ST Forum: Left in the lurch after traffic accident

Vulcann

Left in the lurch after traffic accident
Published on Feb 07, 2014
ABOUT one-and-a-half years ago, my husband's car was hit by another car coming out of a side road.

The other driver was apologetic and admitted culpability in writing.

We duly made a report to our insurance company and had our vehicle repaired.

However, we later discovered that the other driver had not reported the accident to his insurer, NTUC Income.

As a result, we were unable to proceed to claim from his insurance.

Recently, the workshop told us that NTUC Income had denied our claim and repudiated all liability, as the other driver did not make a report.

This was despite the evidence - the signed letter from the driver admitting his fault, and footage from our car video camera.

The General Insurance Association told me my only recourse was to sue the other driver.

Despite doing everything by the book, we now find ourselves facing the possibility of having to pay for repairs resulting from an accident caused by someone else, with no other recourse except to pursue a potentially costly civil lawsuit against him.

Is it ethical and legal for insurers to simply deny claims and repudiate liability just because the client did not make a report?

Can the Traffic Police or other relevant authorities comment on this?

Tok Laytin (Madam)

(Source: http://www.straitstimes.com/premium/forum-letters/story/left-the-lurch-after-traffic-accident-20140207 )

Damn... Like that also can huh?... Then whenever I'm the wrong party in any accident I will just act blur and don't report lor....

Now, no need jam brake for others to rear end me, just go bang their ride and don't report lor.Hahaha... This law I like....ntuc, u rocks..!!! Lol..

Damn... Like that also can huh?... Then whenever I'm the wrong party in any accident I will just act blur and don't report lor....

Now, no need jam brake for others to rear end me, just go bang their ride and don't report lor.Hahaha... This law I like....ntuc, u rocks..!!! Lol..

If it is like that & both the insurance & GIA also shrug shoulder say bo bian then gui kee mai buay insurance liao lo [furious]

Wait for Aunty Lucy's response see how...

If it is like that & both the insurance & GIA also shrug shoulder say bo bian then gui kee mai buay insurance liao lo [furious]

Wait for Aunty Lucy's response see how...

If she had a Comprehensive policy, she could have claimed under her own policy but she chose to claim Third Party.

• Dislike 2

if insurance coy have this type of TnC, can consumers like us have the options of not buying insurance for our rides?

our govt should look into this and set some guidelines for both insurance coy and consumers.

If she had a Comprehensive policy, she could have claimed under her own policy but she chose to claim Third Party.

She still has to pay the excess and her NCD may be affected. Bad deal for her for someone's mistake.

Worst thing is, its NTUC. With their associations, they have an obligation to set an example for other insurers to follow.

Anyway, I heard that NTUC is the only labour union in the world to be sued by its own employees ?

our car insurance policy have lot of lop holes and the government don't care..... so wat is the point of buying car insurance?? when you can claim the other party??

Our car insurances are one of the highest in the world and yet this happen....

always buy the cheapest just to comply with the law. No choice.

Could be their w/s not very pro in handling 3rd party claim.

Those very pro one could have been resolved now.

W/S should have chased after the other party's insurer until the other party file a report before proceeding to repair.

In this instance, it looks like they proceeded without informing the other party insurer's representative to come down for survey?

Left in the lurch after traffic accident

Published on Feb 07, 2014
ABOUT one-and-a-half years ago, my husband's car was hit by another car coming out of a side road.

The other driver was apologetic and admitted culpability in writing.

We duly made a report to our insurance company and had our vehicle repaired.

However, we later discovered that the other driver had not reported the accident to his insurer, NTUC Income.

As a result, we were unable to proceed to claim from his insurance.

Recently, the workshop told us that NTUC Income had denied our claim and repudiated all liability, as the other driver did not make a report.

This was despite the evidence - the signed letter from the driver admitting his fault, and footage from our car video camera.

The General Insurance Association told me my only recourse was to sue the other driver.

Despite doing everything by the book, we now find ourselves facing the possibility of having to pay for repairs resulting from an accident caused by someone else, with no other recourse except to pursue a potentially costly civil lawsuit against him.

Is it ethical and legal for insurers to simply deny claims and repudiate liability just because the client did not make a report?

Can the Traffic Police or other relevant authorities comment on this?

Tok Laytin (Madam)

(Source: http://www.straitstimes.com/premium/forum-letters/story/left-the-lurch-after-traffic-accident-20140207 )

Edited by Kangadrool

I don't blame her husband (not her) for doing so. If the other party is in the wrong, of course claim 3P.

Yup. Who in their right mind would want to claim own insurance in such instance?

Like this case on how it unfolds, the other party didn't report, then how? It will be ultimately a claim record under the insured = loose NCD + high loading for years thereafter.

If she has overwhelming evidence against the other party, might as well go legal recourse. No choice because must whack the other party where it hurts the most.

Actually the other party that failed to report should not be allowed to renew his insurance, and thus now unable to drive.

Was his insurer informed of the accident in the first place? I think the workshop or the aggrieved party's insurer should have done that.

If she has overwhelming evidence against the other party, might as well go legal recourse. No choice because must whack the other party where it hurts the most.

Yup, I think that's the reply she will get. Authorities will just throw the problem back at you, telling you that you have this option as a solution.

Now whether it is expensive to go the legal way and worthwhile or not, is left up to the individual to decide. IMHO, most of the time, surely end up losing money even if win the case... And then make an enemy as well (the other party).

Happened to me before:

A pick-up forget to pull hand brake when park and it slide down and hit my car front bumper. It was around 11pm and I wait till 1am the driver never appear. Leave my contact no. on the van windscreen but the driver never call back. Made police and insurance report.

When ask whether can claim the pick-up for repair at my insurance co. and ws both say cannot because the driver did not make accident report. If not wrong the pick-up insurance co. is Tokio.. LLST lor

Edited by Si4dr

Actually the other party that failed to report should not be allowed to renew his insurance, and thus now unable to drive.

Was his insurer informed of the accident in the first place? I think the workshop or the aggrieved party's insurer should have done that.

Yup, I think that's the reply she will get. Authorities will just throw the problem back at you, telling you that you have this option as a solution.

Now whether it is expensive to go the legal way and worthwhile or not, is left up to the individual to decide. IMHO, most of the time, surely end up losing money even if win the case... And then make an enemy as well (the other party).

The other party did not report because it will affect his NCD. Very straightforward. Whether making an enemy or not is not the point. That's not even an acquaintance in the first place. A legal case is expensive when the other party rejects your claim and follow through with the case. If the other party thinks there is no case to fight, it will end pretty quickly.