Alfa 159 Part VIII (Any Alfa discussion also welcomed)

Gorjiam

Hi Hobsbawm,

Welcome, do join us for our meet up this sunday.

Please Click : http://www.mycarforum.com/topic/2691531-alfisti-mega-meet-up-27-oct-2013/page-2

it's THIS sunday?!?!?!!?

gosh

how time flies!!

Road noise?

I have novitecs.. and with all the stupid rattlings from the aging car (6 yrs).... road noise is least of my concerns.

As for braking distance.. even if you have the best tyres, u will nw begin to consider 4 pots, 6 pots... slotted or drilled.. bla bla bla..

Just drive safe and keep a good distance from vehicle ahead. So far it worked well for me.

oh

i always tot ours is 4 pot? lol

shows my technical knowledge, or the lack of it!!

Thanks. Rims with new owner already :).

Ahah that is the red 156 tailing me on Chancery Lane last weekend :)

Hello all! My first post on this forum.

Hi Hobs

Welcome to this fun forum - best on MCF :)

A lot of passion and occasionally we talk about cars :)

thanks for your honest feedback

I agree with the bolded part too

but i do like to encourage pple to move along sometimes

and as it is, i find my current braking distance quite scary on the stock GY F1 sometimes

as some would put it

tyres are the only pt of contact with the ground blah blah blah

thankfully not time to change yet

just doing some ground work cos everytime i go rotate tyres i get bombarded with all these options

what about road noise ah?

i know quite a stupid thing to pick on given the novitec. lol

i agree about the cost too. sometimes, i can't help but feel the price premium is due to the brand and its positioning and its associated costs of marketing.

no doubt the tyres are good, but the value isn't there. we all know that premium products command premium margin.

i'm not willing to pay for that kind of costs, but i'm also too self-conscious about using brands associated at the lower end of the spectrum. had a friendly discussion with a colleague driving a bimmer and he was like saying wah lau u got money to buy alfa, no money to buy good tyres ah?

in the end, i went for the one which i feel has the most value in terms of price-performance ratio: GY F1 A2.

my one tyre can buy 4 of the 15" tyres i used last time...

Hi Hobsbawm,

Welcome, do join us for our meet up this sunday.

Please Click : http://www.mycarforum.com/topic/2691531-alfisti-mega-meet-up-27-oct-2013/page-2

Hey Jo! Can't make it this Sun! Next meetup..!

Ahah that is the red 156 tailing me on Chancery Lane last weekend :)

Hi Hobs

Welcome to this fun forum - best on MCF :)

A lot of passion and occasionally we talk about cars :)

Tks Torq! Already feeling the love!

KU31 20k showing signs of wear...

Tot can last at least 35k

Bro u did rotation every 5k? KU31 should be able to last quite well.. With our car's 'crazy' camber, it would wear out another tyres

where's the lobang for Ku31?

Im now using Hankook V12... think it's time to change. Still like Kumho.. cheap and good.. :D

Kim Hoe at Ubi. Can google. They'd stock available when I called. 145 a corner for 225/50x17. Very easy on the wallet.

My first time using a Korean tyre. Must say pleasantly surprised by the KU31 (even came off good comments and recommendation fr Chrispie and Count D). Done 1.2k km already. Felt tyres are firm riding not harsh, could be they pumped them very high during installation. Cornering feel is sharp and good. And very confident during downpours. So far road noise not more than my previous PS3. So will have to wait and see as I get more mileage into them.

All in all, very happy with them.

Bro u did rotation every 5k? KU31 should be able to last quite well.. With our car's 'crazy' camber, it would wear out another tyres

No leh .. As per what chrispie say

Drift too much hahaha

I rotate abt 8k

Hi all,

I am preparing for my next servicing by buying some stuff from ebay for my 2007 Alfa159 saloon.

can the bros here pls help me confirm I am buying the correct parts...

and I can order for u guys as well to save on shipping

1) K&N air filter

http://www.ebay.com.sg/itm/E-9281-K-N-AIR-FILTER-ALFA-ROMEO-159-2-2-JTS-2005-2010-/380625532394?pt=UK_CarsParts_Vehicles_CarParts_SM&hash=item589f0cb5ea#shId

2) Cabin filter

http://www.ebay.com.sg/itm/Cabin-Pollen-Filter-Service-Alfa-Romeo-159-2-2-JTS-Saloon-2005-2011-/270950234156?pt=UK_CarsParts_Vehicles_CarParts_SM&hash=item3f15e4782c

3) Front brake pad

http://www.ebay.com.sg/itm/290728477406?ssPageName=STRK:MEWAX:IT&_trksid=p3984.m1438.l2649 (Braking system: Continental Teves)

http://www.ebay.com.sg/itm/FRONT-Ferodo-Brake-Disc-Pads-Alfa-Romeo-159-2-2-JTS-Saloon-2005-2011-/290728477397?pt=UK_CarsParts_Vehicles_CarParts_SM&hash=item43b0c482d5 (Braking system: Brembo)

Mine is not brembo brakes so I shd order the Continental Teves one right?

4) Sparks Plug

http://www.ngkpartfinder.co.uk/car_commercial_extra.php?id=4680

according to the above and manual, FR5CP (platinum) is the recommended.

and BKR5EIX (Iridium) is upgrade.

http://www.ebay.com.sg/itm/4x-NGK-Platinum-SPARK-PLUGS-ALFA-159-2-2-lt-JTS-Direct-Injection-06-No-6368-/160851779806?pt=UK_CarsParts_Vehicles_CarParts_SM&hash=item25738360de

http://www.ebay.com.sg/itm/4x-NGK-IRIDIUM-UPGRADE-Spark-Plugs-ALFA-159-2-2-JTS-Direct-Injection-06-6341-/360475873595?pt=UK_CarsParts_Vehicles_CarParts_SM&hash=item53ee09513b

but why is the upgrade BKR5EIX (Iridium) £31.95 cheaper than FR5CP (platinum) £43.39?

upgrade shd be better right? so shd be more expensive right? i am confused... so which is better actually? which to buy?

I buy the best tires that I can afford and so far all my cars are on Mich (PS2, PSS) and even my wife vios is on PS3. I know how the tires behave and when they will loss traction in both dry and in wet. Although I feel I have not fully utilies the full potential of the tires, I know that if call for, they will give me the grip I wanted. So with the confident, I can take corner at a much higher speed. That's where you will enjoy driving an Alfa Romeo and fell connected to the ground and not worrying if the rear is about to go or not .... [drivingcar]

Kim Hoe at Ubi. Can google. They'd stock available when I called. 145 a corner for 225/50x17. Very easy on the wallet.

This is super cheap! Am most definitely gonna give this a try one my current CSC2 wears out

and not too long ago I thought you were going to sell... now that its spruced up, bring her down :)

Around June I really want to get rid of her as I know I'm going to burn a hole in W&T.

The below is the list of stuffs I paid (subjected to June's Road Tax).

Fortunately I met into an accident in Sept.

Got my self-inflicted damage repair and also timing belt replaced FOC.

Since timing belt replacement will last me till the end, I got her up and running by dumping good money after bad money.

Alfa_FC1.pdf

Edited by Vhtfhwlego