Politicians and Facebook

Darryn

From a time, consistency of posting and "cleverness" of posting issue, as well as the legitimacy of paying someone to do it - which, if any, of our politicians do you think manage their own facebook pages? (note - I am talking PAGES as opposed to PROFILES)

If you are a celebrity, do you think it is ok to pay someone to manage a facebook page for you? If so, does this extend to politicians?

And do you think that "Mr. Selfie" is doing the right thing with the posts he makes that are narcisscistic?

From a time, consistency of posting and "cleverness" of posting issue, as well as the legitimacy of paying someone to do it - which, if any, of our politicians do you think manage their own facebook pages? (note - I am talking PAGES as opposed to PROFILES)

If you are a celebrity, do you think it is ok to pay someone to manage a facebook page for you? If so, does this extend to politicians?

And do you think that "Mr. Selfie" is doing the right thing with the posts he makes that are narcisscistic?

well tin pei ling broke one of the campaigning rules and blamed it on her friend who manages her facebook.

I think a lot of them use help to maintain their facebook. I ever email to indranee (my mp previously) and thereafter when I meet her, I can say for sure she didn't even read my email. if MP got no time to read email, how much time can they allocate for facebook?

Baey seems to be managing his own...

On the other hand - I have seen DPM post as "himself" while he was giving a speech....(which is a poor strategy in my opinion - there is nothing wrong with having your aide help you, but don't try to hide it so much)

Some are active - some hardly post (like Penny Low for instance, her number of posts are low)

Being active on facebook is an ongoing challenge...

well tin pei ling broke one of the campaigning rules and blamed it on her friend who manages her facebook.

I think a lot of them use help to maintain their facebook. I ever email to indranee (my mp previously) and thereafter when I meet her, I can say for sure she didn't even read my email. if MP got no time to read email, how much time can they allocate for facebook?

Baey seems to be managing his own...

On the other hand - I have seen DPM post as "himself" while he was giving a speech....(which is a poor strategy in my opinion - there is nothing wrong with having your aide help you, but don't try to hide it so much)

Some are active - some hardly post (like Penny Low for instance, her number of posts are low)

Being active on facebook is an ongoing challenge...

I am not surprised about baey. he gives me the impression he likes to act cool and this is surely something that helps him achieve that. plus he isn't half as busy as indranee because as we all know, she covers her own constituency and LKY's constituency.

I really think for any MP that is busy, it is ok for them to farm out the job of maintaining their facebook to someone else. facebook account is still a publicity /PR management tool for them, leaving it to the professionals are good as well as freeing up the time for them to do work is good.

not many MPs have personal assistants to do it. it's probably easy to think that once you're a MP you have an army of foot soldiers settling everything for you. that is not true.

while there're indeed over zealous grassroots leaders who chope parking spaces for MPs, do things behind that MP's back that would have made him/her embarrassed if the MP came to know, i don't think many of them are trusted enough to actually run the facebook pages.

I am not surprised about baey. he gives me the impression he likes to act cool and this is surely something that helps him achieve that. plus he isn't half as busy as indranee because as we all know, she covers her own constituency and LKY's constituency.

I really think for any MP that is busy, it is ok for them to farm out the job of maintaining their facebook to someone else. facebook account is still a publicity /PR management tool for them, leaving it to the professionals are good as well as freeing up the time for them to do work is good.

Baey is trying to reach out to the younger generation which FB is a good media.

I am not disputing that but I think he got more than what he bargained for . Younger generation are no more so apathetic and ignorant of politics. anymore.

for example he tried to engage in a debate with some facebookers about the detention without trial of certain hapless chaps and I will say he lost more points then he set out to gain initially.

I am not disputing that but I think he got more than what he bargained for . Younger generation are no more so apathetic and ignorant of politics. anymore.

for example he tried to engage in a debate with some facebookers about the detention without trial of certain hapless chaps and I will say he lost more points then he set out to gain initially.

agreed. FB can be a double edge sword and if one can't manage it properly, one can turn from hero to zero very soon.

we have to remind ourselves constantly that those words we type on FB are permanent and it can be spread very fast like wildfire.

not many MPs have personal assistants to do it. it's probably easy to think that once you're a MP you have an army of foot soldiers settling everything for you. that is not true.

while there're indeed over zealous grassroots leaders who chope parking spaces for MPs, do things behind that MP's back that would have made him/her embarrassed if the MP came to know, i don't think many of them are trusted enough to actually run the facebook pages.

This is a HUGE thing - no matter what, whatever is said on facebook is gonna reflect on you, so you have to be careful and know exactly what is happening...

This is why I use a "content calendar" for my clients - I tell them two weeks in advance what we are going to be posting.

It's more work than people realise to plan it all out properly

This is a HUGE thing - no matter what, whatever is said on facebook is gonna reflect on you, so you have to be careful and know exactly what is happening...

This is why I use a "content calendar" for my clients - I tell them two weeks in advance what we are going to be posting.

It's more work than people realise to plan it all out properly

Darryn,

so you working in a PR/Marketing firm?

Darryn,

so you working in a PR/Marketing firm?

yep....that's why so free to surf MCF all day long - I do content for all sorts of things, from facebook to websites to PR. Recently did a property brochure...also do award submissions...

hmmmm............. so free in office and can do all sort of things.... [sly]

Can help check Punggol Park happening and gave exact location ... [cool]

Wah...

Like that...

Tomorrow headline would be

CAM bashed by wife at Punggol Park....

You want or not?

Wah...

Like that...

Tomorrow headline would be

CAM bashed by wife at Punggol Park....

You want or not?

Bro, practice tartical movement like the Navy Seal, don't get caught by wife ... [sly]

by the way, why youi bring your wife there .... [laugh]

can tell her you doing a project and need to go Punggol Park to recce and woman not allow .. [lipsrsealed]

wah lau yeh................anything new or not???..................which politician got time to manage their own social media???............ang moh..............you ask is like the no ask you know.................. [laugh][laugh][laugh]

Don't just check, check already post on MCF!