Filipino sub-committee formed in PAP Residents

Shull

As reported on Asiaone forum.

http://forums.asiaone.com/showthread.php?t=65092

Shocking, Filipino sub-committee formed in PAP Residents’ Committee?

A reader sent in the following photo, which was found to be a notice posted on the notice board of Compassvale Villa RC some months ago:

923096_574211819290656_290948798_n.jpg

The notice was written in Tagalog clearly targeting at Filipino residents living in the area. When translated, it actually said:

Quote:
“We are looking for volunteers for our Filipino sub-committee.

If you want to help and participate in community work, please contact us.

Thank you very much.”

Apparently, there now exists a Filipino sub-committee inside a Residents’ Committee (RC), presumably to look after the interests of Filipino residents.

One wonders if there exists other sub-committees also like Myanmar sub-committee, PRC sub-committee, India sub-committee etc, to look after the interests of the other nationals living in the estate.

Indeed, a scan through the various forums showed that Singaporean netizens are questioning such a move. Many are asking how RCs are going to help integrate residents when they have their separate nationality-based sub-committees:

Quote:
hithere1: I’ve never seen Chinese sub committees, Malay sub committees, Indians and Eurasians. Why the need for such groups? For the pinoys to band together because they don’t fit well with the rest?

Vinn: I tot resident committee is to unite residents? Are RCs now endorsing them alienating local populace?

Meireles: RC is supposed to integrate. then these cb kia come n form their own subgroup to segregate themselves. and use RC FUNDS. SONG BOH?!?!?!

veryhungryboy: So on one hand govt spending millions of taxpayers money on integration, on the other they allow pinoy to further segregate.

Laneige: This is really a joke. Why are we catering to a pinoy commitee???????? To integrate is to use official language – English. NOT to have a sub committee. like this means say anything also can liao? this is why i don’t understand why the govt is letting such a big group of them in.

consecutor: wheres the tiong sub committee and msian sub committee?

gameacc: RC people are taking in citizen’s money to do this? Paste notice in Tagalog? What integration are PAP government talking about? Bunch of self-serving hypocrites.

cute_togepi: So instead of letting them integrate with Singaporeans they let them have their own exclusive sub committee? No wonder integration didn’t work, scholars didn’t use their brains at all.

Compassvale Villa RC is only 1 of the 9 RCs in the Punggol Central Constituency, which itself is part of the Pasir Ris-Punggol GRC.

Punggol Central Constituency:

1. Compassvale Gardens RC Blk 257B Compassvale Rd # 01 – 527 S( 542257 )
  2. Compassvale Green RC Blk 299C Compassvale St # 01 – 124 S( 543299 )
  3. Compassvale Haven RC Blk 250B Compassvale St # 01 – 75 S( 542250 )
  4. Compassvale Lodge RC Blk 291C Compassvale St # 01 – 258 S( 543291 )
  5. Compassvale Plains RC Blk 237 Compassvale Walk # 01 – 538/524 S( 540237 )
  6. Compassvale Southgate RC Blk 201B Compassvale Dr # 01 – 525 S( 542201 )
  7. Compassvale Villa RC Blk 206C Compassvale Lane # 01 – 99 S( 543206 )
  8. Compassvale Vista RC Blk 226A Compassvale Walk # 01 – 305 S( 541226 )
  9. Punggol Grove RC Blk 204A Punggol Field # 01 – 288 S( 821204 )

The MP helming Punggol Central Constituency is none other than Mr Teo Ser Luck, Minister of State for Trade and Industry, as well as Mayor of North East District.

A netizen, Bret Goh, posted the following on Mr Teo’s Facebook page:

Quote:
“Mr Teo, I am shocked to see the above image of Compassvale RC notice circulating on the internet. Can you care to explain what is happening here??

RCs are formed to cater to the needs of all estate residents regardless of race and nationalities, there should be no prejudice or special treatment of any particular groups. Why is it that Compassvale Villa RC is forming a Filipino sub committee which main purpose I presume from the language of the RC notice, is to cater to the needs of the Filipino community??? What is happening to our Country?? Is this the so call ‘integration’ that the Govt is talking about?? A Singapore RC notice written in a foreign language??

A RC sub committee that is formed to cater to the needs of a special group using funds from the residents. No wonder there is so much anger on the internet from people who has seen this image. Years ago, such notice appearing will be unimaginable, it will never happen. Now that the Govt encourage FT to join grassroots, let’s see whether this will unite or break up the social fabric of this Country.

I might interpret the RC notice wrongly, but can u blame me, a Singaporean who is NOT taught the language of the Philippines??”

To which Mr Teo replied on his Facebook page:

Quote:
“Wah this one quite sometime already. Tony was a step faster on my other FB page. Replied him this won’t happen.”

