Posting Bad Remarks about Filipinos, Tio hoot

Mustank

Zheng hoo lang poh mata liao [grin]

http://news.asiaone.com/news/singapore/facebook-user-draws-flak-posting-disparaging-remarks-about-filipinos?page=0%2C0

Facebook user draws flak for posting disparaging remarks about Filipinos
racist_slur_0.jpg
Wednesday, October 9, 2013 - 00:00
Chai Hung Yin
The New Paper

SINGAPORE - She described Filipinos as "poor", "smelly from cleaning toilets" and "uneducated".

She also mocked Miss Philippines Megan Young, 23, for winning the Miss World 2013 in Bali on Sept 28.

Using the name Devina DeDiva, her racial slurs, posted on her Facebook social networking timeline, invoked the ire of netizens and prompted one Singaporean to lodge a police report.

Ms Devina had posted: "Miss Philippines is Miss World? What a joke! I did not know those maids have anything else in them Ha Ha Ha." The post attracted 20 likes and 468 shares within a day.

It was not clear when she posted the status update as the latest search for the Facebook account turned up a message that said the page was unavailable. It is likely the page was removed.

But outraged netizens were able to capture screenshots of the post and its comments before the account was deleted.

Others have tried to establish Ms Devina's identity. She was initially thought to be an Indian national, but was later said to be a Singaporean Indian.

She is said to be a student at SIM University and also works as a laboratory analyst.

Her LinkedIn networking website account is believed to have also been deleted.

The screenshots have been re-posted on other websites with scathing responses to her post. Many defended Filipinos.

Someone named Manoj Sharma posted: "Filipino girls r cute, humble and honest as far as I know. I am glad to have great friends from the Philippines."

But that invited a reply from Ms Devina, who posted: "They r poor, smelly from cleaning toilets & uneducated."

When another netizen hinted that she is ignorant, she replied: "Ignorant? Get ur vocab checked dude majority r maids & 1 won such a title! It's shocking & dumb!"

Photo Gallery:
Racial slurs against Miss World winner Megan Young
Click on thumbnail to view photos. Source:
AFP / Reuters / Internet

'Student'

When contacted by The New Paper, SIM University confirmed that it has a student going by the name cited by netizens.

Its spokesman said: "We are doing our due diligence to establish the facts of the case. If ascertained that our code of conduct for students has been violated, we will take appropriate disciplinary actions."

International media has reported that Ms Devina has lost her job following her postings, quoting "a reliable source".

The International Business Times, an online publication headquartered in the United States, reported that she was "fired from her position as an assistant teacher of a school being run by Filipino superiors".

She is believed to have created another Facebook account and continued her rants there.

The police confirmed that a police report was made and they are looking into the matter.

A Singaporean, who wanted to be known as Mr Anthony, confirmed that he had made the police report on Thursday at about 1pm.

The 27-year-old civil servant told The New Paper: "I'm concerned with the comments made by this person, especially when racial harmony is threatened and I see this being spread online.

"Racial harmony is very important and these kind of comments should not be tolerated."

He said that he first read about the posts on a forum. He then logged into his Facebook account and saw screenshots of the comments that have been re-posted.

He said: "I want to inform the police that there's such a thing and for them to find out, if there's any offence committed."

devina.jpg?itok=bvqR0iin
devina01.jpg?itok=WJ4PmPsl
devina02.jpg?itok=kKUxDH5C
devina03.jpg?itok=mO_M8Ci6
devina04.jpg?itok=HOaZ1Cnc
devina05.jpg?itok=SNnNv8J7
devina06.jpg?itok=X8Wsvsrp
devina14.jpg?itok=dfTYzEbA
devina08.jpg?itok=lwQowPe0
devina09.jpg?itok=4FKTFlOg
devina10.jpg?itok=GZNvjhK_
devina11.jpg?itok=_QteXUfv
devina12.jpg?itok=lywalDQM
devina13.jpg?itok=hE4uXjOD

What racist harmony are we talking about? Filipino is a race in Singapore? We don't make up of Chinese, Indian, Malay and Eurasian only?

