Hundreds of dead fish found in Bishan-Ang Mo Kio park river

Darthrevan

sjc02fish25e.jpg

sjc05fish25e.jpg

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FGGhgoiSna0

Hundreds of dead fish have been found floating in the river at Bishan-Ang Mo Kio Park, causing a lingering stench in the area.
When The Straits Times visited the park on Wednesday morning, at least 300 white-coloured fish about a foot long each were seen floating on a 200m stretch of the river close to Bishan Road. Many were decomposing under the hot sun.
Cleaners were seen wading through the river gathering the fish.
Residents said that they spotted the dead fish at about noon on Tuesday. Many long-time residents said this was the first time they had ever witnessed mass fish deaths in Bishan-Ang Mo Kio Park.

sjc02fish25e.jpg

sjc05fish25e.jpg

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FGGhgoiSna0

Hundreds of dead fish have been found floating in the river at Bishan-Ang Mo Kio Park, causing a lingering stench in the area.

When The Straits Times visited the park on Wednesday morning, at least 300 white-coloured fish about a foot long each were seen floating on a 200m stretch of the river close to Bishan Road. Many were decomposing under the hot sun.

Cleaners were seen wading through the river gathering the fish.

Residents said that they spotted the dead fish at about noon on Tuesday. Many long-time residents said this was the first time they had ever witnessed mass fish deaths in Bishan-Ang Mo Kio Park.

Source: http://stprdfeeds.straitstimes.com/breaking-news/singapore/story/hundreds-dead-fish-found-bishan-ang-mo-kio-park-river-20140205

It happened back in the 70s while i was living in a kampung in what now is Defu lane. The big lonkang was suddenly filled with fish gasping for air. Roughly about an hour later all were dead. No one kniws the reason but none dared to bring the fish home and cook it for dinner!

"at least 300 white-coloured fish about a foot long each were seen floating on a 200m stretch "

Grey fish will turn white when dead?

Or due to fungus disease?

Or due to toxic water?

a foot long is quite big .... is the reporter accurate.

I didn't know that shallow longkang got so many big fishes.

old longkang not like those u found now...but the fishes not big ones lar....but so many on the surface is quite a sight....we didnt count but maybe a few hundred. Old longkang have more life......not like those u find now with concrete as base. We used to catch those longkang fish and eels....the eels i oni eat ones...yulk!

hmmm. Too coincident as there were some deaths of dolphins recently elsewhere. I think a major calamity, natural disaster is upon us soon. Animals have that keen inclination to sense any disaster weeks before and react with death, stress induced....

let's see

http://www.weather.com/news/science/nature/400-dead-dolphins-washed-peru-beaches-20140203

This has been a pretty consistent pattern of late frm the recent massive disasters and i noted such incidents of mammalian or other species reacting with death shortly before any disaster.

hmmm. Too coincident as there were some deaths of dolphins recently elsewhere. I think a major calamity, natural disaster is upon us soon. Animals have that keen inclination to sense any disaster weeks before and react with death, stress induced....

let's see

http://www.weather.com/news/science/nature/400-dead-dolphins-washed-peru-beaches-20140203

This has been a pretty consistent pattern of late frm the recent massive disasters and i noted such incidents of mammalian or other species reacting with death shortly before any disaster.

You are right. Something big is gonna happen soon. This is quite worrying. [:/]

Think the recent hot sun causes the oxygen in the pond to be insufficient for the amount of fishes in the park.

Going by the clear water shown in the photo, badly oxygenated water is unlikely.

You are right. Something big is gonna happen soon. This is quite worrying. [:/]

It might be this reason elsewhere, but I don't think it's the same here.. This is in an enclosed pond.

Like the other bro mentioned above, might be the sun causing a surge in some organism fighting for air with the fish.

If I'm not wrong this happened in sg before.. In some kelong farm or something.

I was there just last evening.

In fact, on the bridge in the picture.

Din see all these dead fishes.

Side track abit, the restaurant there, Grub Bistro is pretty good.

Prices also very reasonable.

They serve American style food like burgers and hotdog. Per item about $15.

let's see

Funy, it seems every forum i go to, regardless of country or topic, will have someone say this.

The general sentiment is that some big disaster will happen in Mar, either financial or natural (2012 is 2 years late).

what the hell. I'll join the party [sly] .... here's the financial alarm

- Three bankers "committing suicide" within a week

- Matt Drudge's tweet saying "Have an exit plan" last week

- HSBC recently imposed restrictions on large cash withdrawals

- Two weeks ago we saw the largest historical withdrawal from the JP Morgan gold vault

- The UK's royal mint completely sold out of gold coins in the first week of 2014

- The US mint hit an all-time record high in silver coin sales the first week of 2014

- Investors pulled $72 trillion out of the bond markets last year, this has never been seen before

for the natural one, i'm going with the object spotted on the moon last year that led to countries scrambling their moon rovers to check it out, even China with a half-built one.

edit: make that 4 bankers http://rt.com/business/russell-investments-chief-economist-dead-564/

Edited by Karoon

sign...probably someone passing soon.

I heard that park was reserved upon the advice from someone to someone.... [lipsrsealed]

Edited by Baal

let's see

You never mention Pope released 2 peace doves were killed by the 2 bigger birdies [:/]

Mai kia tua kia suay lah, ka tan kia tio bo ta lan ker tiao arm jiu charm liao [dead]

Just now news got a girl being interviewed say strange that only this particular type of fish died, other fishes are surviving.

Any fish experts here know the possible reasons?