Cancer cases on the rise in Singapore

Darthrevan

I have to respectfully disagree with this statement. There are so many reports on this topic that I don't even know how to quote.

Some people smoking for more than 10yrs still fine n healthy

True. In fact a majority of smokers would be able to live until old age. However, some percentage of people will not be able to ownself repair ownself's lung, and their DNA will mutate. Most people who kena lung cancer will die because they are always diagnosed in later stages.

We can agree to disagree on this. For me, I will choose not to smoke so as to reduce my own risk of lung cancer, NPC, heart disease and stroke.  

True. In fact a majority of smokers would be able to live until old age. However, some percentage of people will not be able to ownself repair ownself's lung, and their DNA will mutate. Most people who kena lung cancer will die because they are always diagnosed in later stages.

We can agree to disagree on this. For me, I will choose not to smoke so as to reduce my own risk of lung cancer, NPC, heart disease and stroke.

Never heard of lung can repair itself

Cancer is not scary but the cost of treating is... Chemo, operations, drugs etc... are very costly... peasants like myself can't afford to spend going in and out of hospital...

So start planning and buy insurance, ride on the MediLife, get yourself and family covered... cancer may be curable in future but it is still NOT GOING TO BE CHEAP

Don't overlook the deductibles, cancer treatment is long-term process... even the smallest amount can kill you before the cancer is cured... Oops having said that, I guess all MCFers are either rich, super rich or filthy rich so forget about what I say...  :XD:

Joke aside, you only live once make it counts...

Disclaimer: I'm not in the insurance industry, and no I'm not from CPF.

Cancer is not scary but the cost of treating is... Chemo, operations, drugs etc... are very costly... peasants like myself can't afford to spend going in and out of hospital...

So start planning and buy insurance, ride on the MediLife, get yourself and family covered... cancer may be curable in future but it is still NOT GOING TO BE CHEAP

Don't overlook the deductibles, cancer treatment is long-term process... even the smallest amount can kill you before the cancer is cured... Oops having said that, I guess all MCFers are either rich, super rich or filthy rich so forget about what I say...  :XD:

well said bro.  And go to my medishield thread.  Nos shd be better as most on MEdishield LIFE

1 injection can cost you $2000 per pop

But cancer, if it's not surgical, and no hospitalisation, cannot claim insurance. Only use CPF medisafe.

Edited by Ender

But cancer, is it's not surgical, and no hospitalisation, cannot claim insurance. Only use CPF medisafe.

go google medishield PLUS here in mcf.

anyway my opin is this

Once you are struck with the illness, do weigh out the overall cost and QOL(Quality of Life) that you might go thru:

1.  QOL may be challenged considering that you will be weakened with TX and all.  IT may make your days ahead even gloomier.  How much longer are you actually buying?  If you need time, then get the neccessary treatment done, but its all about buying time!

2.  Rethink what your priorities in life are.  WE all go sometime and better that you know you are going and to plan for your journey ahead and make full of what time you have left, aka a bucket list.

3.  Depending on the stage of cancer youre at, you should think, discuss and discern what may be the best option. Good time to take stock of the life at that stage and what else is left to achieve and to pass on.

Personally, if I were diagnosed, life will go on.  I will NOT seek Tx nor medication and take my illness as just one of those things.  It is better that I know I am going to go, (date undetermined) so that whatever I do from thence on, would be focussed to  lighten the burden of those around me and thus, lessen the grieving process.

Our time is determined already.  Think about it, MR Poon never thot that he would lose his wife and daughter like that.  That is really the worse and the grieving will last a long time.  Thus, if you know you have cancer, I take it as a blessing that you know where you are headed.

Most of the time, we treat cos we have baggage behind OR we as the carere think of our own selfish needs.  Never about thinking WHAT THE PATIENT wants.  We should let go more

Peace all

For me, if i'm down with cancer I will choose to live my life with a smile till the end of my given time. I will not choose chemo though may consider going for operations cos my time had been "cut short" meaning I have to do more useful "projects" during the "extended" period. Everyone has a purpose in this world, be it good, bad or ugly... once you're done you return to the place you came from... having terminal illness doesn't mean the end to me, it just means that my timeline has been shorten to hasten the process of me completing the task assigned. I dun fear death, but if I'm just waiting for it to happen now that's scary...

Cancer is definitely on the rise with the continuous pollution, unknown materials used for food (e.g. gutter oil, "plastic", "man-made" rice). Anything and everything can increase the risk of cancer unless we live in incubators, eating organic food and drinking distilled water. Hmmm... sounds like a "lab-rat"... lol  :XD:

For me, if i'm down with cancer I will choose to live my life with a smile till the end of my given time. I will not choose chemo though may consider going for operations cos my time had been "cut short" meaning I have to do more useful "projects" during the "extended" period. Everyone has a purpose in this world, be it good, bad or ugly... once you're done you return to the place you came from... having terminal illness doesn't mean the end to me, it just means that my timeline has been shorten to hasten the process of me completing the task assigned. I dun fear death, but if I'm just waiting for it to happen now that's scary...

