Hong Kong: Guide to Good Food! Please Share!

Bonafidestack

Every street , every corner good food in HK la... just need to open ur eyes, open ur nose and follow the nice smells...

and open your ass**** if you ate the wrong stuff [laugh][laugh]

For Cafe, i recommend Mido Cafe at Yau Ma Tei, and Kam Wah Cafe at Prince Edward.

For Dimsum, there is this One Dim Sum at Prince Edward. If you want Tim Ho Wan, the one at Sham Shui Po less queue because it is quite far away from MTR.

For noodles, i usually go to mak man kee, its around Jordan iirc.

For factory outlets, you can either go to Tung Chung Citygate outlets or Horizon plaza at AP Lei Chau. In AP Lei Chau, there is a Prada outlet also. If you into cheap Korean fashion clothings, there is this place near Li Chi Kou call HK industrial building. You can get all sorts of Korean clothings there.

Thanks bro! anything else to do in Hong Kong? haha. u seem to know the place inside out!

For Cafe, i recommend Mido Cafe at Yau Ma Tei, and Kam Wah Cafe at Prince Edward.

For Dimsum, there is this One Dim Sum at Prince Edward. If you want Tim Ho Wan, the one at Sham Shui Po less queue because it is quite far away from MTR.

For noodles, i usually go to mak man kee, its around Jordan iirc.

For factory outlets, you can either go to Tung Chung Citygate outlets or Horizon plaza at AP Lei Chau. In AP Lei Chau, there is a Prada outlet also. If you into cheap Korean fashion clothings, there is this place near Li Chi Kou call HK industrial building. You can get all sorts of Korean clothings there.

I like Mak Mun Kee, much better than Mak En IMO. Going to try Mak Siu Kee at Tin Hou for next trip, supposedly by Mak En's daughter.

If strictly for noodles, Hou Dou Dei at Yuen Long is pretty good for prawn roe noodles and you can buy the dried noodles back. Their wanton is quite men though. Another place for prawn roe noodles is at Lau Sum Kee at Shum Shui Po.

I prefer Kum Fong at Wan Chai compared to Kam Wah. Kam Wah's polo is too crispy for me, kinda off the balance for a nice polo yao. And Lan Fong standard has dropped IMO, their tea is not as fragrant as before.

A really good dim sum is at Yan Toh Heen at Hotel Intercon basement. A little pricey though. If want traditional yum cha style and see alot of HKG elderly reading newspaper on weekday mornings can go Lian Heung or Luk Yu at Central. Dim sum there is nothing to shout about, more for the ambience. Avoid weekends, things get crazy.

While at central, try Ser Wong Fen for lunch/dinner. They serve decent dishes and pretty good lup mei (chinese sausages, both the meat style and liver style). Snake soup optional.

At Tai Cheong, besides egg tart, try their sa yong. Chinese donut.

If you like cheong fun and porridge, try Fak Kee at yuen long. Much better than Tong Kee at Jordan IMO.

And Ah Yok beancurd at Yuen Long is one of the (if not the) best around.

If you wan roasted meat (Siu Lap) without all the fuss, Zoi Heng at Wan Chai is pretty decent, cheap and with big portions.

For those who still eat sharksfin, try Luk Meng Chun (Spring Deer) at Tsim Sa Tshui. They have the fins in chicken stock that can easily serve a family with very generous portion of fins and a very robust chicken stock. They also serve a decent Tso Pong Hai (fake crab).

Edited by Etnt

Thanks bro! anything else to do in Hong Kong? haha. u seem to know the place inside out!

Depends on whether you want to chiong Macau for a day. You can take a ferry at:

Turbojet (www.turbojet.com.hk)

(1) HK-Macau route (HK$163 one-way)

- Hong Kong Macau Ferry Terminal, 3/F Shun Tak Centre, 200 Connaught Road Central, near Sheung Wan MTR.

(2) Kowloon-Macau route (HK$166 one-way)

- China Ferry Terminal, Tsim Sha Tsui, Kowloon

Macau, can just go and see the casinos, catch a theatre show call "House of dancing waters" (quite a nice show imho), or simply just go there for food. They have quite nice portugese egg tarts (Lord Stow), almond cookies, pork chop bun around the Venetian area. It's either cab or bus there no MTR. Architecture and sight seeing is quite decent as well. Ruins of St Pauls or walk around the city square, Largo do Senado.

For HK, not sure if you would like to visit Ngong Ping, but there is a huge buddha statute there. Quite magnificent. Can eat vegetarian there but the food is so-so only. Try the cable car; it's quite a nice ride all the way to ngong ping up the hills. Can even see HK airport on the way. The cable car better book in advance and print out in SG to save the time in queuing. Additionally, you might want to go to Tai-O for seafood since it is near. The city gate outlets at Tung Chung is where you board the cable car.

