Taking upskirt pics is legal

Shull

Only in Massachusetts hor..

(CNN) -- Massachusetts' highest court ruled Wednesday that it is not illegal to secretly photograph underneath a person's clothing -- a practice known as "upskirting" -- prompting one prosecutor to call for a revision of state law.

The high court ruled that the practice did not violate the law because the women who were photographed while riding Boston public transportation were not nude or partially nude.

"A female passenger on a MBTA trolley who is wearing a skirt, dress, or the like covering these parts of her body is not a person who is 'partially nude,' no matter what is or is not underneath the skirt by way of underwear or other clothing," wrote Justice Margot Botsford of the state Supreme Judicial Court.

CNN legal analyst Sunny Hostin said the law has not caught up to technology and called it an assault on a woman's right to privacy.

"I think the courts got it wrong," Hostin said. "The spirit of the law makes it clear it is about the person's privacy."

The ruling stems from the case against Michael Robertson, 32, who was arrested in 2010 and accused of using his cell phone to take pictures and record video up the skirts and dresses of women on the trolley, according to court documents.

Two separate complaints were filed against Robertson with the transit police. Authorities then staged "a decoy operation" to catch Robertson, who was eventually arrested and charged with two counts of attempting to secretly photograph a person in a state of partial nudity. Police observed him point a cell phone video camera up the dress of a female officer, court documents state.

Wednesday's ruling reversed a previous decision by a lower court, which had denied a motion by Robertson seeking the dismissal of the case, said a statement from the Suffolk County district attorney's office.

"In sum, we interpret the phrase, 'a person who is ... partially nude' in the same way that the defendant does, namely, to mean a person who is partially clothed but who has one or more of the private parts of body exposed in plain view at the time that the putative defendant secretly photographs her," the high court ruled.

The ruling that state law "does not apply to photographing (or videotaping or electronically surveilling) persons who are fully clothed and, in particular, does not reach the type of upskirting that the defendant is charged with attempting to accomplish on the MBTA."

Prosecutors had argued that the current statute, which prohibits secretly photographing or videotaping a person who is "nude or partially nude," includes upskirting, according to documents.

But Robertson's lawyers argued that the female passenger on the trolley was not "nude or partially nude" and was not in a place where she had a reasonable expectation of privacy, according to court documents.

"Every person, male or female, has a right to privacy beneath his or her own clothing," Suffolk County District Attorney Daniel Conley said in a statement Wednesday. "If the statute as written doesn't protect that privacy, then I'm urging the Legislature to act rapidly and adjust it so it does."

Robertson's lawyer, Michelle Menken, did not return a phone call seeking comment.

Robertson faced misdemeanor charges punishable by up to two and half years in prison.

CNN's Lawrence Crook III contributed to this report.

Source: http://edition.cnn.com/2014/03/05/us/massachusetts-upskirt-photography/index.html?hpt=hp_t3

I agree. There's no specific law or punishment to this"taking upskirt video". Even in Sgp.

For example the LTA guy....

http://singaporeseen.stomp.com.sg/singaporeseen/this-urban-jungle/ex-lta-engineer-jailed-15-months-for-using-camera-pen-to-take-upskirt-videos

"intruding into the privacy of the women"

http://news.asiaone.com/news/crime/ex-engineer-gets-nine-months-jail-taking-more-200-upskirt-videos-over-10-months

"intruding into the privacy of his victims"

These guys need mental help rather dan putting them in jail, pissing them off and they might make an even stronger comeback once released. They should be offered help from psychologist/psychiatrist. Or else they will continue their perverse ways and women might end up all wearing pants in the future.

We can't really see the stats on "taking upskirt video" becoz it falls under intruding one's privacy. I think there's a rising trend on such fetish coz of technology. Ppl can easily buy small cameras and install it hidden and take voyeur pics/videos. The authorities should implement new law & punishment just for this.

I agree. There's no specific law or punishment to this"taking upskirt video". Even in Sgp.

