In search of true-blue Singaporean glory

Ender

Mok Ying Ren is well known in the running circuit in singapore. He is self coached, no gahment sponsor, but there's commercial sponsorship though. Really wish him all the best for his olympic dream

https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=10152116257244846&set=a.55386609845.60282.55123634845&type=1&theater

Source: http://sg.sports.yahoo.com/blogs/fit-to-post-sports/search-true-blue-singaporean-glory-084959088.html

In search of true-blue Singaporean glory

“The impenetrable great wall of Singapore”.

So read the headline of an article in the Myanmar press last Thursday, after Singapore swept all the table tennis team gold medals on offer at the Southeast Asian Games.

And it left a bitter taste in my mouth.

While the story never elaborated on its subtle but snarky headline, the insinuation was obvious.

Singapore’s gold medal-winning men’s and women’s teams comprised entirely of China-born paddlers and we had, once again, “bought” our achievements through the Foreign Sports Talent Scheme (FST).

But rewind to just a few days earlier, and you will find no such snide remarks over two gold medal wins in particular.

Last Monday, Singapore crowned its first SEA Games men’s marathon champion, Mok Ying Ren. A day later, Saiyidah Aisyah rose above the odds to clinch Singapore’s first individual rowing gold at the Games.

In each instance, the celebrations in Singapore were immediate and suddenly, midway through, the Games finally caught fire for those watching back at home.

Singapore was unanimous and united in its applause for Mok and Aisyah – made all the more vociferous because they were “true-blue Singaporeans”.

Mok took to Facebook after his win, saying: “It has been an honour representing all of you in Singapore. It was surreal to watch the national flag raised and national anthem played… Thank you.”

The post garnered over 2,000 likes, and Facebook user Ricky Chee best summed up general online sentiment when he replied: “It's a real medal won by a true blue Singaporean, not foreign imports. That's what makes us proud!”

e1600e2a-1c2d-4387-b095-9f959ea7e3f3_MarSingapore's Mok Ying Ren, jubilant after winning SEA Games marathon gold. (Singapore Sports Council Photo)

Inspiring

The massive outpouring of emotion had much to do with the adversity faced by each athlete.

Mok, 25, was nursing a cough and a strained thigh on the day of his race, on top of arriving in Myanmar just a day earlier because of his National Service commitments.

And as Singapore’s only competitive female rower, Aisyah, 25, has walked a lonely road, funding her own training and competition expenses for most of her ten-year career.

Hers was a tale that even Minister Teo Ser Luck recognised in a Facebook post: “Saiyidah Aisyah is an inspiring role model. She did it on her own for the love of rowing. She didn’t give up. She has to juggle training and competition with a full-time job and the challenge of getting support… We should support her and the sport of rowing!”

On Yahoo Singapore, the most replied to comment on Aisyah’s stunning gold medal charge was by user “Nancy Drew”, who said: “She is an excellent example of what it means to be a true Singaporean! To pay your own expenses, conduct your own training, sacrifice your own time, and win gold for the glory of Singapore, that is the Singaporean way!”

There it is again: reference to a “true” Singaporean victory.

befa6f82-0af2-4694-a070-d2ac7d305385_RowSingapore's Saiyidah Aisyah celebrates her historic gold medal in rowing at the SEA Games. (Singapore Sports Council …

Pride

Now think back to the last major sporting tournament where Singapore won something: Feng Tianwei’s table tennis bronze at the 2012 Olympics in London.

It was no small feat, being our first individual Olympic podium finish in over half a century, but – toquote the Yahoo comment piece then – for too many, the win meant nothing.

Thousands flocked to the Web, dismissing the Chinese import’s achievement as not belonging to Singapore.

Hold that up against the reaction to Mok and Aisyah’s golds – even though the SEA Games present a far, far lower level of competition – and the contrast is stark for all to see.

“I’m swelling with pride over the grit and determination of a fellow child of Singapore... It puts to bed the shame I felt when the ping pong foreigners won medals at the Olympics!” said Facebook user YanHou Cedric in a comment on the Yahoo page.

Nation-building

It is at times like these the entire point of the foreign talent scheme must be questioned – perhaps even abandoned and dismantled.

Because instead of rallying the people like sports should, a win by a non-“true-blue” Singaporean has so far served only to divide the nation, and even foster a loss of faith in the sport itself.

