The Ultimate Tyres Buying Guide

tudorpapa

Thinking of buying new tyres? I list out some of the popular tyres that i personally have tried or tried (from my fren's cars).

Tyres are major investment, buying a tyres that doesn't suit your car and your driving style will be like have a beautiful girlfriend that always wear oversize t-shirt and jeans. You need to wait for it to wear off or a sudden tyre puncture before getting a new set. It may be a drag till then.

And let be honest. tyres shop owner are like used car dealer. They will always push you with the best profit margin ones or the ones that gonna reach the 1 year mark from manufacturing. And buying tyres now have so many variety and some are even from parallel importers.

So how do we know what we are paying for? And what are the popular tyres among the roads?

The simplest solution is to buy the same tyres your car came with, and that's a good option - after all, the engineers designed the suspension to match the OEM rubber. So you can't get wrong with it.

But if you like something more grip, can withstand tyre puncture or much silent tyres, i will start with my recommendation. Bros here are welcome to add in!!!

UHP tyres

Dunlop Direzza Sports Z1

direzza_sport_z1_starspec.jpg

Good thing don't come cheap, cheap thing don't come good but this tyres really mix this equation by abit. At a affordable range, this rubber grip well during the dry weather and the handling is superb. Highly responsive in when turning to make the car smooth in transmission. Highly Recommended!

Run Flat Tyres

Pirelli Cinturato P7 Run Flat

t_picip7.jpg?_ex=128x128

Only for those who boot that have not enough space, wanna save weight for fuel saving, or have no expertise on changing tyres and wanna play save. This is the tyres you should take note.

The engineers in Pirelli have a very vast knowledge in motorsport racing even thou last F1 there is tyre explosion during the race. But they have understudy the racing characteristic and created this green yet performance level tyres. It have fuel saving technology, eco compatible material to make it "green" and longer lasting thread life (which i don't think so.)

But never the least, Handling during the dry and even the wet is impressive. This can be a track tyres in my humble opinion. The only downside might be the noise. But when u are driving at 140km/h, i am sure you will focus in your steering more than the noise it produces...

Super Quiet Tyres

Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 2

goodyear-eagle-FI-asymmetric-2-side-prof

With its latest ActiveBraking Technology, this isn't a gimmick that goodyear come out with. Great response and oother than that. This tyres give you a quite ride. That's all i am gonna say.

Come share your tyres review and best is you got lobang to share lah. Currently still at 16" (:

Your review is a fail on so many levels. Please do adequate research before posting.

There are good tyre shops, there are poor tyre shops. Same as some reviews from forumers here. That's life. Move on.

Here's my take on the 3 main classes of tyres described.

UHP Tyres

Dunlop Direzza ZII Tyres

The ultimate tyre from Dunlop for track use. However, this is just from the Dunlop brand. Do not discount great track tyres from Bridgestone (RE11A), Yokohama (AD08R) etc. Each track driver chooses his or her poison. I have friends testing out many track tyres and every tyre exhibits different characteristics on different circumstances, it would be difficult to point out a clear winner in this field.

Run Flat Tyres

Pirelli P7 Cinturato RFT as a track tyre in your humble opinion? Shit man! People who's rides come stock with P7s mostly can't wait to change out to better wet grip tyres on real street conditions.

P7 Cints are great for the average driver who simply needs a tyre that behaves well when driven within reasonable limits. Granted, P7 Cinturato RFTs last the longest as compared to the competition in its class, usually Continental CSC3 SSRs.

My recommendation for RFTs sincerely depends on what size is available for your car, and whether your car is designed to take RFTs. From my knowledge, Mercedes and Audi mostly do not recommend RFTs, much less Jap/Korea makes, and BMWs come with it stock. To find a size readily available in Singapore, sometimes we are limited by the very few makes such as Bridgestone RE050A, Conti CSC3/5 SSR, Pirelli P7 RFT.

My verdict on mostly BMWs using Run Flat Tyres is to stick back with your stock tyre. P7 RFT and Bridgestone RE050A probably has the better wear rating as compared to the Conti CSC3/5.

Super Quiet Tyres

OMG Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 2 is TOTALLY NOT QUIET on most Japanese/Korean car makes. Even on continental makes with much superior wheel arch soundproofing, the road noise is significant. Compared to the very respectable Continental CSC5, Michelin Primacy 3 and the new Dunlop Sport Maxx RT, these are the ones that should be recommended.

Ultimate in Street Performance, with disregard for major road noise, stick to the Goodyear F1A2 or the Michelin Pilot Super Sport. You can't go wrong with these 2 tyres in terms of performance on wet and dry conditions.

However if you are looking for serious road noise reduction without compromise on wet grip, stick with the Dunlop Sport Maxx RT. These new rubber from Germany are seriously miserly in contribution to cabin road noise.

If you are looking for simply quiet touring tyres, the Michelin Primacy 3 and Continental CSC5 are very safe choices for European makes, and Michelin Energy XM2, Conti PremiumContact 5 and Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance are for the mid range buyers, and rounding off the bottom would be the Nexen NBlue HD, Yokohama Earth1 and the new Bridgestone EP200A tyres, most of which are widely available at tyre shops.

Don't believe everything you read online. Do some research yourself before committing to any tyre. Contrary to popular belief, some tyre shops really can offer you very good advice on your requirements, even if they are pushing a particular brand.

Cheers.

Tayar Queen, why you choose this name huh. Yayar King cannot?

anyway that's not my question here. Th question is....

HOW COME YOU NO HAB STOCK MICHELIN PS3 one?