Disneyland and Ocean Park are two theme parks there for the kids. Ocean park further down is AP Lei Chau if you intend to visit Horizon Plaza or Prada outlet.

For shopping the more trendy mall is Island Beverly at Causeway Bay and Graville at Tsim Sha Tsui. You can google for the directions or ask around in HK. And Li Chi Kou MTR HK industrial building can get really cheap clothings.

If you haven't been to the Peak before, you can consider that as well although it's likely to be super crowded like Disneyland and Ocean Park.

For transport, there is this Airport Express Travel Pass:

(i) HK$220 (incl refundable deposit $50) for one way ride from Airport MTR to Hong Kong MTR station + 3 days unlimited rides on MTR & some buses/light rail operated by MTR. HK$300 for two way.

(ii) The Pass can also be used as an Octopus Card (which is their ezlink card) for travel on buses & trams, just need to top up.

http://www.mtr.com.hk/eng/fares_tickets/index.html

Depends on whether you want to chiong Macau for a day. You can take a ferry at:

Turbojet (www.turbojet.com.hk)

(1) HK-Macau route (HK$163 one-way)

- Hong Kong Macau Ferry Terminal, 3/F Shun Tak Centre, 200 Connaught Road Central, near Sheung Wan MTR.

(2) Kowloon-Macau route (HK$166 one-way)

- China Ferry Terminal, Tsim Sha Tsui, Kowloon

Macau, can just go and see the casinos, catch a theatre show call "House of dancing waters" (quite a nice show imho), or simply just go there for food. They have quite nice portugese egg tarts (Lord Stow), almond cookies, pork chop bun around the Venetian area. It's either cab or bus there no MTR. Architecture and sight seeing is quite decent as well. Ruins of St Pauls or walk around the city square, Largo do Senado.

For HK, not sure if you would like to visit Ngong Ping, but there is a huge buddha statute there. Quite magnificent. Can eat vegetarian there but the food is so-so only. Try the cable car; it's quite a nice ride all the way to ngong ping up the hills. Can even see HK airport on the way. The cable car better book in advance and print out in SG to save the time in queuing. Additionally, you might want to go to Tai-O for seafood since it is near. The city gate outlets at Tung Chung is where you board the cable car.

Disneyland and Ocean Park are two theme parks there for the kids. Ocean park further down is AP Lei Chau if you intend to visit Horizon Plaza or Prada outlet.

For shopping the more trendy mall is Island Beverly at Causeway Bay and Graville at Tsim Sha Tsui. You can google for the directions or ask around in HK. And Li Chi Kou MTR HK industrial building can get really cheap clothings.

If you haven't been to the Peak before, you can consider that as well although it's likely to be super crowded like Disneyland and Ocean Park.

For transport, there is this Airport Express Travel Pass:

(i) HK$220 (incl refundable deposit $50) for one way ride from Airport MTR to Hong Kong MTR station + 3 days unlimited rides on MTR & some buses/light rail operated by MTR. HK$300 for two way.

(ii) The Pass can also be used as an Octopus Card (which is their ezlink card) for travel on buses & trams, just need to top up.

http://www.mtr.com.hk/eng/fares_tickets/index.html

Thanks bro! is there any good buy or must buy there?

For makan, if you need to buy the wife biscuits, go to this one below. Imo the best. There are a few branches you can go google.

Hang Heung Cake Shop

Mongkok

G/F, 579 Nathan Road, Mong Kok

Open: 10am – 9:50pm

The rest in HK that i can think of are cookies from cookies quartet (The butterfly cookies is nice) and roasted almond nuts from A Ji Ichiban. If you are going Macau can buy almond cookies from Ko Kei bakery, there are many branches. Anyway they will give samples so can take your pick.

Basically, for shopping wise, i think only the outlets ones are worth buying and even that isn't really cheap compared to outlets in USA or Europe... For most retail stuffs, it's pretty much the same like Singapore so nothing much to hoot. The Prada outlet at Ap Lei Chau apparently is popular with ladies and tourists. You might want to visit if you are into it.

The HK industrial building has really got cheap clothings, bags, shoes and accessories which are pretty cheap. Like a wholesale centre. So basically what you can find in Granville and Island Beverly you can find it there at a fraction of the price. The place is a bit ulu though.

Have fun and enjoy yourself man.

and open your ass**** if you ate the wrong stuff [laugh] [laugh]

Normally HK food ok la.. wont lau sai if you choose correctly,,,, [sunny]

The HK industrial building has really got cheap clothings, bags, shoes and accessories which are pretty cheap. Like a wholesale centre. So basically what you can find in Granville and Island Beverly you can find it there at a fraction of the price. The place is a bit ulu though.

