Singapore to donate $50,000 to Philippines for relief effort

Tayspiderx

Sunday, Nov 10, 2013

SINGAPORE - The Singapore Government will donate $50,000 through the Singapore Red Cross to support relief efforts in the Philippines for those affected by Typhoon Haiyan (Yolanda).

Australia pledges $10m in aid for the Philippines in wake of Typhoon Haiyan

Foreign Minister Julie Bishop says the Australian Government will contribute $10 million in aid, which will include $390,500 of emergency supplies previously announced by Ms Bishop on Saturday.

"I have approved a $10 million package of humanitarian assistance. This comprises the urgent deployment of an Australian medical assistance team - at a cost of about $1 million, $3 million to be deployed through Australian non-government organisations, $4 million to the United Nations flash appeal," she said.

"[We will also contribute] $1 million for additional food items and non-food items, which includes the funding already announced - so tarps, mosquito nets, water containers and the like, and $1 million to the Red Cross to assist in their disaster response efforts."

When questioned about the size of the donation, the Foreign Minister defended the $10 million figure calling it a "substantial package", but left the door open for more aid in the coming days.

"This $10 million is on a scale with other countries, but we will obviously stand by ready to support the Philippines in whatever way we can," she said.

Hmmm how come our gahment so neow

tharman-drums.gif

what they want? lunch in kopitiam, hawker centre or restaurant?

If gahmen give too much, need to increase ERP and reduce minister salaries and public transport companies go into the red. Is that really want you want?! [lipsrsealed]

hate to say this, but karma is a real bitch......

i look back at all the arrogance and condescendance that we saw the last few/many months from the same folks. although they are victims, and i feel real sad for the afflicted, brings to mind that there is still a greater force out there to humble us mortals.

i recall the hk incident, the taiwan incident and even at home here, the number of cases where we citizens have had to endure, albeit at a different scale.

well, to those out there among the ravaged area, i pray for them, and hopefully peace prevails among all.

tharman-drums.gif

If we donate a lot to others for these relief efforts, I rather they donate and do more for poor Singaporeans (which is pathetic as it goes).

totally agree.....the amount of corruption there, is unthinkable. They could do more there themselves for their own folks.

nuff said

totally agree.....the amount of corruption there, is unthinkable. They could do more there themselves for their own folks.

nuff said

Don't want to judge and count pennies but I don't know how much of every dollar donated to Philippines actually goes to the last persons in the line who are the actual victims.

It's just like how much of a disgrace it is for our NKF case when it was revealed how much actually goes to the poor kidney patients eventually.

That's not saying we should not donate, just that I am disgusted at how much we are doing as (we claim) a prosperous nation who does "so much" for those we leave behind and so many of our own kind we trample on to reach where we are.

So much dislike for even others cause of our skewered policies against our own, we should be a prosperous and giving society, but let's start by doing more for our own first.

Until then do not expect me to criticize our gov for being miserly to other nations.

Don't want to judge and count pennies but I don't know how much of every dollar donated to Philippines actually goes to the last persons in the line who are the actual victims.

It's just like how much of a disgrace it is for our NKF case when it was revealed how much actually goes to the poor kidney patients eventually.

That's not saying we should not donate, just that I am disgusted at how much we are doing as (we claim) a prosperous nation who does "so much" for those we leave behind and so many of our own kind we trample on to reach where we are.

So much dislike for even others cause of our skewered policies against our own, we should be a prosperous and giving society, but let's start by doing more for our own first.

Until then do not expect me to criticize our gov for being miserly to other nations.

well said bro...i soooo agree

i however, dun feel a thing here, sorry but have been desensitised.

However, when disaster struck NZ, i felt for them and did wat little i could....

I can offer only sympathy & prays and I won't donate $$$$ cos I don't know whether it reaches the peoples of the affected areas .... [grin]

NB you started this thread asking why our gahmen so ngeow and then now you say liddat [rolleyes]

Amended after spell check...

Edited by Chickenfarm

How come the school students, army & policemen didn't take group photos of the scene ... [sly]

NB you started this thread asking why our gahmen so ngeow and then now you say liddat [rolleyes]

Amended after spell check...

Oei............ you wake up wrong side of the bed iszit...

This thread TS not started by me lar.... [furious]

How come the school students, army & policemen didn't take group photos of the scene ... [sly]

Oei............ you wake up wrong side of the bed iszit...

This thread TS not started by me lar.... [furious]

hahahaha...I is tickering you nia nia lah...why so ngeow?!! [laugh]

Like that, how much have you donated ?

Money hor not your sperm on every Sunday.... [lipsrsealed]

[:p][:p]

CB!! You wanna turn this disaster thread into one of your tiko thread again? [sly]

My opinion is, rather than money, we should provide humanitarian aids like sending our civil defence or food and ration to the affected areas.

This would be more assuring than sending moolah to enrich the wrong parties...especially those who smile on TV even when visiting afflicted areas or worse...after a massacre [shakehead]

It's the thought that counts.

Seriously, as much as we sympathize with the victims, giving too much money as a form of aid may not help them too. You should know how some of these aids - foods, water, monies go to. Little goes to the real victims.

Those big figures from ang moh kok kars are luan luan pong one lah = one big cannon! You think got no strings and tricks attached? Also, reckon these are "pledges" meaning up till that figure, but could be much lesser depending on the actual needs.

Singapore $50,000 on the other hand is a donation = confirm have one. I don't think this is considered ngeow. Saprork gahment this time round.

Edited by Kangadrool