BMW 5

HHS

hi Guys, looking to get one used BMW 5 series, looking at the E60 aft 07 updated models, some friend telling me get min 523 above as 520 is under power, first time into BM cars, any suggestion from experts here in areas to look into when hunting for 2nd hands, which parts are prone to problems and check? see quite a lot of 523 on sell in sgcarmart, price diff quite a lot btw diff dealers

• Dislike 1

You shd ask this question in bmwsg forum. Tons of info on E60.

Very nice car to drive but need a lot of tlc. To list a few,

1- eat EO. Top up 1l every month. No leakage. Oil just kana eaten up.

2- some spare parts not really ex but labour charge sibei power. Eg, radiator onli 260. Labour easily 150.

3- some spare parts killer price. Replacement wing mirror is 600. Used is 500

4- gear box neeeeeeeed tlc. Atf change 1 time, 700. If GB kaput, pray to tigong.

5- servicing neec 6.5l EO. Old car use 5-40. If 0-40, top up 1l ever 2 wks.

6- brake rotor need change by the schedule. Think every 2 yrs if normal mileage. Quite ex.

7- sometime, car will jurk forward after stopping at traffic light. No 100% cure. Maybe try GB resetting.

8- FC for 523 is abt 7km/l. 50% city driving. If 70% city and backside ichy change to 20 inch rim, again, pray to tigong.

9- whole car is computerised. Sometime, seow seow, your dashboard become Xmas tree

10- not all outside workshop familiar with bm. Better bring to those reccommended ones.

HOWEVER, there are also rewards for driving this car,

1- Rear wheel drive

2- power on delivery

3- non turbo engine

4- inline 6 engine note sibei wet

5- not scientifically proven. Some hotels allow you to "wait" longer as compared to normal jap cars. :)

6- not howlianing. Traffic light next to a ah beng stickerd car with loud loud EO, you can let him smell your smoke if you want. Ps, dun try on real ah beng performance cars hor. You smell smoke.

Conclusion, if you can give her tlc n sayang her when things need changing, you will be rewarded with a smile everytime you starts her up in the morning.

Price diff depends on:

- no. of owners

- mileage.. (Which is adjustable by unscrupulous dealers)

- ? Accident

- reputation of the company - this I'd rather trust, though it cost a little bit more. Heard so many

horror stories of buyers been tricked/misled by small time dealers, especially when it comes

to rectification/repairs during warranty period.

Price diff depends on:

- no. of owners

- ? Accident

- reputation of the company - this I'd rather trust, though it cost a little bit more. Heard so many

horror stories of buyers been tricked/misled by small time dealers, especially when it comes

Tks tiger 1 for the details, will chk into the bmw forum.

how much your guys think can chop down from the listed price in sgcarmart? I am trading in my ext ride also

hi Guys, looking to get one used BMW 5 series, looking at the E60 aft 07 updated models, some friend telling me get min 523 above as 520 is under power, first time into BM cars, any suggestion from experts here in areas to look into when hunting for 2nd hands, which parts are prone to problems and check? see quite a lot of 523 on sell in sgcarmart, price diff quite a lot btw diff dealers

Hi HHS,

Best to buy BMW car brand new with 3 years warranty. Pay a bit more and you can extend another 2 years warranty. Give you a piece of mind.

But if you insist on getting 2nd hand, try get from Performance motors itself. There was a promotion for used BMW cars previously. They provide extended warranty. (Not sure how long) But at least you feel safer with them.

No matter brand new or used, BMW is still a thrilling car to drive. Hope you get whatever you are looking for.

Enjoy your ride soon.... [drivingcar]

I bought E60 523i 2007 last year, indeed some wear and tear is exist for 5year old car.

1. Steering pump kaput

2. FC cooling pump kaput

3. Absorber kaput

All claim from dealer.

Engine oil eating issue is not exist on my car or maybe i change oil every 5k km not so obvious which i never top up.

If you head into driving pleasure, BMW is what you want, if you ask for reliable C class, E class will be better.

FC indeed bad, for me 90% urban 5km/L, highway 8-10km/L.

The power for 523 is enough on daily drive and highway cruise, i try rev from 100kmh till 220kmh , not really hard. Inline 6 with aftermarket exhaust make my face hanging with smile.

You shd ask this question in bmwsg forum. Tons of info on E60.

Very nice car to drive but need a lot of tlc. To list a few,

1- eat EO. Top up 1l every month. No leakage. Oil just kana eaten up.

Yes, but not every month leh, depends on mileage, should be around 3-4k mileage each 1L top up.

2- some spare parts not really ex but labour charge sibei power. Eg, radiator onli 260. Labour easily 150.

If you go back to PML, confirm expensive

3- some spare parts killer price. Replacement wing mirror is 600. Used is 500

Can source from BMW stockist

4- gear box neeeeeeeed tlc. Atf change 1 time, 700. If GB kaput, pray to tigong.

