anyone with Angiogram/ Balloon experience to share?

Simonsoh

5 years ago, just before I left regular service in the army, I did a ORD check-up and discovered I had abnormal ECG. A "cycling test" revealed that one of my artery may be blocked. Doc advised me to go for a angiogram and also balloon at the same time if the procedure confirmed that indeed the artery is blocked. I missed the appointment and have never been back. No problems like chest pain etc...

Now I have 2 kids and feel more responsible and that episode has never been out of my mind, especially when people around me talks about going for "balloon" or hearing about friends of friends having a stroke...

Now its time to step out of denial and face it... have a appt at SGH Heart Centre early next year.

Can't find much local info on this. Any bros have such experience to share?

Also, what is est damage? Have very basic medisave/ shield with no rider. Also only insurance is SAF AVIVA Group term Life plus some 30 major illness top-up. Assuming it won't be $8 for me, financially wise am I in shit here if a balloon/ bypass is indeed necessary?

if you just do an angiogram to determine if you need a ballooning, the cost as follow

http://www.moh.gov.sg/content/moh_web/home/costs_and_financing/HospitalBillSize/heart_angiographycoronaryangiographysameday.html

or if the angiogram lead to an immediate ballooning, the cost will be....

http://www.moh.gov.sg/content/moh_web/home/costs_and_financing/HospitalBillSize/heart_angioplastycoronaryangioplasty.html

thanks. that was the only thing I managed to googled. but basically, it talked about what 50% or 90% of patienes paid... I assume that is actual raw bill size. I more interested about what is deductable though medisave/ shield... I tried calling cpf board. not helpful.. only say go already hospital will submit form for you then u will know... erm... of course I know that lah... I just want to be prepared beforehand.. either low thousands or high thousands...

Edited by Simonsoh

thanks. that was the only thing I managed to googled. but basically, it talked about what 50% or 90% of patienes paid... I assume that is actual raw bill size. I more interested about what is deductable though medisave/ shield... I tried calling cpf board. not helpful.. only say go already hospital will submit form for you then u will know... erm... of course I know that lah... I just want to be prepared beforehand.. either low thousands or high thousands...

use the 50% as a guide, if you stay in B2 ward and perform the ballooning, your bill come out roughly about $6.5K which is before your medical insurance claim. Hence you may end up paying $8 :D:D

Edited by Jman888

now reading your post agian, you may have, and not confirmed. hopefully is a false positive. could be bridging of vessels on effort. what stage did u complete before u got breathless? stage 3/4?

well, considering that you have had a blockage and did not go. i suspect it was the RCA or the circumflex, although supply the back of the heart, diff areas. Did the dr say whi vessel? if it was the diagonal, a small one, then collaterals may form

having said that, if you haa 100% block of that vessel, some level of angiogenesis may have taken place. But, best to see if your OTHER vessels may have blockages that need a blowjob. stent technow is advanced and the stents are drug-eluting and can last a long time

worst case, u need a bypass, well, let the dr decide. if vessel block is 70%, chances they will blow it, if 90%, and involves 2 or more, then they will do a bypass.

disclaimer: i worked in the catheterisation lab, and the above is based on the thousands of patients i see coming thru the table in my career

now reading your post agian, you may have, and not confirmed. hopefully is a false positive. could be bridging of vessels on effort. what stage did u complete before u got breathless? stage 3/4?

best to consult w your dr.

good luck

thanks boss. all started from "abnormal ECG" which could not be pinpointed why it was "abnormal. so sent me cycling test. the image came out after cycling showed one vessel like blurrish... so doc see, say do a angio to confirm and balloon on the spot if confirmed.

I left it at that cuz after hearing how the procudure is done, insert a tube from kuku bird place all the way to heart... i a bit ger-lat... haha...

now with 2 kids, better to play safe... kuku bird kuku bird loh... for kids and peace of mind, everything also ok lah...

now just want to find out cash component... if high Ks, this december better go holiday in Thai or Msia... if low K, can plan further lah...

use the 50% as a guide, if you stay in B2 ward and perform the ballooning, your bill come out roughly about $6.5K which is before your medical insurance claim. Hence you may end up paying $8 :D:D

$8 no chance lah... $800 i happy liao... the cheapo aviva group cover where got cover such things? keep postponing buying insurance until too late... dun even have rider... stupidly went for pre-ORD check without buying some cover first.. after that found out the pre-ORD results documented one.. with abnormal ECG, ghost also dun want to insure me... lesson learnt now whole family adequetely covered except me....