For example the LTA guy....

http://singaporeseen.stomp.com.sg/singaporeseen/this-urban-jungle/ex-lta-engineer-jailed-15-months-for-using-camera-pen-to-take-upskirt-videos

"intruding into the privacy of the women"

http://news.asiaone.com/news/crime/ex-engineer-gets-nine-months-jail-taking-more-200-upskirt-videos-over-10-months

"intruding into the privacy of his victims"

These guys need mental help rather dan putting them in jail, pissing them off and they might make an even stronger comeback once released. They should be offered help from psychologist/psychiatrist. Or else they will continue their perverse ways and women might end up all wearing pants in the future.

We can't really see the stats on "taking upskirt video" becoz it falls under intruding one's privacy. I think there's a rising trend on such fetish coz of technology. Ppl can easily buy small cameras and install it hidden and take voyeur pics/videos. The authorities should implement new law & punishment just for this.

I think another way to get to these perverts would be to charge them with outrage of modesty.

this morning while walking along a pavement i saw a curvy woman approaching. She was wearing a short tight skirt and swaying her waist left and right as she walked. as she passed she made my head turn and i saw the view of her bouncy ass struggling within the confines of her skirt.

it was then that i realised there was a FW trailing her quite closely. He was holding up his phone and from the screen i could see he was recording a close up of the lady's bouncy ass with a smirk on his face.

it felt wrong and i wanted to stop him, but on what grounds? its not upskirt but a close up of a 'public' view.

this morning while walking along a pavement i saw a curvy woman approaching. She was wearing a short tight skirt and swaying her waist left and right as she walked. as she passed she made my head turn and i saw the view of her bouncy ass struggling within the confines of her skirt.

it was then that i realised there was a FW trailing her quite closely. He was holding up his phone and from the screen i could see he was recording a close up of the lady's bouncy ass with a smirk on his face.

it felt wrong and i wanted to stop him, but on what grounds? its not upskirt but a close up of a 'public' view.

It's obvious the woman was seeking such attention. No need to bother.

:grin:

Edited by Mustank

you could have also taken peekture to share with us here ... [:p]

we the council will decide the bounciness ... [laugh]

Alamak ... should quickly take a video of the whole incident and then post it here...

We will decide for you :D

It's obvious the woman was seeking such attention. No need to bother.

the woman is most certainly local i think. She came from the direction of a childcare ctr and may have just dropped her kid off.

she maybe seeking attention from some, but i do not think she would appreciate being 3.gif fodder in some FW dorm.

Alamak ... should quickly take a video of the whole incident and then post it here...

We will decide for you :D

what bugs me was the smirk on the FW's face as he focused and filmed.

If i ever see him again.....  i'd ask him to share the vid

I don't think there's anything stopping people from taking pictures in public. Though most upskirt would be intrusive as the offender has to go all out to position the camera under the skirt, a deliberate action. If zaogeng, I think that's a gray area.

How to take Zaogeng unless in Sniper mode?

the woman is most certainly local i think. She came from the direction of a childcare ctr and may have just dropped her kid off.

she maybe seeking attention from some, but i do not think she would appreciate being 3.gif fodder in some FW dorm.

So if it was a local guy it would be okay?

What if the guy was a billionaire? Anyway, she is willing to show in public so she has already decided that it should be a free show for all.

On deepavali, was at east coast, two ladies were skating, one was in mid riff top

They were taking turns to pose n taking photos

Guess what the fws were busy snapping photos, could tell they were pretending to take photos of scenery

After the shots were taken, they passed the camera around n they were grinning away....

its ok, next time just show us the picture and we group think ... dun need to get stressed doing self check  ... [laugh]

On deepavali, was at east coast, two ladies were skating, one was in mid riff top

They were taking turns to pose n taking photos

Guess what the fws were busy snapping photos, could tell they were pretending to take photos of scenery

After the shots were taken, they passed the camera around n they were grinning away....

They must be from MIT [nod]  [scholar]