Malaysia No. 1 in English proficiency in Asia

Darthrevan

EF INDEX: Beats Singapore to place 11th in overall ranking

MALAYSIA'S improved ranking worldwide in terms of English language proficiency shows that government is on the right track, said Deputy Education Minister 11 P. Kamalanathan yesterday.

A survey conducted by Swiss international education company Education First (EF) showed that Malaysia had the highest English language proficiency level in Asia.

The nation also climbed two notches up to 11th place from 13th position last year in the EF English Proficiency Index, which saw more than 60 countries surveyed.

"As far as the command of English is concerned, we are happy and of course, this is good news," said Kamalanathan

The results also showed that Malaysia, which was placed in the "high proficiency" category, had overtaken Singapore, which fell to 12th position in the ranking.

Malaysia scored 59.99 points in the survey while Singapore received a 58.92.

Kamalanathan said the Malaysia National Education Blueprint 2013-2025 would continue to strengthen the level of English language proficiency.

"We will make sure the standard is raised to meet global requirements and to make Malaysia the choice destination for foreign directi investment and services."

EF, in a press release entitled "The World's Top 60 Countries in English according to the EF English Proficiency Index" posted on its website on Tuesday, said this year's country rankings were based on tests taken by 750,000 adults from 60 countries last year.

It said the seven countries with the strongest command of English were all small European nations, "whose size compels them to adopt an international outlook".

The analysis of evolving English proficiency over a six-year period (2007 to last year) uses test data from nearly five million adults.

Sweden topped the list of the "very high proficiency" category, with Norway and Netherlands trailing in second and third places respectively.

Other countries listed as among the best were Estonia, Denmark, Austria and Finland.

The survey also concluded that some Asian countries, such as Indonesia and Vietnam, have improved on their English proficiency over the six-year period.

The report states English proficiency, not penetration rate.

Meaning, the sample group they tested are those who speak English on a daily basis, which is rather small % of their population, but speak proper English nonetheless.

Compared to us, easily 75% of Singaporean speak English on a daily basis. But a significant number of them speak sub-standard English (wrong grammar, pronunciation.. etc). Furthermore, with our liberal immigration policy, i'm actually not surprised we're behind them.

i wasn't surprise by the report on proficiency, in KL or bigger cities of malaysia, many families are english educated and their children usually speak english and malay more if they dun know mandarin (many seriously dun even know how to write their name in chinese).

Hence if the test were targeted at this group of candidate, then the result is quite obvious.

Malaysians definitely have a better grasp in different languages than us. A typical Chinese Malaysian in KL can speak easily - English, Malayu, Mandarin and Cantonese. Ask any Singaporeans below the age of 30 to speak Mandarin also got problems. These younger Singaporean Chinese go Hong Kong can't speak Cantonese for nuts, Malaysian Chinese no probs in Hong Kong.

Younger gen of Singaporeans - majority converse in Mandarin. That's why Eng profiecincy won't score high?

In Malaysia, think there was a time when all medium of instruction was in Malay. Most times, I can hear the chinese talking to their malay work mates in Malay.

So, I am not sure how they still score higher than SG in English proficiency. Our Edn ministry is aware of this?

For a nation where English is the work & first language, taught since primary school, we are surprisingly very far behind many nations, especially Northern European nations. Having traveling & meeting/knowing people from Northern Europe, & even Eastern Europe, our standard are in fact rather poor, especially in expression.

Of course we are better than Japanese & Korean, if this make people happy. I think its the lack of effort to speak well in everyday life that is the main problem.

But I think, without going through the whole thread, that more people are interested to flush off the 'victory' of our neighbour, then to make an effort to improve.

Hope I am wrong though.

For a nation where English is the work & first language, taught since primary school, we are surprisingly very far behind many nations, especially Northern European nations. Having traveling & meeting/knowing people from Northern Europe, & even Eastern Europe, our standard are in fact rather poor, especially in expression.

Of course we are better than Japanese & Korean, if this make people happy. I think its the lack of effort to speak well in everyday life that is the main problem.

But I think, without going through the whole thread, that more people are interested to flush off the 'victory' of our neighbour, then to make an effort to improve.

Hope I am wrong though.

The irony of it all is that you're posting on a thread about English proficiency!

Having travelling..... :p :p :p

The report states English proficiency, not penetration rate.

Meaning, the sample group they tested are those who speak English on a daily basis, which is rather small % of their population, but speak proper English nonetheless.

Compared to us, easily 75% of Singaporean speak English on a daily basis. But a significant number of them speak sub-standard English (wrong grammar, pronunciation.. etc). Furthermore, with our liberal immigration policy, i'm actually not surprised we're behind them.

Good analysis!

Edited by Porker

The irony of it all is that you're posting on a thread about English proficiency!

Good analysis!

Careful leh. His England may be half past six, but I'm sure his German beri powderful. Carry on some more, I'm sure he'll invade your hole like Poland 1939. :D

But he'll stop and withdraw once he realises how much you're enjoying it. [laugh]

Sorry, ah bro Kiadaw, just joking only.

Careful leh. His England may be half past six, but I'm sure his German beri powderful. Carry on some more, I'm sure he'll invade your hole like Poland 1939. :D

But he'll stop and withdraw once he realises how much you're enjoying it. [laugh]

Achtung!!!! :p

Good analysis!

Ok, I made a small mistake, but it doesn't change what I said.

Like I mentioned, I fully expect people to argue with the result instead of looking at ways to improve our standards.

Ok, I made a small mistake, but it doesn't change what I said.

Like I mentioned, I fully expect people to argue with the result instead of looking at ways to improve our standards.

Of course, that's Porker for you. Argumentative, disputatious and contumacious. (Only using these cheem words because this is an England thread). Like all gayfarks, he gets his rocks off disturbing the straight folk.

Isn't the pot calling the kettle black in this case? :p

No problem, I never said my English, or any language for that matter, is good, and I am trying to improve myself everyday, not so much my English, but more of my fitness, among other things. :)

But at least I can recognise my weakness ( & one of them is not writing what I think, & reading correctly what I wrote, hence the mistake I made earlier. Often I wrote 'anywhere' instead of 'anyway' or 'who' instead of 'how' for instance & not realise my mistake), but I can correct them if I am pointed out, or clarify if what I wrote is unclear.

Like I mentioned, I think its more meaningful to find ways to improve, than putting the effort to debuke the report that we are not a good than our neighbour. How does the latter helped us.

Edited by Kiadaw

Isn't the pot calling the kettle black in this case? :p

No, I'm calling a spade a spade. :D

No problem, I never said my English, or any language for that matter, is good, and I am trying to improve myself everyday, not so much my English, but more of my fitness, among other things. :)

But at least I can recognise my weakness ( & one of them is not writing what I think, & reading correctly what I wrote, hence the mistake I made earlier. Often I wrote 'anywhere' instead of 'anyway' or 'who' instead of 'how' for instance & not realise my mistake), but I can correct them if I am pointed out, or clarify if what I wrote is unclear.

Like I mentioned, I think its more meaningful to find ways to improve, than putting the effort to debuke the report that we are not a good than our neighbour. How does the latter helped us.

Since you insist on being so serious :D, I agree with your sentiments.