U go stock PS3 me n my haidees every year will come n buy one set of 4, no horse run one.

Just addon some review on EfficientGrip Performance, 10k mileage start to increase noise, performance remain same on wet and dry.

But if you try to play some on Malaysia kampung cornering like snake, tyre will scream without losing traction. Speed at that moment was 100kmh, of course i do it when there's no opposite traffics.

In my oppinion, EfficientGrip Performance is good value, balance performance/comfort tyre on my car.

Don't compare it will PS3, Assy2, and CSC5 as it was just nearly 2/3 of the price on 225/50/17 PS3.

it pays to get a few quotes:

discovered a price diff of up to $75/tyre when i was shopping for F1A2...

Can share where you eventually get your F1A2?

it pays to get a few quotes:

discovered a price diff of up to $75/tyre when i was shopping for F1A2...

<snip>

However if you are looking for serious road noise reduction without compromise on wet grip, stick with the Dunlop Sport Maxx RT. These new rubber from Germany are seriously miserly in contribution to cabin road noise.

<snip>

Hi, Can you share which rubber did you compare the Sport Maxx RT with? i am looking for 235/45 R18 and is so difficult to find any make them around. i have experienced with Michelin PP2, PS3 and Bridgestone RE050. I found that pp2 is most comfortable of the 3 and the PS3 is as noisy as the RE050.

I have checked online the Euro label and found that the RT stated noise is lower than even the new Primacy 3 and the old HP by 2-3 dB and is very keen to try them out. My current rubber come with the toyota is the Dunlop Sport Maxx 050. I cant fault them but is hoping to get a quieter /more comfortable replacement.

Also which tyre shop will have dunlop? Called a few listed in sgcarmart and only 1 of them carry the RT.

Thanks.

Hi, Can you share which rubber did you compare the Sport Maxx RT with? i am looking for 235/45 R18 and is so difficult to find any make them around. i have experienced with Michelin PP2, PS3 and Bridgestone RE050. I found that pp2 is most comfortable of the 3 and the PS3 is as noisy as the RE050.

I have checked online the Euro label and found that the RT stated noise is lower than even the new Primacy 3 and the old HP by 2-3 dB and is very keen to try them out. My current rubber come with the toyota is the Dunlop Sport Maxx 050. I cant fault them but is hoping to get a quieter /more comfortable replacement.

Also which tyre shop will have dunlop? Called a few listed in sgcarmart and only 1 of them carry the RT.

Thanks.

Just sharing. I went to a shop to do alignment. The mechanic also recommended Dunlop Maxx RT. I was quoted 150 per piece. My size 205/55/16.

Say its very quiet and good grip. But seriously, I find their price slightly higher (other brands, not Dunlop Maxx RT) as compared to other shops

Just sharing. I went to a shop to do alignment. The mechanic also recommended Dunlop Maxx RT. I was quoted 150 per piece. My size 205/55/16.

Say its very quiet and good grip. But seriously, I find their price slightly higher (other brands, not Dunlop Maxx RT) as compared to other shops

thanks. Can you share the name of the tyre shop as well? thanks.

Hi ! We do carry quite a range of PS3, here's a link to the Michelin Tyres in our range at the moment.

Michelin range of tyres (PS3 included)

PS3 are very popular for some sizes, there's 1 or 2 sizes that need to stock up again.

Yes brother, we will stock up more PS3 for you and your brothers. Very good tyre model.0

Hope that we can get great deals for you!

Eric C

U go stock PS3 me n my haidees every year will come n buy one set of 4, no horse run one.

Hi ! We do carry quite a range of PS3, here's a link to the Michelin Tyres in our range at the moment.

Michelin range of tyres (PS3 included)

PS3 are very popular for some sizes, there's 1 or 2 sizes that need to stock up again.

Yes brother, we will stock up more PS3 for you and your brothers. Very good tyre model.0

Hope that we can get great deals for you!

Eric C

Hi Divers and Earthboy,

@Divers: You can find the range of Dunlop (includes Maxx RT) here at Dunlop Tyre Range 205/55 R16 for Divers.

There are also 50+ models of 205/55 R16 here. Hope you find this useful as a reference.

Hi Earthboy, I'm not sure which Tyre Size you are looking for, but this post has a list of tyres and the price range for your reference.
Post for Tyre Size and Price reference.

Thank you everyone, hope you find the reference useful.

thanks. Can you share the name of the tyre shop as well? thanks.

Nitrams,

You have my vote. To even think that Eagle F1 is quiet is already off the mark, to list it as Super Quiet Tyres. I think TS is simply copying and pasting with no idea nor info with the tyre.

tudorpapa,

Stop causing confusion. Don't post what you do not know.

Edited by Tkew

Hi everyone,

I'm currently driving a mid size MPV. Its come with Goodyear Excellence Tyres, size 195/65 R15. Till now, I find it quite a comfort tyre - good grip & not too noisy.

Nevertheless, I'm considering to upsize to 16' rim for better control & grip. It should be a silence performer too. Durability is not my priority though. So far, it seems like Dunlop Sport Maxx RT, Micheline PP2 is recommended. Any comment/ advice would be appreciated. TIA. [drivingcar]

^ not sure if there are still any PP2 in the market. if you do a search here, GR90 is a comfy tyre. the new primacy 3ST sounds like one as well but too new in the market and not much review/feedback in SG. many review around primacy 3 (without ST) in euro website but not sure if they are the same as 3ST. i think they probably are and the ST is just a marketing gimmick