Champange Taste on Beer Budget

Ender

How many hold their wedding in high end hotel? Mine is just a catering at the Church, after wedding mass.

http://www.tnp.sg/content/till-debt-do-us-part

They spent $110,000 on their wedding but had to deal with debt collectors after.

Glitzy weddings are lusted after and glossy magazines seem to always have the scoop on who has had the fanciest wedding this month.

But not everyone has pockets deep enough to afford a glamorous Big Day. And not every couple realises how expensive getting one can be.

Mr and Mrs Cayden Lee had a lavish do.

The breakdown: A bridal arch made of 999 fresh tulips from Holland and a tulip-shaped balloon ($12,000), 45 tables at a six-star Marina Bay area hotel.

Most of the money was borrowed and they were confident they would take up to two years to repay the money.

Mr Lee admits they have fought over the debts.

Today, they have made lifestyle changes to ease the strain on their finances, including only allowing themselves one treat a month - either a movie or going for a spa retreat.

Social psychologist Richard Lim says sometimes, parents put pressure on their child so they can impress relatives and friends.

Wedding planners The New Paper on Sunday spoke to say couples have champagne tastes on beer budgets.

Ms Pink Cheong, who has been in the business for a decade, shares that she has had clients who want to top the last best ceremony.

Madam Fatimah Mohsin, owner of The Wedding Gallery, says: "You just need to manage your expectations."

Cope the chinese version (more details) from Hawrdwarezone.

bB4Yl70.jpg2XXT31Y.jpg

discussed to death liao. [laugh]

Many still like to use the usual excuse "once in your lifetime only.......". The irony is this guy is an insurance agent/financial planner..... [rolleyes]

IMO, if you want to save and both sides are happy, even a $10 surgical grade stainless steel wedding ring is still acceptable. The question is how to find such char bor nowadays? [:p]

Edited by Kangadrool

This young couple is clearly slapping their own faces swollen just to look fat....

The mentality of "spend first worry later" will kill a lot of young Singaporeans.

Riddle with huge debt before they even have any savings.

Working to repay instead of accumulating?

* clap clap*

wa this topic not discussed enough ar.

anyway there are always foolish pple what...

I thought this was a thread on some alcohol... [furious]

wa this topic not discussed enough ar.

anyway there are always foolish pple what...

I thought this was a thread on some alcohol... [furious]

Yah lor, I thought it was about where to get champagne at the price of beer. [furious]

I find this sentence very insightful. I will keep it in mind.

Unfortunately, many can't tell the difference between a wedding and a marriage.

discussed to death liao. [laugh]

Many still like to use the usual excuse "once in your lifetime only.......". The irony is this guy is an insurance agent/financial planner..... [rolleyes]

IMO, if you want to save and both sides are happy, even a $10 surgical grade stainless steel wedding ring is still acceptable. The question is how to find such char bor nowadays? [:p]

Simi once in a life-time??? It's just a ceremony that is quite insignificant compared to the challenges a couple will have to overcome together...

Kids, in-laws relation, finance etc... If a couple can overcome these obstacles then it calls for an even bigger celebration!!

$110k?!! [sweatdrop] [sweatdrop] How to repay that amount in 2 years? Young and stupid [shakehead]

$110K can be better spent elsewhere... Property, cars & many many romantic honeymoons!!!

Exactly. They wouldn't be in this state now if they had more brains than face.

$110k?!! [sweatdrop] [sweatdrop] How to repay that amount in 2 years? Young and stupid [shakehead]

ha ha.. maybe they are confidence in convincing their parents to help them to pay after 2 yrs..

*gosh* ...

ha ha.. maybe they are confidence in convincing their parents to help them to pay after 2 yrs..

*gosh* ...

If parents are rich then ok lor. if not how? Parents sell house and help pay? [sweatdrop] Unfilial leh

Oh yeah. Remind me never to take financial advice from these 2 planners. Plan to fail! [shakehead]

tink quite SOP nowadays. everytime at orchard, i see so many youngsters in shorts n slippers buying stuff from LV and Gucci. -_-

i feel so poor hv to go to OG to buy Goldlion wallet - and onli when they hv 20% off sale. [bigcry]

tink quite SOP nowadays. everytime at orchard, i see so many youngsters in shorts n slippers buying stuff from LV and Gucci. -_-

i feel so poor hv to go to OG to buy Goldlion wallet - and onli when they hv 20% off sale. [bigcry]

this has nothing to do with poor, it is matter of age and taste [laugh][laugh]

i buy wallet from taobao

good and cheap [thumbsup]

http://detail.tmall.com/item.htm?spm=a1z10.5.w4011-3206809982.76.n2tmk7&id=20153399048&rn=ff135777d6e6723a400fd5dae56fd8ee