A netizen best summed up the general sentiments on the Internet:

Quote:
tonyparker: u’d better break the cycle in 2016 else pinky gonna replace locals with foreign trash and economic refugees.

At least TSL say "It won't happen"

Edited by Shull

I won't defend the forming of the subcommittee - but I would like to make some points

a) The notice should have been in English as well - as should ALL notices that the RC produces (English being the linga franca of Singapore)

b) Don't assume that the sub-committee is using RC funds - this may not be the case (not all sub-committees draw funds)

c) By the same token - don't assume that the sub-committee is to " is to cater to the needs of the Filipino community" It's entirely possible that the sub-committee is to help Filipinos to "integrate" and solve problems

It would be interesting to see the meeting minutes from the set-up of the committee - and also to see what sorts of activities they have been doing so far.

To have a sub-committee that caters to the interests of a particular racial / religious group I think is wrong.

• Dislike 1

RC should clarify what is the mission of this sub-committee, if it is purely for maid, then it should cover all nationality and not pinoy only.

If it cover all pinoy to help them 'integrate', then why not call for 'all foreigner', but whatever the reason is, i still dun like the idea.

I won't defend the forming of the subcommittee - but I would like to make some points

a) The notice should have been in English as well - as should ALL notices that the RC produces (English being the linga franca of Singapore)

b) Don't assume that the sub-committee is using RC funds - this may not be the case (not all sub-committees draw funds)

c) By the same token - don't assume that the sub-committee is to " is to cater to the needs of the Filipino community" It's entirely possible that the sub-committee is to help Filipinos to "integrate" and solve problems

It would be interesting to see the meeting minutes from the set-up of the committee - and also to see what sorts of activities they have been doing so far.

To have a sub-committee that caters to the interests of a particular racial / religious group I think is wrong.

With or without taking RC funds, i think it's not a good idea at all. We don't see Chinese, Malay and Indian forming their own subcom.

arroyo.gif

LOL this gif rocks!

no figure one... [:|]

RC should clarify what is the mission of this sub-committee, if it is purely for maid, then it should cover all nationality and not pinoy only.

If it cover all pinoy to help them 'integrate', then why not call for 'all foreigner', but whatever the reason is, i still dun like the idea.

I'm with you on this one - the appearances are really bad, and it should be open to all. But I would like to reserve judgement until I know exactly what it is, what its for, and how its being supported.

One thing to remember - every RC has a PA staff that sits into meetings, and meeting minutes are forwarded to the "advisor" (in this case TSL) - so there is one of two possibilities -

a) the purposes of the committee are actually relatively logical and innocuous (even if the appearance is bad)

b) The PA staff is incompetent and TSL didn't read the minutes.

Having seen how RCs operate - I've noticed that quite often the way things are discussed in meetings doesn't neccessarily translate well when it comes time to do the execution and create the publicity material.

The word to word direct translate to English is as follow:....Perhaps a clarification of the community work is good....may be they are doing something to old folks home or children home which benefit local community...so don't take it too negative yet that it is all for their community...

we could be looking filipino volunteers for our sub-committee.

If you would like to help and participate in
community work, you may please to contact us. thank you very much.

Edited by LoverofCar

I'm with you on this one - the appearances are really bad, and it should be open to all. But I would like to reserve judgement until I know exactly what it is, what its for, and how its being supported.

One thing to remember - every RC has a PA staff that sits into meetings, and meeting minutes are forwarded to the "advisor" (in this case TSL) - so there is one of two possibilities -

a) the purposes of the committee are actually relatively logical and innocuous (even if the appearance is bad)

b) The PA staff is incompetent and TSL didn't read the minutes.

Having seen how RCs operate - I've noticed that quite often the way things are discussed in meetings doesn't neccessarily translate well when it comes time to do the execution and create the publicity material.

i dun care if they set up an association for their own people independently, but RC must answer why they allow foreigner under their arm.

are you from Seng Kang too? i guess you guys better question them.

Edited by Jman888

The word to word direct translate to English is as follow:....Perhaps a clarification of the community work is good....may be they are doing something to old folks home or children home which benefit local community...so don't take it too negative yet that it is all for their community...

we could be looking filipino volunteers for our sub-committee.

If you would like to help and participate in community work, you may please to contact us. thank you very much.

If they setup their own nationality based group NOT under RC, then it's ok. It's part of their freedom to do so.

But to do so under RC is wrong, even though they may not take any RC funds.

If they insist to form under RC, then it should be open to everyone and not only pinoy.

This is sending the wrong message to Singaporeans. The MP in charge better come out to clarify what's the deal with this sub committee or risk a backlash.