S'poreans work the longest hours in the world

Vulcann

Some of us probably know we strive really hard and for long hours but to know that we beat Japan in this aspect and even earned the world's longest hours worked title is rather mind-boggling... [shocked] [shocked][shocked]

From asiaone:

20130710_office.jpg?itok=8X4tKT0G
Saturday, Oct 19, 2013

Singaporeans work the longest hours in the world, reported Nanyang Siang Pau on a study by Taiwan's China Times newspaper.

They worked an average of 2,402.4 hours a year, higher than Taiwan's 2,140.8 hours.

Workers in East Asian countries seemed to work longer hours than their Western counterparts, from between 2,090 and 2,402 hours in Taiwan, South Korea and Hong Kong.

Those in Japan worked 1,745.2 hours, while those in the United States, Canada and Britain worked between 1,654 and 1,790 hours.

(Source: http://news.asiaone.com/news/business/sporeans-work-longest-hours-world )

If you work in a typical MNC in Singapore, you'll notice something......

1. Singapore office is always the one to kio sai (pick up the sh1ts from other network), the ang moh counterparts will always taiji back the sh1tty work to Singapore office. Credits they will claim back.

2. Singapore office is always the one to back up SEA/APAC country offices (sometimes even Oceania) for either their incompetence, low efficiency or simply their short operating hours.

All expenses and incidental costs are absorbed as Singapore office cost centre.

Sometimes for very simple stuff, like yearly calendars for distribution to network, they print them at expensive costs at those ang moh countries (to help their economy), but they will send all stocks to Singapore for re-distribution (even back to the Europe region), all at Singapore office costs, time, labour......... This is just one small example.

Edited by Kangadrool

singapore FTW [thumbsup]

work 2400 hours ... but do anyone huat?

We ended up more broke to pay more for Car and COE, taxi fares, food prices seem to increase every few months.....

Working long hours is not our fault, it's to bury our sorrows in our work and try to forget about escalating daily expenses, our rice bowls challenged by FTrashes. Even if work means surfing MCF at 9 pm alone in the office. [laugh]

Edited by Kangadrool

my point is

spore economy grow > abundance of jobs > work hard & long hours > save money > all $$$ goes to property .... million dollar hdb and pigeon hole condo

80% hard workers money goes to 20% big boys controlling the market ... that's how the game is played

when worker working harder to make more money ... price goes up further .... you save extra $1, cost goes up extra $1.50

Alternative solutions need to be found, like telecommuting. In my new workplace, I work weekends, but I do so from home via a VPN remote login. I'm working even now, in between surfing MCF. I find the arrangement quite tolerable. If I had to go down to work (much further now) on weekends as well, I would be tearing my hair out in frustration.

On the weekdays, I also come home earlier in the evening (5-5:30pm, if no meetings) and continue working from home with a remote login. I find this arrangement makes a lot more sense than waiting in vain for the last tranche of work to come in from my staff. Luckily I control my own timings now because by changing jobs, I have moved into a more senior position where I am actually responsible for a whole section. Also, my HOD is very understanding and I can discuss all these things freely with her. Finding a good boss is more than half the battle.

My experience is that we Singaporeans are in the pantry, at their desk or in the office for a long time but aren't working and deffo aren't producing anything for a lot of that time.

2400 hours include those activities, surf mcf, chatting and joking with collick, kopi snack time, stay late to avoid traffic and wife, etc.... :D

I think the 2400 hours is before deducting leave, publicly holiday, childcare leave, medical leave, toilet break, etc.... so actual hours very little only.

Edited by Jman888

Cannot be lah, Singaporeans are whiners, not workers. So many complaints of the poor Singapore work ethics by our FT bosses. LOL...

Some of us probably know we strive really hard and for long hours but to know that we beat Japan in this aspect and even earned the world's longest hours worked title is rather mind-boggling... [shocked] [shocked][shocked]

From asiaone:

20130710_office.jpg?itok=8X4tKT0G

The Star/Asia News Network

Saturday, Oct 19, 2013

Singaporeans work the longest hours in the world, reported Nanyang Siang Pau on a study by Taiwan's China Times newspaper.

They worked an average of 2,402.4 hours a year, higher than Taiwan's 2,140.8 hours.

Workers in East Asian countries seemed to work longer hours than their Western counterparts, from between 2,090 and 2,402 hours in Taiwan, South Korea and Hong Kong.

Those in Japan worked 1,745.2 hours, while those in the United States, Canada and Britain worked between 1,654 and 1,790 hours.

(Source: http://news.asiaone.com/news/business/sporeans-work-longest-hours-world )

To protect these precious 2400 hours workers, we need more defenders

Come and ask the girls to serve ns!!!

Ns is a privilege!

http://www.straitstimes.com/breaking-news/singapore/story/getting-women-do-ns-european-style-20131019

As defence policymakers here consider roping in more female volunteers, Singapore is looking at its European counterparts to learn how they get women to do their part for defence.

Defence Minister Ng Eng Hen is leading a delegation on a visit to Finland and Switzerland to study their conscription system.

