Free Choice for NS Vocation?

StefanK

http://www.channelnewsasia.com/news/singapore/nsmen-may-get-to-choose/857398.html

SINGAPORE: The Committee to Strengthen National Service (CSNS) is looking into giving national servicemen a chance to pick their vocation.

Defence Minister Ng Eng Hen said this on Tuesday, days after his visit to Finland and Switzerland.

He had led a delegate comprising CSNS members last week to the two countries to study their conscription systems.

Dr Ng said both countries are similar to Singapore in terms of population size and the number of men who enlist into NS each year.

The two countries also give servicemen a choice in their vocations to optimise their contributions, and this is something that could be explored in Singapore.

This could mean allowing servicemen some freedom to choose specific units, based on their skills and interests. This would be an expansion of the current three broad choices they are given after their Basic Military Training.

Dr Ng also noted the strong support for national service from employers in Finland and Switzerland, even without incentives.

He said that's because they see the value in the qualities and skills servicemen pick up from their stints.

So apart from better engaging employers in Singapore, there is also the option of certifying skills and values such as leadership. Dr Ng said this could be in the form of a collaboration with the Workforce Development Agency.

Dr Ng also said that women have a role to play in the Singapore Armed Forces, even though the country will not move towards full-time NS for women.

And, he said the current volunteer scheme could be expanded.
The scheme currently allows women, new citizens and first-generation permanent residents to contribute.

But they do not undergo Basic Military Training, and contribute in more skills-related roles such as nurses and radiographers.

NSmen who have completed their reservist cycles can also opt to continue as a volunteer.

Another area that is being looked into is that of facilitating smoother transition between studies before and after National Service. This comes as servicemen enlist at different points based on the different education paths they take and having to wait to enrol in universities after completing their National Service.

The CSNS recommendations are in line with the results of a survey on national service conducted by the Institute of Policy Studies recently.

- CNA/ir

By the way, Switzerland citizens who have served in the army get to keep their rifles. Singaporean NSmen also can?

I think got a lot of people going to chiong for Storemen liao!

Edited by StefanK

Ha! Call me sceptical but do expect something like this along the way....

"You may apply for the vocation you like....BUT subjected to approval."

LPPL...

With all these cook, clerk, storeman already aoutsourced, wait long long arh.

The most they give you 3 choices (i) riffleman (ii) mortar man (iii) combat engineer.

Prease lah. Cook, clerk, driver being popular was in the past.

Now the trend is "SAF Special Forces Counter Terrorist Plain Clothes Commandos".

You may request a interview with the CO, private Jason Tay, at a library in the North part of Sgp.

Ha! Call me sceptical but do expect something like this along the way....

"You may apply for the vocation you like....BUT subjected to approval."

LPPL...

The problem is that, what if certain vocation is over subscribe and certain vocation under subscribe. How?? So I guess, they may come out with ranking system, i.e indicate 1st, 2nd , 3rd to X number of choice. If really so sway, the person choose all the vocation which is over subscribe, than really sway to the max, and LPPL.

Edited by Yewheng

http://www.channelnewsasia.com/news/singapore/nsmen-may-get-to-choose/857398.html

By the way, Switzerland citizens who have served in the army get to keep their rifles. Singaporean NSmen also can?

I think got a lot of people going to chiong for Storemen liao!

wow envy!! I always wanna be a commando but not qualify cause was PR then althought I was born in Singapore but parents both PR then, thus can only be citizen after NS. in short security clearence...

In the end, PES A BMT IPPT Gold become a combat medic posted to medical centre.......... but lucky once in awhile assign to overseas assignment [thumbsup] Australia and Taiwan [wave]

Edited by D3badge

Can choose to be mess attendant?

Do stock take of the duty free beer,

Do random quality check to ensure the beer are fresh and fit for consumption

Do random check on the chilled beer temperature in the fridge to ensure it's refreshing for other men.

Play snooker to ensure the cushion, cues, balls, rest are up to tournament standard

Play darts to ensure they fly without deviation to the the dart board.

Play arcade games to ensure they are functioning well.

Its a tough vocation, but for the welfare of fellow soldiers, for the security of our country.

I would volunteer to do that for my reservist. [thumbsup]

The problem is that, what if certain vocation is over subscribe and certain vocation under subscribe. How?? So I guess, they may come out with ranking system, i.e indicate 1st, 2nd , 3rd to X number of choice. If really so sway, the person choose all the vocation which is over subscribe, than really sway to the max, and LPPL.

I think it still has some way to go. Factoring the thing they say about the volunteer service for PRs and new citizens, it's possible that NS eligible Singaporeans do get to choose their vocation but it's not going to happen overnight.

At some point local eligible young man numbers will fall due to many years of low birth rate. They will have to find ppl to make up the numbers in order to have a strong enough force to defend the tiny island.

I do expect to see more PRs & new citizens becoming as policemen, firemen & soldiers in future. The numbers dun lie. We just dun have enough sgporeans to fill these positions. IMO a lot of things can be made to look like ppl are given choices when they dun have much to choose from.

Reading what the Defence Ministry is pondering whether to allow servicemen choose their preferred vocations sure bring back memories...

Near the end of SAFINCOS during the late eighties we infantry blokes were all given the "choice" to select in terms of preference where we wana go next machiam after PSLE: intelligence NCOs, medics, Guards, Infantry & PTIs.

Come posting day my entire platoon ended up in the last 3 vocations. And as far as we knew other 2 platoons sama sama and only 2-3 got posted out as medics [laugh][laugh] [laugh]

If given a choice, I would like to experience the life of a combat sniper.

Sure bro?

We were bunked next to them in SIW and seriously their training no joke.

Can't reveal much here but suffice to say it was really tough with the attrition rate high.

And their uniform really machiam lake monster would scare unsuspecting civilians to death... [shocked][shocked][shocked]