Cancer is definitely on the rise with the continuous pollution, unknown materials used for food (e.g. gutter oil, "plastic", "man-made" rice). Anything and everything can increase the risk of cancer unless we live in incubators, eating organic food and drinking distilled water. Hmmm... sounds like a "lab-rat"... lol  :XD:

as from my other thread, when you think about your death and know you are mortal, you are much happier.  Good on you bro!

PEace [angel]

http://www.mycarforum.com/topic/2701283-to-be-happy-start-thinking-about-death/page-3?do=findComment&comment=5702101

I'm not kidding, I was given a wrong headsup by a GP.

After a long period of persistent cough, GP ordered an xray. White patch were seen on my lung. The the GP kan cheong say is serious, could be lung cancer. immediately got me an appointment with the specialist on the same day. 

While taking a train to the specialist, my world  crashed.  I was still in my 30's, my son was only 2 years old, my dear wife, many things I plants with my son, these are thoughts flashing repeatly in my mind.

If you ask me if I can take these type of news with a light heart, takin it easy. I don't think so, til I finish what I need to do for my children.

The good thing after this is  I'm a fitness freak,  my life belongs to my wife, son and now my daughter. 

And the specialist immediate diagnosis from the X-ray.. Pneumonia, Hospitalized for the next one week.

Edited by Ender

I'm not kidding, I was given a wrong headsup by a GP.

After a long period of persistent cough, GP ordered an xray. White patch were seen on my lung. The the GP kan cheong say is serious, could be lung cancer. immediately got me an appointment with the specialist on the same day. 

While taking a train to the specialist, my world  crashed.  I was still in my 30's, my son was only 2 years old, my dear wife, many things I plants with my son, these are thoughts flashing repeatly in my mind.

If you ask me if I can take these type of news with a light heart, takin it easy. I don't think so, til I finish what I need to do for my children.

The good thing after this is  I'm a fitness freak,  my life belongs to my wife, son and now my daughter. 

And the specialist immediate diagnosis from the X-ray.. Pneumonia, Hospitalized for the next one week.

Shouldn't the X ray be interpreted by a radiologist first? They can tell what is the white patch in the X ray.

Otherwise, it is quite standard for the GP to order you go X ray for persistent cough, and SOP for them to refer you to specialist asap if anything arise from the X ray.

Edited by Weez911

Shouldn't the X ray be interpreted by a radiologist first? They can tell what is the white patch in the X ray.

Otherwise, it is quite standard that the GP ordered you for X ray for persistent cough, and SOP for them to refer you to specialist asap if anything arise from the X ray.

Yes, can't recall the exact report. But the GP interpret it as serious and warn me this could be lung cancer.

Specialist look at the xray, commented the radiologist could be inexperienced.

Edited by Ender

When my dad was diagnosed with cancer, he said he wanted to fight, despite it being stage 3.

He gained almost close to 2 years but the last 6 mths was just straight downhill.

Almost at the end he said he was in so much pain that he told me he wished he was dead. "Let me die" was the exact words.

In the family pt of view, we're glad and thankful that he fought and we got to have more time with him.

But the cost was his suffering for the last lap in his life...so issit worth it?

If i kanna i also dunno what to do ....fight or not. of cos if got chance then fight to the end la...but if stage 3 or 4.... is there any point?

Yes, can't recall the exact report. But the GP interpret it as serious.

that is why they sent you to a specialist.  He said 'could' and not 'definitely'.  

Possible lingo used are:

'Faint lesion would need further investigation to rule out any other posibilities such as small cell carcinoma'

Its how you read and interpret from it

Although in the patient's mind, they think the worst.  These manifestations on X-ray all look the same and need further invx to determine the exact nature of the lesion.

When my dad was diagnosed with cancer, he said he wanted to fight, despite it being stage 3.

He gained almost close to 2 years but the last 6 mths was just straight downhill.

Almost at the end he said he was in so much pain that he told me he wished he was dead. "Let me die" was the exact words.

In the family pt of view, we're glad and thankful that he fought and we got to have more time with him.

But the cost was his suffering for the last lap in his life...so issit worth it?

If i kanna i also dunno what to do ....fight or not. of cos if got chance then fight to the end la...but if stage 3 or 4.... is there any point?

that's a judgement call that you would need to face when the time is due.  As long as you are able to, you should be empowered to make your decisions

Even money is no issue, going through chemo is something I won't want to go through.

I agree with most of the comments here to just maximize the remaining days and accept the inevitable cos I also think along the same lines. 

That said, I've heard of cases where cancer sufferers with their positive thinking, strong will power and fighting spirit have managed to overcome "the inevitability". So it's kind of tough either way.

On one hand, the acceptance of fate, not wanting to burden your loved ones and easing the grieving process is all well and good but on the other had, the saying "if there's a will there's a way" does ring true at times. Wha life very tough hor..........

compared to our forefathers who braved through hardships and wars in the yesteryears, modern younger generations today are too fortunate and have too few setbacks.

look at their wealth and lavished lifestyle, modern technological gadgets, cars, holidays, modern houses...they need more setbacks..something has to be sacrificed

as GDP increases annually, incidence of cancer will rise proportionally...there ought to be a trade-off..

this is a fair world..modern generations in singapore cannot complain..they have to be contented...even if cancer befalls..it's heaven's will that they have to surmount this hurdle..in exchange for their economic gain

Edited by Tomasky