On the team are senior Defence Ministry officials and members of the high-level Committee to Strengthen National Service (CSNS), including Minister of State for Defence Mohamad Maliki Osman and MP for Nee Soon GRC Lim Wee Kiak.

On his visit to Finland which began on Wednesday, Dr Ng called on his counterpart, Mr Carl Haglund and other top-level defence officials, including the Commander of the Finnish Defence Forces General Ari Puheloinen.

Alternative solutions need to be found, like telecommuting. In my new workplace, I work weekends, but I do so from home via a VPN remote login. I'm working even now, in between surfing MCF. I find the arrangement quite tolerable. If I had to go down to work (much further now) on weekends as well, I would be tearing my hair out in frustration.

On the weekdays, I also come home earlier in the evening (5-5:30pm, if no meetings) and continue working from home with a remote login. I find this arrangement makes a lot more sense than waiting in vain for the last tranche of work to come in from my staff. Luckily I control my own timings now because by changing jobs, I have moved into a more senior position where I am actually responsible for a whole section. Also, my HOD is very understanding and I can discuss all these things freely with her. Finding a good boss is more than half the battle.

You are exactly the kind of talent we need. Paraphrasing the simple concept of "I am a slacker" into a multi-paragraphed statement. Bonus points for including vaguely important sounding jargons and of course, acronyms. Acronyms are critical in every piece of article that highlights the intellectual level of the author. BTW, do you happen to do your OCBC at UOB on POSB?

Dissecting Turbo's message

Alternative solutions need to be found, like telecommuting. - Looking for easier way out, using 'alternative' makes people think that you are really thinking. Basically says "heck! I do it my way, dun care"

In my new workplace, I work weekends, but I do so from home via a VPN remote login. - Work from home? When I tuang school, nobody ever accuse me of studying from home. Good effort for VPN, whatever that means.

I'm working even now, in between surfing MCF. - 10/90 also considered working

I find the arrangement quite tolerable. - slackers always make their job sounds more difficult than it is. What is so "quite tolerable" surfing net at home? C'mon dude, try harder.

If I had to go down to work (much further now) on weekends as well, I would be tearing my hair out in frustration. - "I dun care, I dun wan, PLEASE"

On the weekdays, I also come home earlier in the evening (5-5:30pm, if no meetings) and continue working from home with a remote login. - Yah and that is barely tolerable.

I find this arrangement makes a lot more sense than waiting in vain for the last tranche of work to come in from my staff. - It is not me, it is them. Sounds familiar?

Luckily I control my own timings now because by changing jobs, I have moved into a more senior position where I am actually responsible for a whole section. - Now you get people doing your stuffs for you. Well done.

Also, my HOD is very understanding and I can discuss all these things freely with her. Finding a good boss is more than half the battle. - The only truth so far

And to top it all, gets to drive a Porsche with all the perks. You are surely a shining beacon of hope for our fellow countryman.

You are exactly the kind of talent we need. Paraphrasing the simple concept of "I am a slacker" into a multi-paragraphed statement. Bonus points for including vaguely important sounding jargons and of course, acronyms. Acronyms are critical in every piece of article that highlights the intellectual level of the author. BTW, do you happen to do your OCBC at UOB on POSB?

Great sense of humour...lol.

Give you 5 pts for that.

Dissecting Turbo's message

And to top it all, gets to drive a Porsche with all the perks. You are surely a shining beacon of hope for our fellow countryman.

I've given up the Porsche and am driving a Bavarian now. Keep up with the times, Bavarian!

And I actually work every day, Sat/Sun/PH included, evenings included. Let's see how you like it if you have to go down to work every single day of your life.

Of course, one has to actually be doing a job that benefits humanity to get that. So sorry if you don't get it. I actually save lives in my job, even when I'm working from home. A delay in a critical result can easily mean death. I'm sure you can't relate, being a bear in MCF and all. And I bet, even as a human, IRL, you don't do anything like that.

So go back to being a bear that does nothing more offensive than stealing honey from picnickers. Oh wait, I see Ranger Smith closing on you, Yogi.

I've given up the Porsche and am driving a Bavarian now. Keep up with the times, Bavarian!

And I actually work every day, Sat/Sun/PH included, evenings included. Let's see how you like it if you have to go down to work every single day of your life.

Of course, one has to actually be doing a job that benefits humanity to get that. So sorry if you don't get it. I actually save lives in my job, even when I'm working from home. A delay in a critical result can easily mean death. I'm sure you can't relate, being a bear in MCF and all. And I bet, even as a human, IRL, you don't do anything like that.

So go back to being a bear that does nothing more offensive than stealing honey from picnickers. Oh wait, I see Ranger Smith closing on you, Yogi.

I make life and death decisions too. Like do I eat that hiker or that cyclist. Not that bears have it easy.

And I have gone Bohemian now, FYI. 😊

I make life and death decisions too. Like do I eat that hiker or that cyclist. Not that bears have it easy.

And I have gone Bohemian now, FYI. 😊

Stick to eating honey and crapping in the woods. You're more loveable that way.