Mindef banned nsfs from singing "purple light".

BabyBlade

**BREAKING NEWS**

AWARE Singapore, a women's rights activist group in Singapore promoting "gender equality" for women has successfully made MINDEF ban NSFs from singing our favourite army song "Purple Light" due to some parts of the song being degrading to women.

Ever wonder if speaking up about sexism really creates change? Here's one case where it has!

Earlier this year, AWARE learned of "Purple Light", a marching song sung by many NSmen, which included the lines:

"Booking out, see my girlfriend

Saw her with another man

Kill the man, rape my girlfriend

With my rifle and my buddy and me."

We were troubled that NSmen were bonding over misogynist lyrics about committing sexual violence against women. So we raised our concerns with MINDEF and SAF.

And now we have excellent news: MINDEF and SAF have confirmed that they took steps to investigate. They will "immediately halt" the singing of these lyrics, which they describe as "contrary to the values of [their] organisation".

It's really encouraging that MINDEF and SAF are prepared to listen to feedback, recognise this as an issue and take action on it. Thumbs up!

*AWARE Singapore is a women's right activist group fighting for the rights of women and promoting "gender equality".

Many NSman are very angry with MINDEF decision to ban this song:

Davin Ng: Because the lyrics refer to the way many Singaporean women ditch their boyfriends without a second's thought when they enter NS. Nearly 3/4 of the attached men in my BMT platoon were dumped during the confinement weeks of BMT, and the lyrics were made up to express their rage and frustration. You might want to think about how women behave like opportunistic brats instead of complaining about the mere symptoms.

Warren D'cruz: Age of girls having boyfriends who arebin NS are around 18yrs old. They are still in the verge of building a future for themdelves and exploring the various opportunites that they can use to build their future. They will make more friends and meet more guys. They will have more options to choose. How they view and cherish their relationship with their boyfriends who are in NS depends on their maturity, morality and their social backgound. There is no way to stop them from ending a relationship. The responsibility lies within them. Not all women are the sole responsible of a breakup. The same also applies to guys. However, if I was a girl and know that my boyfriend is singing these kind of songs at NS. I will be very afraid!!!!

Source: http://therealsingapore.com/content/mindef-banned-nsfs-singing-purple-light-because-lyrics-are-degrading-towards-women

Edited by BabyBlade

Where got the rape part ???

Purple Light:
Purple light
In the valley
There is where
I want to be
Infantry
Close Companion
With my rifle and my buddy and me....

SOC
Si Bei Jia Lat
IPPT
Lagi worst
Everyday
Doing PT

Booking out
To see my girlfriend
Saw her with
another man
Kill the man
Beat my girlfriend

Booking in
Took a shower
Dropped my soap
Bent my knees
Felt something up my arsehole
With my rifle and my buddy and me...

Purple Light
At the warfront
There is where
My Buddy die
if I die
would you bury me?

ORD
Back to study
Got degree
So happy
Can't Forget
Still remember

Where got the rape part ???

Purple Light:

Purple light

In the valley

There is where

I want to be

Infantry

Close Companion

SOC

Si Bei Jia Lat

IPPT

Lagi worst

Everyday

Doing PT

Booking out

To see my girlfriend

Saw her with

another man

Kill the man

Beat my girlfriend

Booking in

Took a shower

Dropped my soap

Bent my knees

Felt something up my a------e

With my rifle and my buddy and me...

Purple Light

At the warfront

There is where

My Buddy die

if I die

would you bury me?

ORD

Back to study

Got degree

So happy

Can't Forget

Still remember

Lol. Equally violent hahaha.

Wa, just saw the news too, lucky searched before posting.. Else.. =X

Stupid thing to do, really.. AWARE should be abolished. It's a hypocritical organisation. If want to ban something, at least show proof that it's harmful. I've been singing / knew the lyrics of the blardy song for more than 10 years, and yet, never raped or beat my girlfriend before. And most of my peers have never done any violent act towards females before too.

Stupid shit AWARE. Are they aware that they are idiots? Eff them la.

Eh, then how about the other songs that goes, got no time to m**, but got time to stand by bed. Army songs can be crude, but what's the big deal?

Jiak bah bo sai pang...

Somebody should tell AWARE, we will ban crude army songs that sound degrading to women, if all Singaporean women start serving NS. Agree? Kee chiu...

Eh, then how about the other songs that goes, got no time to m**, but got time to stand by bed. Army songs can be crude, but what's the big deal?

Jiak bah bo sai pang...

Somebody should tell AWARE, we will ban crude army songs that sound degrading to women, if all Singaporean women start serving NS. Agree? Kee chiu...

Jiak bah bo sai pang...

👋

I don't remember singing this version of purple light leh.

but my OC ban us from singing this song. Say got no respect for serving NS.....

They said in the army,

The food is mighty fine,

You ask for chicken drum stick,

They give you chicken backside.

Fark lah, just get them to change the 2 offending words lor... KKNBCCB, we leave the comforts of our homes to crawl in the grass/sand/mud, kenna mosquito buffet, burn weekends, some even lost their lives ...... and this is what we get ?!?!!

AWARE can go and DIE for all i care [furious] will someone please hack their website ?? [grin]

AWARE should aware that only song sung during training, 5BX or road match would lift up the spirit of the men in the company/platoon .... [sly]

Imagine road match with everybody keeping quiet would wear out a soldier faster .. [sweatdrop]

And they should also must aware that song sung in bed is a different thing... [lipsrsealed]

Edited by Picnic06

94-97.

My time the version is

Saw her with

another man

Broken heart

back to army

With my rifle and my buddy and me

yeah, this was my version too. 95-97 40SAR

don't have the rape and kill part. issit because we AIR level batch ?? [laugh]

Why WWII, British soldiers match with Bag-pipers playing music and they also sing song along the way.....

Can someone tell the AWARE group that it was a "Tradition" all along .... [furious]

Edited by Picnic06