Singapore workers unhappiest in Asia Pacific

Darthrevan

16695314_0.JPG?itok=YVFpDqyG

Workers in Singapore are the unhappiest in Asia Pacific and nearly two-thirds would like to quit their jobs in the next year, a survey by recruiting firm Randstad showed today (Jan 22).
The top three reasons identified by the report as the cause of job dissatisfaction include misalignment with the company culture, having a difficult boss and being asked to do more in their role with less.
The survey also found that 23 per cent of Singapore employees feel unmotivated in their jobs and say that their skills are not being used effectively.
Randstad’s World of Work Report surveyed 14,000 employers and professionals across Asia Pacific countries such as Singapore, Malaysia, China, Hong Kong and India.
Indian workers emerged as the happiest employees with seven in ten satisfied at work, saying they feel challenged, motivated and are mentored to learn new skills.
Mr Michael Smith, Country Director of Randstad Singapore, said that the findings send a strong signal to organisations in Singapore that more needs to be done to engage current and prospective talent.
He also warned against the decline in employee engagement in Singapore over the last 12 months as “cost-conscious employers cut back on company events and forums”.
“While these seem like easy targets for cost-cutting, forgoing opportunities to connect with employees and listen to their feedback comes at a high price — impacting productivity, retention and an organisations reputation,” Mr Smith added.
“The strong reputation of an employer brand is cited as the single biggest reason (54 per cent) for an organisation’s success in attracting talent.”
Findings from the World of Work Report also showed that Singaporean employees are placing more importance on achieving work life balance, with the percentage of employees ranking it as one of the main reasons to stay with their organisation jumping from 15 per cent in 2012 to 50 per cent last year.
Nonetheless, Singapore workers may look forward to a more positive working experience as business leaders surveyed said they are ready to respond, with two thirds (67 per cent) of them planning to strengthen employee engagement and collaboration in the next five years to improve productivity.
“There is no magic equation for retention, but having career development opportunities readily available is a great start. Good opportunities for career growth and advancement — or lack of — are repeatedly cited as the key reason employees will remain loyal to their current organisation or leave to develop their career elsewhere,” said Mr Smith.

How to be happy when you know one day you MAY only retire at 80 years old

[lipsrsealed]

haiz. sad but true.

sg is a good place to live. but bad place to retire.

but the question remains. Why is there a mandatory retirement age in the first place?

ppl earn enough they retire.

They dont have enough so they continue to work.

why force a arbitrary number on us for retirement?

Pay no raise sure not happy lor

Even got pay raise mrt fare also raise

So when we will be happy? Tell me la

My pay increase for the past 2 years is always less than inflation.

So u belong to the unhappy one? [grin]

Can afford to surf forums, sure happy!! Only when can't afford a roof and 3 meals a day, eg living in poor 3rd world countries, then it's good reason to be unhappy. Not I say one, but our leaders!!!

Workers in Singapore are the unhappiest in Asia Pacific and nearly two-thirds would like to quit their jobs in the next year, a survey by recruiting firm Randstad showed today (Jan 22).

The top three reasons identified by the report as the cause of job dissatisfaction include misalignment with the company culture, having a difficult boss and being asked to do more in their role with less

They cannot get use to life in Singapore lah.

So some may quit and return home, will the organisation reduce headcount? Then those remaining have more to do?

[lipsrsealed]

or when 1 is dead. Whichever comes later...

So I'm not the only 1 who values work life balance. 50%.

Now they say 15-20% increase.....sounds to good? Scully just a couple of days b4 LNY, gst 10%. Just like last year the stunt b4 LNY was 6.9 million. Then use the festive period to huat & wash off bad sentiments....

Pay no raise sure not happy lor

Even got pay raise mrt fare also raise

So when we will be happy? Tell me la

Pay increase 20%, work increase 40% good deal boh ?

Edited by Baal

I had colleagues who left this year before pay adjustment (expected around 20% up).. Went to competitor work and pay increase 70%...

wah, which industry and what type of position ah? 20% up i happy already. 70% likely in my day dreams.

[lipsrsealed]

that is provided you are not retrenched at your 40s and got replaced by some cheaper younger FT, and have early retirement......

How to be happy when or if 'they' approve the withdrawer of CPF from 55 to 70 .... [:(][:(]

You and me passed over already, is for those who were born from 1959 onwards [knife][dead]

waliao..... Not me har! I bery happy....got nice (sweet n pretty) colleagues, 8-5, no need ot (cannot claim), do work meant for higher ranking, lunch on the dot and best of all......can work until 70 (confirmed..want or dont want oni.....boss will decide) Who not happy? After 70 gorment gibe back my money slowly! I am satisfied!