Cannot go Sushi Tei for birthdays meh?

BabyBlade

Came across this confession on Facebook.

https://www.facebook.com/nusconfessions/posts/540863029323332

I have been together with my boyfriend for slightly under a year. Everything about him fits my criteria for a partner- tall and well-built, intelligent, caring and probably one of the sweetest guys around. Yet, there is one trait of him that has been perturbing me for the longest time. It is that of his frugality. Now, don't get me wrong. I am not one of those gold-digger girls who is looking for a rich husband. Case in point, if I were, my boyfriend would have been struck off the list long ago.

I understand that love cannot be measured by money, but yet it seems that if money is perpetually a concern to my boyfriend when he spends on me, it just seems to me that I am perhaps of less value than a few wads of cash. Moreover, I am far from unreasonable in making him spend more than he can manage.

My recent birthday celebration just made me really sad. He brought me to Sushi Tei and a gave me a sweet handmade card. Perhaps to some of you this may still be acceptable I'm not sure, but to me this was a complete disappointment. For a birthday celebration, Sushi Tei seriously? This would be the kind of restaurant I would casually meet up with friends at, and not some place I would patronise for a special occasion. A card and no present? Yes, a card is sweet, but another way of looking at it is: cheap.

I get very envious when I see my friend's boyfriends bringing them to classy romantic dining establishments and gifting them with expensive presents on their birthdays. And this is when their boyfriends are still studying and just living on the pay from their part-time jobs. If they can afford to do so, why not my boyfriend? To make things clear, I myself am very generous to my boyfriend in gifting him with presents. I am not trying in any way to cheat his money.

I know my boyfriend loves me but I sometimes can't help but think if his thrifty habits (read: stingy habits) is something I can live with for life. At the same time, this is a relationship I won't bear to give up. Perhaps in life, it is inevitable that you win some and lose some.

Girl laments about how she wishes to be pampered on special occasions but got bashed by everyone for being a gold digger. Hmmm.. Where do you bring your girlfriend/wife for dates, birthdays?

Fine line between thriftiness and stinginess.

I have no qualms about going Sushi Tei for birthdays.

Edited by BabyBlade

another confession 'story'? [sleeping] [sleeping]

is this a place that people practice their story writing skill? I think she is the same writer for the intern story :D

Edited by Jman888

Only slightly over a year together. Maybe second year bring her to Marina Bay Sand liao. Walau, that girl impatient and idealistic lah.

Once in while (read: a few years)... posh restaurant for me and wifey. But seriously as we grow older, our priorities changes. Married liao, need to pay for bills, etc.

Who knows, maybe when the BF (or future husband) gets a good job and good pay in future, she will be the envy of her 'bunch'.
Just a year only and cannot tahan this and that and wants to be pampered like a princess? I understand honeymoon period but also need $ and whose $ will it be from (hint: parents? piggy bank?)

Seems like the little girl is listening to the little devil within her and the little angel is losing.

Edited by Subutai

Only slightly over a year together. Maybe second year bring her to Marina Bay Sand liao. Walau, that girl impatient and idealistic lah.

Slightly under a year. Not over a year haha.

another confession 'story'? [sleeping] [sleeping]

is this a place that people practice their story writing skill? I think she is the same writer for the intern story :D

shld post ur avatar at such 'confession' FB pages. :D

Once in while (read: a few years)... posh restaurant for me and wifey. But seriously as we grow older, our priorities changes. Married liao, need to pay for bills, etc.

Who knows, maybe when the BF (or future husband) gets a good job and good pay in future, she will be the envy of her 'bunch'.

Just a year only and cannot tahan this and that and wants to be pampered like a princess? I understand honeymoon period but also need $ and whose $ will it be from (hint: parents? piggy bank?)

Seems like the little girl is listening to the little devil within her and the little angel is losing.

i buy a cake and get kids to sing happy birthday song for wife brithday and i take picture for her birthday [grin]

i is poor, never ever even step into sushi tei before

too atas for me [bigcry]

I usually go dating at Simpang Bedok these days. Nice laidback chill out place, opens till late and free parking. Best is can see all the nice chio bikes there, bike talks all night cos he is a rider as well, and before going home, can pump petrol haha.

Occasionally go to cafes/restaurants for dinner. Very very occasionally.

It's not about how posh and atas the place is. When you truly enjoy the company of that special someone, just simply being beside him, even slacking at the voiddeck, having a heart to heart talk is good enough for me. I used to envy other girls in my first relationship, but once you've found the right one, nothing else matters. You start to appreciate people for who they are, for what they are.

Less is more. It really is.

I don't really blame the girl though. She just wants to be pampered.

Hmmm, should start writing short "stories" that pander to common stereotypes and push everyone's buttons.

Every week submit one to Stompiak and earn 50 dollars. One month 200 dollars liao. Then can bring charboh go sushi tei [grin]

I like this sentence. But deep down inside, the little angel still exist somewhere inside her. She just needs a little helping hand. ^_^

Hmmm, should start writing short "stories" that pander to common stereotypes and push everyone's buttons.

Every week submit one to Stompiak and earn 50 dollars. One month 200 dollars liao. Then can bring charboh go sushi tei [grin]

80-1-1 better? still got change. [sly]

Sushi Tei used to be good. Went to the one at Vivo and Paragon but nowadays doesn't taste as good as before so have stopped going

skali she is the one stingy......bf never gets to touch anything or taste anything.......he knows no matter what he wont get.....so why spend soo much.....if girl say must keep for wedding night so money oso must keep for wedding night!

I like how you think [sly][laugh] [laugh]