Another Incident At Child Care Centre

Picnic06-Biante15

From Yahoo news: MSF, police investigate baby scalding incident at PAP childcare centre

The Ministry of Social and Family development (MSF) and the police are investigating reports that a six-month-old baby suffered second-degree burns at the hands of a caregiver at a PAP Community Foundation (PCF) infant care centre.

According to a Facebook user named Wendy Foo, the unnamed infant, a child of a friend of hers, was being looked after at the government-run
Little Wings childcare centre in Boon Lay on Wednesday when his hands were scalded.

Foo's account of the incident,
in a post on her Facebook page, revealed that her friend was initially told by a caretaker at the centre over the phone that someone had spilled coffee onto his wrist by accident.

It was accompanied by three pictures she posted of the baby's left wrist, perforated with bubbles, sagging skin and an angry red burn mark on the top side.

"But my friend (said there) wasn't any coffee stain at all," Foo wrote. "So my friend insisted (to be given access to watch) their CCTV (footage), and the video show(ed) differently," she added, without elaborating on what her friend saw instead.

In subsequent comments, she noted that the CCTV camera had only captured "half" of the area of the childcare centre, adding that her friend has withdrawn her baby from the programme.

Foo also said her friend was told by a teacher at the centre that the person in charge was unable to travel there to speak to her because she stays "very far" away, adding that a complaint was lodged with the MSF.

When contacted, a spokesperson for the
Early Childhood Development Agency, a subsidiary of the MSF, confirmed it had been informed of the incident and is investigating.

"The safety of our children is of utmost importance," the spokesperson told Yahoo Singapore on Thursday. "ECDA is investigating, and working closely with the centre to ensure that safety guidelines are adhered to."

Local media reported also that the police have also been alerted to the incident and are investigating. Yahoo Singapore has also contacted the PCF for a statement.

link: http://sg.news.yahoo.com/msf--police-investigate-baby-scalding-incident-at-pap-childcare-centre-035259766.html

Look at the baby arm, sooooooooooooooo sad ... [bigcry][bigcry]

post-21853-0-77505600-1381388821.jpg

Sad to say, the incident is avoidable. Had the caretaker exercised more common sense and dilligence, none of this would have happened.

From CNA

SINGAPORE: A police report has been lodged by the parents of a baby allegedly scalded at a PAP Community Foundation (PCF) childcare centre in Jurong West.

A report has also been made to the Ministry of Social and Family Development (MSF).

The nine-month-old baby suffered second degree burns on his arm.

According to PCF, a staff member had placed her cup of coffee on the floor to raise the blinds at a window. She then placed him on the floor, and left to store the baby’s things. That is when the incident happened.

PCF said the staff was negligent and appropriate action will be taken. It will also review the environment and procedures at the centre. PCF has apologised for what happened and said it will do everything to help the child recover.

The incident happened on October 2, but only came to light after a family friend uploaded photos of the child on her Facebook page on Tuesday.

The baby's mother said the centre offered to help with the insurance claims and medical bills. But she wished the situation could have been better handled.

The baby’s mother said: "They should have asked the teacher to explain to us how it actually happened. I asked to speak to their higher management. They gave me a phone number and said to speak to this man.

“But he said, your baby is all right now, right? I said, what do you mean he's okay? He has second degree burns."

In a statement, the Early Childhood Development Agency (ECDA) said the safety of children is of utmost importance.

It said investigations are underway, and it is working with the centre to ensure safety guidelines are followed.

- CNA/nd/fa

without pre-judging the case....I feel that the quality of our educators had certainly degraded in recent years...Especially on the early childhood education...

To be fair, it wasn't as easy as before for them also..

Last time when we kena whack by teachers in school our parents say orbi good..

now they will stomp to school and demand this and that and make it to the press...

I will say, equally responsible...

But on this case, it was an accident no doubt negligience.. Poor baby.. the arm was very badly burnt..

The higher management is really trying to be a target board by giving such replies... waiting to be [rifle]

Edited by Knoobie

Sad to say, the incident is avoidable. Had the caretaker exercised more common sense and dilligence, none of this would have happened.

From CNA

SINGAPORE: A police report has been lodged by the parents of a baby allegedly scalded at a PAP Community Foundation (PCF) childcare centre in Jurong West.