Not so expensive lah, key word, dun go PML.

5- servicing neec 6.5l EO. Old car use 5-40. If 0-40, top up 1l ever 2 wks.

6- brake rotor need change by the schedule. Think every 2 yrs if normal mileage. Quite ex.

Disc Rotor only $1xx expensive meh?

7- sometime, car will jurk forward after stopping at traffic light. No 100% cure. Maybe try GB resetting.

8- FC for 523 is abt 7km/l. 50% city driving. If 70% city and backside ichy change to 20 inch rim, again, pray to tigong.

This i agree, but its comes with the joy

9- whole car is computerised. Sometime, seow seow, your dashboard become Xmas tree

10- not all outside workshop familiar with bm. Better bring to those reccommended ones.

Agree, alot of WS specialised in BMW.

HOWEVER, there are also rewards for driving this car,

1- Rear wheel drive

2- power on delivery

3- non turbo engine

4- inline 6 engine note sibei wet

5- not scientifically proven. Some hotels allow you to "wait" longer as compared to normal jap cars. :)

6- not howlianing. Traffic light next to a ah beng stickerd car with loud loud EO, you can let him smell your smoke if you want. Ps, dun try on real ah beng performance cars hor. You smell smoke.

Conclusion, if you can give her tlc n sayang her when things need changing, you will be rewarded with a smile everytime you starts her up in the morning.

Not exactly leh, but i agree on your rewards part [thumbsup]

Price diff depends on:

- no. of owners

- ? Accident

and 1 very important difference, check out the mods.

Some mods easily more than 20k

I bought E60 523i 2007 last year, indeed some wear and tear is exist for 5year old car.

1. Steering pump kaput

2. FC cooling pump kaput

3. Absorber kaput

All claim from dealer.

Engine oil eating issue is not exist on my car or maybe i change oil every 5k km not so obvious which i never top up.

If you head into driving pleasure, BMW is what you want, if you ask for reliable C class, E class will be better.

FC indeed bad, for me 90% urban 5km/L, highway 8-10km/L.

The power for 523 is enough on daily drive and highway cruise, i try rev from 100kmh till 220kmh , not really hard. Inline 6 with aftermarket exhaust make my face hanging with smile.

how long is the warranty the dealer give u bro

Funny , back in 2007 i owned a 2005 E60 525i for about 20mths.

Never had to top up engine oil and the Idrive oil check also shows max level.

Did about 25,000km in total on that 5er.

Zero break down experience

Zero electronic faulty experience

Zero aircon problem

Only replaced pads and rotors and change engine oil , sparks and filter.

Mileage was 58,000 when i bot it. (Base on memory)

About 83,000km when i sold it (base on memory)

Very reliable mid level BMW.

Funny , back in 2007 i owned a 2005 E60 525i for about 20mths.

Never had to top up engine oil and the Idrive oil check also shows max level.

Did about 25,000km in total on that 5er.

Zero break down experience

Zero electronic faulty experience

Zero aircon problem

Only replaced pads and rotors and change engine oil , sparks and filter.

Mileage was 58,000 when i bot it. (Base on memory)

About 83,000km when i sold it (base on memory)

Very reliable mid level BMW.

Bro , you buy new or 2nd hand?

Breakdown depends on servicing and maintenance. If for wear and tear stuff, it cant avoid because no matter toyota or bmw still need replace wear and tear after years.

Someone prefer replace engine oil every 5k, someone 10k, someone will ask you " ehh......BMW not using Long Life 04 mehh? Why change"

Share my experience with one of my BMWs - bought the 523 new in 2008, regular servicing @ PML,

-Change run flat tyres every 30-40K km, one aircon fan broke down in yr 3 & a faulty temperature

sensor (minor problems)

- This year, @ 96K km mileage, had starter motor and ignition coils replaced.

So far, been happy with it.

Breakdown depends on servicing and maintenance. If for wear and tear stuff, it cant avoid because no matter toyota or bmw still need replace wear and tear after years.

Someone prefer replace engine oil every 5k, someone 10k, someone will ask you " ehh......BMW not using Long Life 04 mehh? Why change"

he say bought a 05 model in 2007, so must be preown lah.

all cars are the same, no maintenance sure got problem.

Secondhand.

As mentioned in 2007 i bot a 2005 525i.

And as mentioned , i did servicing for wear and tear parts as listed in my post.

Which part of my post did you not understand leh?

• Dislike 1

Secondhand.

As mentioned in 2007 i bot a 2005 525i.

And as mentioned , i did servicing for wear and tear parts as listed in my post.

Which part of my post did you not understand leh?

Paiseh, overlook your post. I just go through very fast not detail enough.

I am not shooting you for anything, just share experience owning bmw around me and their attitude on car maintenance.

Peace , no war!