1 in 5 Singaporeans lie to get time off work

Darthrevan

work100913e.jpg

A survey by leading global travel search site Skyscanner has found that one in ten Singaporeans have lied to their boss to secure their vacation by claiming their holiday was already booked, while a further 9 per cent admit they have called in sick to work in order to get time off.

The survey of 1,000 Singaporeans also found that nearly half (45 per cent) booked their time off over six months in advance to make sure their preferred dates were secured.
According to research* from September 2013, Singapore has the longest working hours in the world, and the new survey results from Skyscanner shows that some employees admit to using crafty tactics to secure that all-important time off from their jobs. 6 per cent of respondents admitted pretending a family member was sick while 4 per cent said they had paid or bribed a colleague.
Imaginary love was in the air for 4 per cent of workers who admitted that they pretended to their employer that they needed time off to take a honeymoon.
Skyscanner Singapore Marketing Manager Ira Noviani said: "It's clear that many employees find themselves going head-to-head to book that coveted time off work; and with the end of the year holidays now approaching, many have admitted they will go to extreme lengths to do so."
Lengths Singaporeans go to ensure holiday time off is approved**
1. Book six months in advance - 45 per cent
2. Lie to their boss and say the holiday was already booked - 10 per cent
3. Called into work sick - 9 per cent
4. Pretended a family member was sick - 6 per cent
5. Pretended it was for honeymoon - 4 per cent
6. Paid/bribed a colleague - 4 per cent
7. None of the above - 39 per cent

Out of 1000 Singaporeans, 37% are foreigners and X numbers are PR.....so the real numbers are????

Edited by Staff69

Out of 1000 Singaporeans, 37% are foreigners and X numbers are PR.....so the real numbers are????

hahaha.. the great increase in foreigners working (and skving!) in singapore is exposed in this survey! [sly]

And yet our unemployment rate is still so low.

1 in 5 ??

I dun believe !!

I also don't believe, cannot be 4 in 5 don't lie.

Or maybe 1 in 5 employer don't let ppl take leave.

Just accept with a pinch of salt. Ask ourselves if we are one of them and if we condone to such actions. If you are one of them then just ask if you can do anything to skew this survey. If yes just do it, else just continue living your life. No use thinking that we are high and mighty.

Heng Ah .......

I am not one in five but the other four ... [sweatdrop]

heng ah, i the boss of the 5 [idea][idea][idea][laugh]

for me where go leave wan??? if die means die...need to wait i back fr leave then die??? knn....

Or Hor.. U prefer to hire foreign worker.

i always knew u were a special person.....cannot read, now cannot understand, next wat?

yours is dysreadixia, or dismisundertandexia, but u consperm is trollphilia

Or Hor.. U prefer to hire foreign worker.

u tell me, wh singaporean willing to carry dead body??? literally a dying trade

i kid u not, most of the undertakers going under, literally, and there ar efew following their footsteps. scary to think, next time, really DHL thru sembwaste

Nope....

Its just that the other four doesn't get caught .... [sly]

I think it's because the other 4 thought the survey was a ploy their boss came up with to catch them. Have also say don't have [laugh]

u tell me, wh singaporean willing to carry dead body??? literally a dying trade

i kid u not, most of the undertakers going under, literally, and there ar efew following their footsteps. scary to think, next time, really DHL thru sembwaste

Relax. I joking with you nia. Don't so fierce.. Chill up.

Anyway the foreign worker I refer to are not from oversea. More of from ermm.... Down under.

Btw now mobile cannot use emcon Liao.

Relax. I joking with you nia. Don't so fierce.. Chill up.

Anyway the foreign worker I refer to are not from oversea. More of from ermm.... Down under.

Btw now mobile cannot use emcon Liao.

lol....pls lah......play play oni...i noe

But you are right on trollphila got a high talking to them.🙊🙊