PTC announces fare review/increase!

Darthrevan

Help the poor? Help the disabled? Help NS boy? Hahahah

Help financially ailing bus companies!!!! Hahahahaha

Not i say one ah

Is Poh zua people say one

http://m.todayonline.com//singapore/financially-ailing-bus-sector-benefit-more-fare-hikes

singapore

‘Financially ailing’ bus sector to benefit more from fare hikes

mail

View all 1 comments

PUBLISHED: 17 JANUARY, 4:03 AM

SINGAPORE — More revenue from the transport fare hike will be channelled towards public bus operations than those of MRT trains — a move in line with the Fare Review Mechanism Committee’s recommendation to allow more fare revenue to benefit the “financially ailing” bus sector, said the Public Transport Council (PTC) yesterday.

Bus operations will receive a S$48 million boost from the hike, while S$5.5 million will be allocated to MRT operations, under a new weightage in revenue allocation applied by the PTC.

With the 3.2 per cent fare rise, SBS Transit and SMRT will see an annual increase in revenue of S$36 million and S$17.5 million respectively.

The revenue gains exclude the money to be set aside by operators for the Public Transport Fund, aimed at helping needy commuters cope with fare hikes. After considering operators’ financial situation, the PTC decided that SMRT and SBS Transit should contribute 25 per cent (S$4.3 million) and 20 per cent (S$7.2 million) of the increased fare revenue respectively.

Both operators had applied for the full fare hike of 6.6 per cent allowed under the fare-adjustment formula, citing losses in their bus business for the past few years.

SMRT informed the PTC of a 29 per cent rise in its operating costs in the areas of manpower, energy and repairs and maintenance. SMRT’s profit in the train business was also weighed down by rising costs, maintaining the ageing MRT network and expenditure on mid-life refurbishment.

SBS Transit cited declining financial performance in the rail sector due to rising costs for the North-East Line and start-up costs for the Downtown Line. In response to the PTC’s announcements yesterday, SBS Transit CEO Gan Juay Kiat said operating costs have risen significantly in the last three years and the latest fare increase would help alleviate some of these cost pressures.

“While we have tried to mitigate this increase with productivity improvements, costs such as (those relating to) manpower, repairs and maintenance have continued to rise,” said Mr Gan.

SMRT, meanwhile, said the council has attempted to strike a balance between maintaining public affordability and helping to manage increased operational costs. Xue Jianyue

Around the world

7 Celebrities Who Look like Other Celebrities - See It to Believe It (All Women Stalk)

Michael Schumacher’s Condition ‘Critical’ As Investigation Focuses On Helmet Camera (Inquisitr)

Top 10 neighbourhood secondary schools in Singapore (The Asian Parent)

Recommended by

Related news

SINGAPORE

Fare review: SMRT, SBS Transit respond to fare hike announcement

15 HOURS 23 MIN AGO

SINGAPORE

SMRT, SBS Transit submit applications to raise fares

4 WEEKS 6 HOURS AGO

SINGAPORE

SMRT, SBS Transit submit application to raise fares

4 WEEKS 17 HOURS AGO

the most

singapore

readcommented

Singapore

Two Citibank employees in Singapore infected...

Singapore

PM Lee opens Lucasfilm’s Sandcrawler building

Singapore

Fare review: Bus, train fares to increase by 3...

Singapore

Fare review: Almost 500,000 commuters to...

Singapore

City Harvest leaders back in court this morning

Inside Today

BUSINESS

Singapore exports bounce back in December

More flights to Auckland as SIA ties up with Air NZ

Malaysian bank RHB eyes rapid growth in Singapore

Lucasfilm boost for S’pore with state-of-the-art facility

Are 60-year leasehold residences here to stay?

