfast and dinner, but you will usually have lunch outside.

But if you have to have 1 breakfast or 1 dinner outside, go chinatown for dim sum breakfast (be prepared for the long queue, but weekday is fine), and those bbq pork for dinner, very reasonable price.

parking at swan valley place of interest are all free :D

if there is one meal that you have to eat out, try those seafood. I also cook for breakfast and dinner, but you will usually have lunch outside.

But if you have to have 1 breakfast or 1 dinner outside, go chinatown for dim sum breakfast (be prepared for the long queue, but weekday is fine), and those bbq pork for dinner, very reasonable price.

Breakfast is easy but dinner would be challenging... Going into the CBD got charges like ERP?

The Fremantle Markets should also have it right?

Yup, last I went it was smaller and more pricey but you can definitely get fresh fruits there too.

Not true about the food, it all depends on where you go. Generally, a main sized serving is twice what you can get in Singapore, and it costs anything from $10-$15.