As always, none of this is any individual’s fault: all athletes, regardless of nationality, deserve respect for their toil. Rather, it is the National Sports Associations that should take responsibility – at least according to Annabel Pennefather, Singapore’s Chef de Mission for this year’s SEA Games.

She suggested that the successful integration of foreign talents into Singapore society was heavily dependent on how NSAs implement the FST.

“When I had my hockey women from China, they became so Singaporean and they behaved just like our girls,” said the 63-year-old ex-national hockey captain.

“They took English names, I had a Holly and an Anne (Qi Hui, now a national marathoner), if you listen to her now you wouldn’t think she was an FT,” Pennefather added.

Silver lining

While maintaining she was “against those (foreign talents) who buy in and ‘fly by night’,” Pennefather also noted that homegrown stars like Mok and Aisyah would not have emerged if not for the region’s biggest sports meet.

“The SEA Games are important, because there are a bigger number of our own athletes who get a chance to participate, and people feel much closer (to them),” said the lawyer.

“Foreign talent only comes in when it’s on the very highest level, (which is) beyond the reach of the bulk of (athletes).”

Still, one feels that no matter the level, sport, colour or creed, the average man on the street will be proud of a standout Singaporean victory in sport – so long as it belongs to a born-and-bred fellow countryman.

The hugely negative sentiment online over Feng’s bronze last year was already staggering and divisive in nature. But imagine how quickly this seething mass of opinion can be just as moved to unify and celebrate a win for Singapore on its own terms.

If there is to be one big takeaway from the 11-day Games that just ended, it is this: the best way to build our young nation through sports is to focus on and fund the present and future home-grown athletes of Singapore.

With the next SEA Games on home ground and barely 18 months away, the powers-that-be must surely appreciate and act on that simple fact.

And also because headlines like “the impenetrable durian of Singapore”—no matter how cheesy – would be made sweeter any time, any day and at any level.

Edited by Ender

Grooming local talent might not be that easy. Groom 100 potential if lucky maybe only 1 is a contender. Maybe that's why it's cheaper to foreign import talent. But I remember those no good ones were quickly sent home.

Only mention gold medalists? I thought our basketball and football did well too although they have got bronze. Somemore our football team who are local young players beat M'sia. Basketball first time in many years to get a medal.

Good point made. Hope the the ministers take note.

No point wining with other countries talents. I would much rather they spend the money on grooming local talents

cant agree more.....They should listen to a the whining not only in sports but to most of the aspects of life in SG...such as scholarships, bursaries etc. To focus on the young...nurture them to be good and productive citizen no matter what background! Only when the resources and talent are used up then they can add in the real foreign talent! They owe the country this much......

Must first have local who is willing to be train first.

Current youngster so fragile how to train?

Pay not high how to train? Everyone rather become banker or lawyer. Sports man cannot feed the family.

Those who keep kpkb abt gahmen keep getting oversea athletic must ask them self, if their children can be good in atheltic but won't earn much, will U let them be sportsman?

• Dislike 5

Pay not high how to train? Everyone rather become banker or lawyer. Sports man cannot feed the family.

Those who keep kpkb abt gahmen keep getting oversea athletic must ask them self, if their children can be good in atheltic but won't earn much, will U let them be sportsman?

i rather see our local born singaporean complete in the sport and not win it.

compare to importing and paying ft to win the medal for us.

imagining see your own sons friends reperesting singapore in certain sport and the whole family cheering him/ her on. so wat if no medal is won? i am ok with it.

instead of spending millions to pay ft, who u dun even know where they come from to get the medal.

i know every 1 got different view on this,

i rather see our local born singaporean complete in the sport and not win it.

compare to importing and paying ft to win the medal for us.

imagining see your own sons friends reperesting singapore in certain sport and the whole family cheering him/ her on. so wat if no medal is won? i am ok with it.

instead of spending millions to pay ft, who u dun even know where they come from to get the medal.

i know every 1 got different view on this,

Does it matter when every where in the world including USA is doing it? Okay, the only country that is not doing it is china.

There are the Sayidas and Moks out there.....really! Must try to change the mindset and show that there are still careers in sport and after sports such as coaching, sports psychologist, physio and even management! Its up to the governing bodies to implement such schemes. I have heard friends say why let your child be in that cca since its overran by foreigners. To me cca is not about monetary award since the discipline and peseverence are the rewards and should one excels in that area then its great and worth that extra effort and recognition.

Been in CCa is one thing. Been a full time sportsman is another.

How many make it?? Even those successful one, how many are doing well after their competitive year?