A report has also been made to the Ministry of Social and Family Development (MSF).

The nine-month-old baby suffered second degree burns on his arm.

According to PCF, a staff member had placed her cup of coffee on the floor to raise the blinds at a window. She then placed him on the floor, and left to store the baby’s things. That is when the incident happened.

PCF said the staff was negligent and appropriate action will be taken. It will also review the environment and procedures at the centre. PCF has apologised for what happened and said it will do everything to help the child recover.

The incident happened on October 2, but only came to light after a family friend uploaded photos of the child on her Facebook page on Tuesday.

The baby's mother said the centre offered to help with the insurance claims and medical bills. But she wished the situation could have been better handled.

The baby’s mother said: "They should have asked the teacher to explain to us how it actually happened. I asked to speak to their higher management. They gave me a phone number and said to speak to this man.

“But he said, your baby is all right now, right? I said, what do you mean he's okay? He has second degree burns."

In a statement, the Early Childhood Development Agency (ECDA) said the safety of children is of utmost importance.

It said investigations are underway, and it is working with the centre to ensure safety guidelines are followed.

- CNA/nd/fa

i doubt that man she spoke to was a 'higher management', these operations people don't really have good communication skill or even receive any proper training.

Edited by Jman888

I don't know how many more such "accidents" will happen before something is done to buck up the quality of the centres.

and the best part... how can say "your child is ok now right?" burn already and see doctor means ok liao?

anyway there is a total lack of childcare services for new births to kindergarten. teething problems trying to setup this industry.

Coffee spill can go all the way round the baby wrist, bluffing who ? ..... [sly]

spill directly on the wrist cannot meh? <_<<_<

but then i dun think coffee can cause 2nd degree burn, if they make a mistake, admit it and upfront with the truth, dun hide.

Coffee spill can go all the way round the baby wrist, bluffing who ? ..... [sly]

What was the coffee doing on the floor beside the six months baby .... [sweatdrop]

In an earlier CNA report, it said the staff had made herself a kopi. Then she put it on the floor cos she wanted to draw the blinds.

Then the baby arrived at the centre. So she put the baby on the FLOOR and NEXT to the kopi while she left to keep the baby's bag/barang barang.

Then suay suay, the kopi spilled.

Edited by Altivo

spill directly on the wrist cannot meh? <_<<_<

but then i dun think coffee can cause 2nd degree burn, if they make a mistake, admit it and upfront with the truth, dun hide.

Even if it was the case, shouldn't hot drinks are not supposed to drink infront of a baby. There should be a pantry or a proper place to take a break... [furious]

In an earlier CNA report, it said the staff had made herself a kopi. Then she put it on the floor cos she wanted to draw the blinds.

The the baby arrived at the centre. So she put the baby on the FLOOR and NEXT to the kopi while she left to keep the baby's bag/barang barang.

Hur....

Child care centre got no table or pantry to placed the kopi ????

Must placed on the floor .... [jawdrop]

Then the baby arrived at the centre. So she put the baby on the FLOOR and NEXT to the kopi while she left to keep the baby's bag/barang barang.

on 2nd thought maybe baby skin is thinner, even a hot coffee may cause a 2nd degree burn [rolleyes]

Even if it was the case, shouldn't hot drinks are not supposed to drink infront of a baby. There should be a pantry or a proper place to take a break... [furious]

That's why i said the accident can be avoided.

Baby should be placed in the cot whenever he is not supervised. Kopi should be on the table. Putting both on the floor is a disaster waiting to happen.

Hur....

Child care centre got no table or pantry to placed the kopi ????

Must placed on the floor .... [jawdrop]

walau you so angry ........

did you ever cause some minor injury accidentally to your kids when they were young?

i did a few time, very sim tia even until now [:(]

walau you so angry ........

did you ever cause some minor injury accidentally to your kids when they were young?

i did a few time, very sim tia even until now [:(]

Never..... very careful of the surrounding whenever the baby was around or placed... [:|]

Always make sure that nothing dangerous was around the baby starting from the month he/she learnt to turn over. Even in cot, the pillow or boster also protential danger. [sweatdrop]