Bro, this HK Industrial building is its real name ah? where is it? and the stuff sold there are off season or factory over-runs? Would like to visit next time to "park" my wife there while i go cheong elsewhere... [laugh]

Normally HK food ok la.. wont lau sai if you choose correctly,,,, [sunny]

Bro, this HK Industrial building is its real name ah? where is it? and the stuff sold there are off season or factory over-runs? Would like to visit next time to "park" my wife there while i go cheong elsewhere... [laugh]

Yes it is... In chinese it is call 香港工業中心. Quite in season ones cos they import from Korea/Japan in bulk, before they distribute to the retailers in HK to carrot tourists... It is very near Li Chi Kou MTR. Just ask around if you still can't find... but it's just right in front of the MTR. I got myself a bag and a pair of shoes there... but mostly ladies fashion...

Thanks for the reply bro.. very useful.. the MTR station is Lai Chee Kok (in cantonese)?

Yes between Cheung Sha Wan and Mei Foo have fun shopping :)

what do you think?

i think not so simple, must be some hidden ads messages on the way   [laugh]  [laugh] 

Bad behaviour or just good fun?
Rachel Chan Wednesday, Nov 2, 2016

Photo: YouTube screengrabs

He and his friends thought it was a fun video that everyone could enjoy and laugh at on social media.

But they did not reckon their caustic comments on Hong Kong airport food would raise such a stink among the media and netizens there.

They were at the airport in transit from Hokkaido, Japan, where they had been for seven days to appear on a radio show.

The video, which has gone viral with about 60,000 views as of last night, got netizens into a lather as they hit back at the jocks for being "disrespectful to Hong Kong" and a "disgrace to Singapore".

Hong Kong's Apple Daily and Malaysia's China Press picked up on the video, and turned it into a platform for netizens to further bash the DJs.

In the three-minute video, Lee, speaking and cursing in Cantonese, complains about his fried noodles being unpalatable.

The others then chime in, with Chin saying that even his dog wouldn't eat it and Chen commenting that the noodles tasted like "rubber bands".

Lee, who is also known as a comedian and actor, told The New Paper yesterday: "It was quite late at night, at about 11.20pm, and we were extremely hungry, having had to stay there for two to three hours before we could fly back to Singapore.

"Only one place was open, so we had no choice but to eat there. Little did we know that the food would taste so bad.

"The noodles were too dry. It felt like taking a handful of rubber bands and placing them into my mouth to chew."

However, Lee said the main purpose of the video was to make fun of Chew's Cantonese, which was not fluent.

Chew could not be reached for comment yesterday.

Lee added: "It was a personal video, which we all thought was funny and decided to upload on social media for everyone to see."

When asked why he had used bad language, Lee said: "We used that kind of language as we know Hong Kongers speak that way too. It's also to capture people's attention."

It certainly caught the attention of netizens, who felt their actions were inappropriate for public figures in the entertainment industry.

One said he was disappointed with their behaviour, and another called them "Singaporean trash who do not understand the meaning of mutual respect".

But Lee was unrepentant and refused to apologise.

He said: "When I cursed, it was quite mild, not something extreme. I just thought that people would focus on Dennis instead.

"I don't regret saying what I said as all of us felt very sad after eating the food. It's an international airport, which represents the food of Hong Kong. How could it be so bad?"

Like Lee, Chin was also not sorry.

He told TNP: "We were quite surprised it went viral, but the food at the airport really tasted horrible. It was not worth our money.

"We were just stating the facts as we really thought that Hong Kong's airport was not like this. I feel that the food at Changi Airport is way better.

"I suggest that reporters in Hong Kong head down to the airport to try out the food themselves, and see how bad it is."

I guess i know what it's like to be served very lousy food when you're hungry.

Especially when airport food is not cheap.

Just that i won't post a video about it.

what do you think?

i think not so simple, must be some hidden ads messages on the way   [laugh]  [laugh] 

Actually I quite agreed, I felt that their airport food is really expensive and so so quality.

The same food in the town is different.

Ate at HK airport a few times.  I think I know which eatery Mark and gang ate at, and I agree the food at that place is mediocre at best.  However, it is quite unfair for them to say that HK Airport food is lousy just because they tried one eating place.  Did they try the others?

I had this goose with rice set for $HK54 and the taste was not bad. 

Also the Tsui Wah serves decent food. In this video, we grabbed some breakfast.

HKIA food are bad.....service sux...tllmch

Changi airport T1 food also bad...especially the lvl2 asian food court....service is knnbccb

Any bro know where to find nice steamboat serves at dai pai dong? Don't want restaurant.... always saw in those drama scene but can't find any everytime visit there.

later got gang fight like in those drama scene how?   [sweatdrop]  [sweatdrop]