Budget 2014

It's that time of year again folks! Yours truly will be giving updates on the fly with the limpei comments.

This yr is slated to be 21 Feb 2014. Friday, 3pm. Botak will have his head Klasse-ed again for the event.

Stay tuned.

Deputy Prime Minister and Finance Minister Tharman Shanmugaratnam will deliver the Budget Statement for Financial Year 2014 on February 21.
dpm-tharman.jpgDeputy Prime Minister and Finance Minister Tharman Shanmugaratnam (Photo: Ministry of Finance)

SINGAPORE: Deputy Prime Minister and Finance Minister Tharman Shanmugaratnam will deliver the Budget Statement for Financial Year 2014 on February 21.

His speech will be webcast 'live' at the Singapore Budget website.

A ministry statement on Sunday said the Budget Statement will also be uploaded at the website after the speech.

For those on the go, the Budget 2014 Mobile App will be released next month. The mobile app will allow subscribers to listen and view the budget speech 'live'.

It will also provide access to news releases and real-time announcements, video clips, the Budget Quiz and an email subscription for the full Budget Statement.

Those who wish to receive the Budget Statement via email after the speech can subscribe to a mailing list at the budget website from 21 January 2014 till 20 February 2014.

The ministry also called on members to continue sending in their views and suggestions for the new budget ahead of Budget Day.

They can do so till 29 January 2014.

Following the budget speech, the public can submit feedback on the measures to be introduced through various new media and conventional channels:
- REACH Budget microsite
- REACH Singapore Facebook
- REACH Singapore Twitter (#SGBudget)
- Singapore Budget website
- Email ([email protected])
- REACH Toll-Free Hotline at 1800-353-5555
- by SMS to 9-SPEAK-UP (9-77325-87)
- by mail to REACH, 140 Hill Street, #01-01A, Old Hill Street Police Station, Singapore 179369

- CNA/de

save the hassle and just tell us got freebies or not? lol

knn..u think i got inside info now?? lol......

freebie, shd have lah, from what I see accdg to the recent report card. A dose of 'memory forgetting' medicine helps and goes a long way, up to 2015 at least, before the next dose?

no la ... wait for your "realtime" commentating during budget day just like last year .... [thumbsup]

always plan on a fri so that sat and sun got plenty of airtime on ST to sink in the ideas

since Mr Tharman is reappointed chairman of IMF policy steering committee ...

perhaps he has 20/20 hindsight of the world financial situation heading to ... huat ah

knn..u think i got inside info now?? lol......

freebie, shd have lah, from what I see accdg to the recent report card. A dose of 'memory forgetting' medicine helps and goes a long way, up to 2015 at least, before the next dose?

Cig & liquor taxes sure goes up .......... [bounce2][bounce2]

Every year up..... got limits also mah. Maybe they implement new massage parlour tax neh since so many mushroom up everywhere?

save the hassle and just tell us got freebies or not? lol

maifz1.png

Taxes must rise for social spending to increase: Ng Eng Hen

The money needed for increased social spending can only come from higher taxes, says Defence Minister Ng Eng Hen, reiterating a point made recently by Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong.

Speaking on the sidelines of a forum on the prime minister’s National Day Rally speech on Thursday evening, Ng said Singapore’s ageing population necessitates higher social spending by the government.

He noted that by 2025, there will be roughly two to three working adults for every elderly person in Singapore. The Ministry for Community Development, Youth and Sports also estimates that by 2030, elderly people aged 65 and above will form almost one-quarter of Singapore's citizen population.

“Our society is ageing, we will have more aged people, and we want to take better care of the disadvantaged and disabled,” he told reporters. “Just by numbers alone, even if you spend the same amount, social spending has to increase.”

Responding to a question posed in the forum and addressing an audience of about 200, Ng said, “If you want more social spending, you have to find the money only from taxes.”

Lee had said in his speech on Sunday that taxes would have to be raised within the next two decades to fund higher social spending. He also explained that, though people have said the government could rely on reserves to finance the increase, it has already in a way been doing so through the use of returns from investing the reserves.

When asked by a forum participant about the possibility of using budget surpluses to fund the nation’s increments in social spending, Ng pointed out that the government does not have surpluses, noting that PM Lee had even mentioned in his rally that it took out S$8 billion from Singapore’s reserves in the last financial year.

“If our economy grows, if the size of the economy grows and revenues come in, then perhaps we don’t. But as you know, we have some limits of growth in terms of labour and our land, so our economy is projected to grow one to three per cent,” Ng added.

“But these are issues I think that are best dealt with when we need to, it’s just that we first have to determine the national conversation — how do we better take care of the disadvantaged groups... and then decide from there how much, what we need, what we can afford and how (we can) husband our resources to take better care of them. I think that’s a better conversation."

Give freebies then GST goes up to 10% to help the "poor" [bounce1] [bounce1] [sly]

mce cost 5b

be prepared to give a little more [grin]

maifz1.png

Taxes must rise for social spending to increase: Ng Eng Hen

The money needed for increased social spending can only come from higher taxes, says Defence Minister Ng Eng Hen, reiterating a point made recently by Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong.

Speaking on the sidelines of a forum on the prime minister’s National Day Rally speech on Thursday evening, Ng said Singapore’s ageing population necessitates higher social spending by the government.

He noted that by 2025, there will be roughly two to three working adults for every elderly person in Singapore. The Ministry for Community Development, Youth and Sports also estimates that by 2030, elderly people aged 65 and above will form almost one-quarter of Singapore's citizen population.

“Our society is ageing, we will have more aged people, and we want to take better care of the disadvantaged and disabled,” he told reporters. “Just by numbers alone, even if you spend the same amount, social spending has to increase.”

Responding to a question posed in the forum and addressing an audience of about 200, Ng said, “If you want more social spending, you have to find the money only from taxes.”

Lee had said in his speech on Sunday that taxes would have to be raised within the next two decades to fund higher social spending. He also explained that, though people have said the government could rely on reserves to finance the increase, it has already in a way been doing so through the use of returns from investing the reserves.

When asked by a forum participant about the possibility of using budget surpluses to fund the nation’s increments in social spending, Ng pointed out that the government does not have surpluses, noting that PM Lee had even mentioned in his rally that it took out S$8 billion from Singapore’s reserves in the last financial year.

“If our economy grows, if the size of the economy grows and revenues come in, then perhaps we don’t. But as you know, we have some limits of growth in terms of labour and our land, so our economy is projected to grow one to three per cent,” Ng added.

“But these are issues I think that are best dealt with when we need to, it’s just that we first have to determine the national conversation — how do we better take care of the disadvantaged groups... and then decide from there how much, what we need, what we can afford and how (we can) husband our resources to take better care of them. I think that’s a better conversation."

mce cost 5b

be prepared to give a little more [grin]

errrrr.......... its 4.3b not 5b [sweatdrop]

cos 700million more is a lot of money [grin]

can buy Stamford Hotel who going to be sold for $466 million .... [sly]

[:p][:p]

another legendary quote "all good things have to be paid for" ... wahahaha

give you 50cents take back $1 ... jin ho jiak

Hopefully this year's budget announcement is short and sweet.

this year nobody want to hear bald guy talk

2016, everybody want to hear him talk [grin]