Crime Advisory - "Police Bail" Phone Scam

ShepherdPie

Thursday, August 15, 2013

Crime Advisory - "Police Bail" Phone Scam
From Singapore Police Force Fan Page:

The Police would like to remind the public to be vigilant against scams as criminals are coming up with more innovative ways to cheat unsuspecting victims. Police have received reports on the “police bail” phone scam recently.

In this scam, the victims received calls purportedly from China, with the “+86”country code. The caller would claim to be the victim’s friend and allege that he had been arrested by police while in China. The scammer would then ask the victim to transfer a sum of money to pay the bail or fines for his release. Victims who acceded to the scammer’s request would eventually discover that it was a scam after establishing contact with their friends. Thus far, victims have transferred sums ranging from $800 to $16,000 to a bank account in China.

Police would like to remind members of public to be vigilant against such scams, and to adopt the following crime prevention measures:

- Inform the Police immediately if anyone attempts to extort or ask money from you;

- Be wary of messages or calls from unknown people who want to befriend you;

- Do not remit or transfer money to people whom you do not know well enough. The criminal may spend months building rapport with you before asking for money;

- Do not give personal details about yourself or friends when interacting with unknown persons over the phone; and

- If you receive any message or call from anyone claiming he/she is in some kind of trouble overseas and need you to urgently send money over, you should report the matter to Police and not transfer the money.

If you have any information related to this crime, do not hesitate to call the Police hotline at 1800-255 0000 or 999 for urgent Police assistance.

just received calls frm china... asking me if i know him....twice...

any bro kena also ?

aniway.. dun know anyone unrelated in china.. so i ignore him.

take down the number and send it in to the police via email lo. i think this is what we can do. last time people even try to scam my mother say i got kidnapped when i was sleeping in the room.

i received it last week. it a guy. not xmm.

if xmm, ask her open leg, money faster.

all these cheesepiee get caught, should hang their body outside the mata chu.

just like those oldies style.

just received calls frm china... asking me if i know him....twice...

any bro kena also ?

aniway.. dun know anyone unrelated in china.. so i ignore him.

Wouldn't this be a great chance to try out Liam Neeson's famous line from the movie "Taken"?? [laugh]

I do received calls starting with +86.... numbers, but I don't answer them. I just press the "reject" button.

I know I have no personal dealings with China people so it should be a scam call.... [laugh]

When receive such call, if you can speak Chinese... Please say "愿你快点被车撞,不死也不活。。大妈的骗子, 希望你放下电话一分钟后变哑巴

whenever i receive a china call, i will just speak english. Then they will hang up

Yes, that is the best way to deal with them. Once you speak English, they would hang up almost immediately. No need to waste anybody's time.... [laugh]

2wks ago happened to me, same tactic but i can't imagine how come tis guy speak his voice same as

My friend.

Lucky i called my friend, he told me didnt called me. First day he called n said you guess who is he. Then he lure you

To speak out who is he and tag along and said will come to singapore.

Next day he called again urgently saying he and six of his friend were arrested by police and need money to bail them out.

He said not convenience n shameful to ask the local friend n boss to help.

Keep calling even asked immediately you got money or not, few hundreds also ok. It alerted me and i asked what is name, he said his christian name and call tell his sir name.

Straight away i told him you not my friend and put down the phone n didnt called again.

idiots.....

yalor, orrbigood for being stupid.

Even my 60+ yr old MIL also not so stupid. Once this guy called her claiming to be her son and blah blah blah .... Wah, she damn smart boy, asked " you are my son, WHAT IS YOUR NAME?!?!" that fella couldn't answer and can only keep saying he is her son, In the end he gave up and hung up [thumbsup]

oh my mum also kenna before, but she managed to call me

Edited by Othello

I also received such calls at times but just too bad, could not play along with the callers cos IDD calls got to pay money .... [sweatdrop]

If not, he will go [dizzy] talking to me.

Just last month, received one and I told him help me to kill him when he was released on bail. He owes me S$2 million and run to China to hide from me. Send me pictures of my friend death and I will remit the money.... [sly] . No more calls from then on.

Edited by Picnic06

so.....still got stupid ppl like those ah....no wonder pap can cheat us so long and yet been in power for so many decades and nobody oppose them.....

sinkapore gone case liao.....

Just say : "我不会华语"

I always ask them if they got provide special esp if i get a xmm voice on the other line.. they always hang up after i said that... hahaha.. except got one xmm wanted to meet for that... but i fly aeroplane...

Should just go and see. Ask her meet you somewhere near your home MRT or work MRT or bus interchange.