Sportsman life span is how long? 5years, 10 years? Then the remainder 60/70 years how?

To me there's more glory in obtaining only one true blue Singaporean gold medal than having 20 gold medals earned from Foreign Talent Scheme. If glooming local talent means less medals, so be it. At least when that one and only true blue Singaporean is gunning for his medal on TV, every Sgrean will be rooting for him. Just like when Mok overtook the myannar runner at last stage to grab the gold, the excitement was priceless for us.

Again these true blue winners are self funded, and self coach.. Only means there's alot of passion in the sport they have.

Another thing to note for debating sake, is these two true blues are not full time sportsmen/women. They have a full time day job(I know Moks just finished his medical internship and currently in NS). It's just the passion for the sports is so strong, they trained themselves like they are full time.

Edited by Ender

Been in CCa is one thing. Been a full time sportsman is another.

How many make it?? Even those successful one, how many are doing well after their competitive year?

Sportsman life span is how long? 5years, 10 years? Then the remainder 60/70 years how?

of course not all will make it big time....but for those that tried isnt it good to show that there are still careers available to them after they retire, thats the biggest hurdle this sportsmen are facing and is best if it is sports related since they have been there and done that!

If have local talent by all means.

If not, just as one has said: even USA "employs" FT in sports.

Just don't have conditions that they must be "loyal" to this country when their glory days are over.

One paddler queen already moved back for good?

of course not all will make it big time....but for those that tried isnt it good to show that there are still careers available to them after they retire, thats the biggest hurdle this sportsmen are facing and is best if it is sports related since they have been there and done that!

That's the problem. Even those that make it will find it hard to make a living after they retire.

We do not have the culture to cultivate sportsman. And sadly, local citizen are all talk and no show type of support. Most rather have a shopping mall then a futsball stadium beside their house. This is the sort of mentality that will not breed sportsman.

If have local talent by all means.

If not, just as one has said: even USA "employs" FT in sports.

Just don't have conditions that they must be "loyal" to this country when their glory days are over.

One paddler queen already moved back for good?

Her hubby is prc. What do u expect.

haha...I am ok with "serve & go".

I sound fierce??

No lah. I mean what to expect, she married a prc. Doubt any local want to marry her.

Anyway... She although represent Singapore heard most of the time attend competition in china. To. An extend that she had prc fans club.. Hence she throw tower to them instead of Singaporean in Olympic.

What to do?? Singaporean don't even follow the sports and only turn up when there is chance to win medal.

"The most important thing (in the Olympic Games) is not to win but to take part, just as the most important thing in life is not the triumph but the struggle. The essential thing is not to have conquered but to have fought well."

How many of us truly believe in the sporting ethos especially in Singapore when if you are not successful you will be cast aside for someone who can deliver a gold (no point finishing 2nd or even 3rd)? Although we acknowledge the achievements of Mok Ying Ren and Saiyidah Aisyah, how many of the silvers and bronzes we won were true sheer hard work and personal sacrifice.

Let us remember and cheer those who have finished 2nd / 3rd and even those who have finished way below the podium for their determination, grit and fighting spirit! Most important of all ... true blue Singaporeans!

That's the problem. Even those that make it will find it hard to make a living after they retire.

We do not have the culture to cultivate sportsman. And sadly, local citizen are all talk and no show type of support. Most rather have a shopping mall then a futsball stadium beside their house. This is the sort of mentality that will not breed sportsman.

i agree that the mentality must change for us to see the success in the future but its not helped by the fact that the miw brings in the ft scheme. The day my schoolmates knew that i encouraged my son to play badminton for his school their remarks like Hey....there is no money to be made there....better let him join football, can make money while he is at it! also doesnt help. What more with school who goes all out to the extent of giving out bursaries to overseas student just so that the student from certain countries join and represent them. Even in schools the culture of foreign talent has left a big mark!

I sound fierce??

No lah. I mean what to expect, she married a prc. Doubt any local want to marry her.

Anyway... She although represent Singapore heard most of the time attend competition in china. To. An extend that she had prc fans club.. Hence she throw tower to them instead of Singaporean in Olympic.

What to do?? Singaporean don't even follow the sports and only turn up when there is chance to win medal.

No lah .... I can read & interpret things quite nicely. I really apprec corrections too. I only get upset (abit) by ppl who throw stones at me thru the Junk option.

Did any local try? rmbr her last ex was the bad(minton) player.