WORLD

Man executed in US took 25 minutes to die

French first lady denies reports the President has dumped her

Asiana crash: Rescuers saw teen before she was run over

Vatican grilled by UN over sexual abuse ‘cover-up’

US 'snooped on 200 million SMS a day from around the world'

SPORTS

Packed with firepower upfront

Netball good enough for Olympics: Plummer

Lim’s Valencia offer in limbo

It’s strictly business for Fandi

Fears rise over Schumacher’s condition

ENTERTAINMENT

Wonderland (Daphne Khoo) | 4/5

Morphosis (Ming Bridges) | 3/5

Getting it right

5 questions with Joey Mead King

Raging past

About TODAY

Get apps

Email news alert

RSS feeds

Sitemap

Syndication

Contact Us

Advertise with Us

Terms & Conditions

About MediaCorp

Copyright ©2012 MediaCorp Press Ltd. All Rights Reserved

some commuters will be interviewed in tonight's news saying that increase is very little

they are very happy with the improvements in quality of public transportation despite the increase

radio keep blasting those interviews... sibeh brain washing leh..

Of coz lah... Do u think those negative interviews will ever get aired...

Hope to see 1 tat actually slip pass the censor by agreeing but with the real underlining msg hidden under

How come no one notice why they want to make cheaper monthly concession but charge more per trip?? [sly]

Sure got more break down and what not liao. Afterall, you already paid for monthly concession right?

damn bloody good business idea..

Anyone know what's the new charges per short trip - now is 73 cents.

I hunt high and low also cannot see.

for cash payment is 73 cents, will increase by 10 to 20 cents, so should be 83 cents start.

The best way to "help" the poor is by not raising the darned fares..

Their way of "helping" the poor is to eliminate them totally. Then country will proudly report everyone very rich!

I feel the unlimited travel pass at $120 is quite reasonable. 1 visit to the petrol station I am alrdy paying $120 liao.

If I'm not driving, I will definitely get it. No need keep topping up and can take all you want with transport costs capped at fixed $120. But must resist taking taxi lah.

• Dislike 1

how to know the child is seven years and under??

Yalor.....how to proof the child is under 7 yo.... [sweatdrop]

Why can't these public transport be nationalised? After all, they are public goods and everyone needs it. Since we have privatised these public transport, things have not got better (they justified going private for more competition and so boost efficiency) and in fact SMRT and SBS are all monopolies in their areas served. So no cross competition and no need to be more efficient. The trains have been breaking down more often now, more people are packed into the trains and buses , and we even need to spend $1.1 billion of the people's money to help out private companies?? so why are we still letting SMRT and SBS keep doing these shitty stuff to us? Do we not have enough public talent to run these transport services? Or we don't want to? Bec of more money making opportunities for some people? Things may not get better if the govt ran the trains and buses, but at least it won't get as bad as it is now.... Please help me out to understand... Thanks...

if nationalize, garment need to explain, very mafan.

now that its privatize, garment need no explanation as they cant intervene. Win liao lor.....

How come no one notice why they want to make cheaper monthly concession but charge more per trip?? [sly]

Sure got more break down and what not liao. Afterall, you already paid for monthly concession right?

damn bloody good business idea..

With the usage from card transaction, they already have all the statistics.

It used to cost $190 for the monthly concession, how many actually fully utilise the $190 at all?

I'm using the Park & Ride scheme, $30 for parking and another $40 for train/bus rides. I can't even finish this $40 even though I travel 20/22 days.

And at $120, I doubt many people will even be able to hit this amount. Before coming up at $120, they already have a baseline. Why not $100?

Just like Telcos reducing the data bundle from 12GB to 3GB. Do you think their real intention is to get bandwidth hogs off the network? similiarly, the Telcos already have all the statistics. Why don't reduce to 10GB but such a drastic cut? Coz majority of the people are unlikely to exceed 10GB, but there's a possibility of many exceeding 2/3GB.

Yalor.....how to proof the child is under 7 yo.... [sweatdrop]

Argue with the AT bus driver and hold off the bus from moving off for an hour.

But you incur more electricity and outgoing call charges.

How much more electricity can you use by working at home? I doubt much because everybody will be using the computer. Even if you power on the PC for 24/7, it will probably be around $50. My home phone is unlimited outgoing calls anyway so that isn't going to add to the cost.

Additional includes your fans or aircon.

Then if you decided to switch on your tv or radio.

All these adds up.

Phone will depend on individual. I wouldn't be calling my vendors or suppliers with my home number, at least I can get some peace if I switched off my mobile.

but i no self-discipline, end up watching porn at home.... [sweatdrop]

Then find a home-based job that relates to porn, eg. write an review on a porn movie, etc. [:p]