Fuel indicator faulty - show almost zero

Simonsoh

early early morning had a scare... fuel needle rapidly going down and i thought tank leak. reach petrol kiosk and top up full until see petrol floating in tank, on engine still show almost zero....

bad start to morning.... any bros experience this before? is repair very urgent as can barely afford any downtime this week.... wat could be the cause and damage? driving a 4yr old forte....

thanks!

see if it resume after a while or this afternoon, if not then you may have to send it to the service centre.

Meanwhile just monitor and refuel every 350km to be safe [sweatdrop]

Dont know whether it is possible but you can try:-

Drive until almost empty (by the average mileage you clocked & you will know right) and top up again.

If that the tank sensor is struck, it may lift itself back up and all will be normal again.

Even you try to repair now with a full tank, which WS wanna accept the risk of transfering 50litres of gas around?

at jurong eat, it was left one bar, which i already found v strange. then upon reaching BB shell, it reached almost empty n never lifted again...

No biggie. Repairs are not urgent unless you are the kind of driver that needs to compulsively check your fuel gauge.

Going by the below, you can go 738km on a full tank.

But I'll keep to 500km to be safe.

Specifications
spacer.gifKia Cerato Forte 1.6 EX (A) spacer.gif Engine Engine capacity 1,591 cc Engine type 4-cylinders in-line Compression ratio 10.5 Bore x Stroke (77.0 x 85.4) mm Performance Power 128 bhp Torque 156 Nm Acceleration 12s (0-100 km/h) Top speed 182 km/h Fuel consumption 14.2 km/L CO2 emission unknown Misc technical data Transmission 4-speed (A) Drive type FWD Measurements Vehicle type Sedan Dimensions (L x W x H) (4530 x 1775 x 1460) mm Wheelbase 2,650 mm Min turning radius unknown Kerb weight 1,326 kg Fuel tank capacity 52 L Brakes Brakes (Front) Ventilated disc Brakes (Rear) Disc Suspension Suspension (Front) MacPherson struts Suspension (Rear) Coupled torsion beam axle
Specifications may vary from actual vehicle.

Edited by Carmour

just use mileage to gauge how far you need to travel to make the tank 1/4 full then bring it for repairs. going to repair with a full or sometimes half tank can result in lots of fuel spillage and your car interior will reek of petrol for some days.

You just can't go malaysia that all. You could use mileage to gauge when to refill

If it is me I will repair, ur ride only 4 yr old and do away the guessing game.

ok. workshop confirmed "float faulty". He tested by bypassng the float and the needle showed full tank. float not sold seperately and comes in a set (part of a bigger component) and damage is $300+... wow... so never repair leh.. source for better quote... meanwhile will pump every 400km... after driving off, needle goes down to half and now stuck there all the way... instead of stuck at empty.

long term wise any problem? cuz the fuel info connected to other info rite? eg, consumption rate etc... my noob understanding is nowadays cars all run on computer chips.. juz scared will screw up some electronic stuffs...

Edited by Simonsoh

ok. workshop confirmed "float faulty". He tested by bypassng the float and the needle showed full tank. float not sold seperately and comes in a set (part of a bigger component) and damage is $300+... wow... so never repair leh.. source for better quote... meanwhile will pump every 400km... after driving off, needle goes down to half and now stuck there all the way... instead of stuck at empty.

long term wise any problem? cuz the fuel info connected to other info rite? eg, consumption rate etc... my noob understanding is nowadays cars all run on computer chips.. juz scared will screw up some electronic stuffs...

Unless you don't travel across the border up north should be ok.

Else you better be prepared to explain to the fellas should they suay suay spot check your fuel gauge... [sweatdrop]

could be sensor problem and some time they siao siao one, give it a few day see if it 'recover' :D

ya.. i wait and see... asking around for better quotes also.. anyway got petrol kiosk near home and workplace. just discipline to pump every 400km.

but the mechanic very confident. he bypass and needle go full tank. connect back it dip to zero again... repeat a few times and he say 100% "float" spoil...

listen to your good word lah... hope can recover by itself, really cant bear to part with $300+ for fuel needle...

Edited by Simonsoh

Thought 5-year warranty only applies on 2010 batch onwards. CMIIW...

ya lah... i sway batch man... before i buy, give so many goodies... during i buy time, reduce goodies.... after i buy, KIA-wide 5 yr unlimited-mileage warranty.... zzzzzzzZZZZZ......

Edited by Simonsoh

ya lah... i sway batch man... before i buy, give so many goodies... during i buy time, reduce goodies.... after i buy, KIA-wide 5 yr unlimited-mileage warranty.... zzzzzzzZZZZZ......

This means that you bought the car at a good time. Probably low COE.

ya.. i wait and see... asking around for better quotes also.. anyway got petrol kiosk near home and workplace. just discipline to pump every 400km.

but the mechanic very confident. he bypass and needle go full tank. connect back it dip to zero again... repeat a few times and he say 100% "float" spoil...

listen to your good word lah... hope can recover by itself, really cant bear to part with $300+ for fuel needle...

give the fuel tank a kick if necessary [laugh][laugh]

Mine had a similar problem to yours. But mine was always stuck at full tank. Didn't repair it and drove the car for the next 4+ years. No problem. Only got one benefit that everytime I drive to JB its always full tank and whenever they search for any tampering they cannot find it cuz the problem was with the float.