Singapore Zombies Festival

Picnic06-Biante15

Anyone attended the zombie fest at The Cathay ?

A lot of chio bu ... [sly]

Yahoo news: Zombies walk among Singaporeans in the heart of town

The second-ever Singapore Zombie Walk took place at The Cathay on Saturday evening. Over 250 "undead" turned up for the horror show, organised by the Geek Crusade website. This was nearly double the attendance last year at Clarke Quay.

Link: http://sg.entertainment.yahoo.com/photos/zombies-walk-among-singaporeans-in-the-heart-of-town-slideshow/#crsl=%252Fphotos%252Fzombies-walk-among-singaporeans-in-the-heart-of-town-slideshow%252Fzombies-walk-among-singaporeans-in-the-heart-of-town-photo-1382884462319.html

post-21853-0-68954300-1382934950.jpg

post-21853-0-28359900-1382934967_thumb.jpg

post-21853-0-92344400-1382934978_thumb.jpg

Edited by Picnic06

poke a zombie is interesting. [sunny]

If you don't mind the stench of rotting flesh... Moreover, you'll need lots of lube...

compared to radx, these zombies considered sibei hemsome liao...... [:p]

before or after makeup? :huh:

your post like that also got people praise!! the person must hate radx a lot [sweatdrop][laugh]

Not to go OT, but while I enjoy all the horror stuff (I am a horror buff, after all), I can't help but feel marginalised as it seems that people seem to be fixated on Halloween now while Deepavali is being sidelined.

A few years back, noone even bothered to mention Halloween in Sg. Deepavali used to get mentioned even in the English media. But now, it seems that Halloween has basically displaced an important festival celebrated by one of our major ethnic groups, for which an actual public holiday has been gazetted. I don't think this is right. Only the Americans really celebrate Halloween (it's not even a big deal in Europe). Why are we aping their culture?

Not to go OT, but while I enjoy all the horror stuff (I am a horror buff, after all), I can't help but feel marginalised as it seems that people seem to be fixated on Halloween now while Deepavali is being sidelined.

A few years back, noone even bothered to mention Halloween in Sg. Deepavali used to get mentioned even in the English media. But now, it seems that Halloween has basically displaced an important festival celebrated by one of our major ethnic groups, for which an actual public holiday has been gazetted. I don't think this is right. Only the Americans really celebrate Halloween (it's not even a big deal in Europe). Why are we aping their culture?

Western culture, X'mas more important than winter solstice festival, some time valentine is just around CNY...

Just another chance for Tourists / Locals to have fun & most importantly make money!!! Too commercialized already!!!

Yep, you are right. Only in recent years I seen Halloween being celebrated here. I wonder why? Frankly I don't know what's the hooha about Halloween here?

And yes, only in America it's really happening. Check out these pics I took in Hawaii last year.

post-1829-0-51079700-1382952971_thumb.jpg

post-1829-0-40305600-1382953150_thumb.jpg

post-1829-0-30297200-1382953158_thumb.jpg

Edited by Fcw75

Like ppl always say, "it's business, it's not personal".

From F&B, retail, merchandise, candies & parties, Halloween is all about money making opportunity for a lot of businesses. Just like Valentine's day and even Christmas day. Show love must wait until Valentine's day meh? Is Christmas about giving & receiving presents? Holidays are so commercialised dun be surprised one day Deepavali become like one of these business opportunity holidays. It's just a matter of time.

I concur with you.

To add on, just like Valentine's Day, Christmas etc , these are just money-spinning festivals to me. The significance of such festivals are probably lost or unknown to most especially non-Americans.

I asked my DD about Halloween, the first thing that came to her mind is sweets given out.

Luckily, she is still familiar about our ethnic group major festivals.