U live in Bukit Timah Hill how long liao [:p]

I only know they ''live'' in Orchard road, some said along ION orchard and lucky plaza...every Sunday..They dance, eat....sit around like in living room...short of cooking there only... [laugh]

Depend on "big eyes" mood [confused]

Not MCF Urm pai [laugh] ?

Singaporean TURN AGAINST another Singaporean?

Maybe that Singaporean who poh mata is a former FT of the thousand islands

Edited by Mcf777
  • Dislike 1

Singaporean TURN AGAINST another Singaporean?

Maybe that Singaporean who poh mata is a former FT of the thousand islands

Civil war about to break-out [sweatdrop]

wy worry., we have 'plain cloth commando black op' ppl running abt

bfSxlVM.jpg

The "Singaporean'' that reported the Singaporean to the police certainly have a very "local' name of Anthony Benedicto. Wonder which mix races he is...

http://sg.news.yahoo.com/unisim-investigating-student-over-alleged-racist-comments-071901533.html

SIM University (UniSIM) is looking into allegations that one of its students posted racist comments about Filipinos after Miss Philippines Megan Young won the Miss World crown last month.

A spokesperson for the university for working adults confirmed with Yahoo Singapore on Monday that it has a student by the name of Devina Sharma, who is accused of using the name “Devina DeDiva” to post the alleged racist comments on Facebook.

“We are doing our due diligence to establish the facts of the case. If ascertained that our code of conduct for students has been violated, we will take appropriate disciplinary actions,” the UniSIM spokesperson said.

In a Facebook post shortly after the announcement of the Miss World 2013 results on 28 September, “Devina DeDiva” said, “Miss Philippines is Miss World? What a joke! I did not know those maids have anything else in them.”

She also described Filipinas as “poor”, “smelly from cleaning toilets” and “underprivileged”.

When other people pointed out the rudeness of her comments, the Facebook user said, “They r less privileged everywhere! M surprised one can win. What a joke these people cleaning our toilets won miss world.”

DeDiva's account was subsequently deleted, but resurfaced later on bearing the name "Devina Dediva (II)", continuing her anti-Filipino rants.

Police investigating

According to local media, one Anthony Benedicto filed a police report on 3 October against the person behind “Devina DeDiva” and said in a Facebook post, “Racism is not tolerated in Singapore.”

Benedicto later deactivated his Facebook account, but a redacted copy of the police report that made the rounds on social networks Path and Twitter showed it was filed against a Devina Sharma.

In response to queries by Yahoo Singapore, a police spokesperson confirmed that a report was lodged and that they are looking into the matter.

The incident has caused uproar in the Philippines with one prominent stage actress there saying, “That slur was certainly a form of discrimination against Filipinos. Why do we see maids as being lowly? Why? They do an honourable job. They contribute to society and are well-respected and well-appreciated in many countries . We have to be proud of that and not allow people to demean us in that way.”

Edited by LoverofCar

Bro Fong,

U mean use Hand Gun and shout bang bang bang?

(I couldnt find that Pino mata using hand sign as a gun)

What a joke !!!!!

Bro Fong,

U mean use Hand Gun and shout bang bang bang?

(I couldnt find that Pino mata using hand sign as a gun)

What a joke !!!!!

nah

law-enforcement-fail-no-gun.jpg

Protest outside Singapore embassy in Manila lor, isn't that what they always do?

Or boycott Singapore lor, all quit their jobs, pack up and return to their homeland.

And stupiak girl for posting nonsense online, orbigoot if she kena also.

Protest outside Singapore embassy in Manila lor, isn't that what they always do?

Or boycott Singapore lor, all quit their jobs, pack up and return to their homeland.

And stupiak girl for posting nonsense online, orbigoot if she kena also.

so far, many hve not had their passes extended....and most are planning to leave.

gonna be interesting actually, as it may hit the rental mkt?