Famous nasi padang restaurant at Zion Road shutting

Baal

http://www.tremeritus.com/2014/03/12/famous-nasi-padang-restaurant-at-zion-road-shutting/

Famous nasi padang restaurant at Zion Road shutting

dmca_protected_sml_120n.pngPostDateIcon.png March 12th, 2014 | PostAuthorIcon.png Author: Editorial
ST_20140312_EQNASI12A_4061107e-300x170.j

The famous nasi padang restaurant at Zion Road. (Photo: ST)

The famous nasi padang restaurant at Zion Road, River Valley, will be closing down on 28 March 2014.

It has been selling nasi padang at River Valley since 1957 i.e. more than half a century. It moved to its current location at Zion Road in 1998. It is popular for its beef rendang, curry chicken and sambal sotong, among many other dishes.

Last December, it was given a one-year lease and rental had gone up by $1,000 to $11,000. The restaurant owner said, “The landlord said that he can ask me to leave with just three months’ notice. So maybe he has a better deal with other people.”

The owner revealed that currently they can only earn enough to “break even”.

He does not rule out moving to a smaller place with lower rental.

He added, “We have already asked our staff to look for other jobs. If it’s God’s will, we may reopen somewhere else. But for now, we want to take a break.”

The owner also cited lack of manpower and high food costs as other factors for closing down.

In fact, the restaurant had moved to its present location from the unit to its immediate right (as one faces it) about 10 years ago. It moved because the previous landlord had raised the rent to an unbearable level. The previous landlord then rented his shop to another nasi padang restaurant.

When the famous nasi padang restaurant moved next door, it placed a sign in front of the new premises to indicate that it was the original, famous nasi padang restaurant, so that returning customers would not patronise the wrong nasi padang restaurant.

The nasi padang restaurant that had taken its place did not do well and closed soon after.

Now it looks like even the famous, original nasi padang restaurant has fallen prey to high costs and will be closing down.

Meanwhile, a 99-year residential site in Yishun reportedly drew a record bid of $278.8 million from EL Development at the close of a state tender yesterday (11 Mar). The bid was higher than expected and a record for the area.

EL Development’s bid for the 221,239 sq ft parcel works out to $450 per square foot (psf) per plot ratio (ppr). This is higher than the range of $390 psf ppr to $431 psf ppr that consultants had earlier predicted.

OrangeTee research said that it is a historical high for a purely residential private plot in Yishun, with the previous record being $406 psf ppr in August 2010 for a land parcel that has been developed into The Miltonia Residences.

EL Development plans to build 600 to 660 condominium units on the plot.

Despite the high price, a property consultant said, “Developers are mindful of the changing tides and softening of the market.”

Consultants estimate a break-even price of $925 psf to $940 psf for the site and a selling price of at least $1,000 psf.

Lots of "parasites" produce no tangible products or services, but get filthy rich on rentals that they keep jacking up...

It's a "virtual economy" where empty spaces are tagged with value simply hinging on sentiment, mood and feel.

When, oh when, is this "bubble" going to burst...

• Praise 10

Lots of "parasites" produce no tangible products or services, but get filthy rich on rentals that they keep jacking up...

It's a "virtual economy" where empty spaces are tagged with value simply hinging on sentiment, mood and feel.

When, oh when, is this "bubble" going to burst...

Good post. Can't really blame the land owners. They're just out to make money. Policy changes are the key.

the subliminal message is this:

you no let us import foreign worker? we let your favourite food haunts close down.

no nasi padang for you.

no tong seng coffee shop for you.

complain some more.

Edited by Alheych

Damn sad to hear that. Malay-Muslim food is getting lesser in numbers. Back in the 80s and 90s, still see them in coffeshops. Nowadays Muslim food is either Indian-Muslim or fast food. Very sick of it. Luckily, I can still get my share of Malay food just across the causeway.

I'm Chinese btw.

Damn sad to hear that. Malay-Muslim food is getting lesser in numbers. Back in the 80s and 90s, still see them in coffeshops. Nowadays Muslim food is either Indian-Muslim or fast food. Very sick of it. Luckily, I can still get my share of Malay food just across the causeway.

I'm Chinese btw.

Agree with you but actually no need to state that you are Chinese. It would be reasonable to say that most locals regardless of race or religion would have some favourites food from different races. Only differences are the composition of the dish e.g. the poorer would be happy if their plate of Nasi Lemak have ikan bills, egg, cucumber, peanuts and chilies whereas for richer will have additional like drumstick, otah, achar, fish cake or maybe slices abalone. Hehehehehe

different country / race food has its own special taste, me and wife also always go round looking for new food or other food to eat.

but some of those high class or expensive food tends to be really over-rated.

Dunno leh. I find famous eating places usually dun live up to its name. Once you see a lot of patrons and the food establishment struggling to keep up means lousy food quality/taste. Hygiene can also be an issue too. It's just my personal view.

I haven't eat nasi padang for a long time. If the Chinese got economic rice, nasi padang will be premium rice. The prices can be quite ridiculous and I have no idea on the prices of the dishes. It's any price they say. Feel ripped off. Like that I might as well spend a little more and eat at a cafe.

Well, I would say good luck to most nasi padang stalls/restaurants. You will not be missed.

Ate there once, more than 10 yrs ago.....food is nothing to shout about. Different pple different sambal!

Sama sama. Ate there many years ago, nothing particularly impressive except for the price (expensive).

seldom eat nasi padang but there was one at Sengkang which i ate for few months once a week. But they closed over the xmas period and has been since replaced.

They were definitely doing above average business. Must have been the rental or health issues...

I think the ABC one is not bad but not cheap as well.

Dunno leh. I find famous eating places usually dun live up to its name. Once you see a lot of patrons and the food establishment struggling to keep up means lousy food quality/taste. Hygiene can also be an issue too. It's just my personal view.

I haven't eat nasi padang for a long time. If the Chinese got economic rice, nasi padang will be premium rice. The prices can be quite ridiculous and I have no idea on the prices of the dishes. It's any price they say. Feel ripped off. Like that I might as well spend a little more and eat at a cafe.

Well, I would say good luck to most nasi padang stalls/restaurants. You will not be missed.

most chinese economic rice stalls won't be missed as well.

Ate there once, more than 10 yrs ago.....food is nothing to shout about. Different pple different sambal!

it's an overrated and over priced nasi pandang.

the last time I ate there, some customers on the next table question the staff on eh their sambal squid or prawn is so expensive. they refused to eat and return food to staff.

Yes, I do find it rather expensive

with that kind of price, how can the owner say they barely break even?

the last time I ate there, some customers on the next table question the staff on eh their sambal squid or prawn is so expensive. they refused to eat and return food to staff.

Bluff wan lah. If they haven't make much money how could they afford to go on a break?

seldom eat nasi padang but there was one at Sengkang which i ate for few months once a week. But they closed over the xmas period and has been since replaced.

They were definitely doing above average business. Must have been the rental or health issues...

I think the ABC one is not bad but not cheap as well.

most chinese economic rice stalls won't be missed as well.

Try the nasi padang at Tanjong Pagar Complex. Good and cheap.

Sayur lodeh+Bergedil+Sambal Goreng+egg only $2.50

Nowadays there's no more chinese economic rice stall. Can only call them mix veg stall, as they are no longer economic.

hahaha...never seen that happened before.....i was brought there by a friend who said that it was the famous nasi padang....i ate but found it normal!

Nowadays there's no more chinese economic rice stall. Can only call them mix veg stall, as they are no longer economic.

wah thats cheap for the combi u mentioned! now u mention dont be surprised the place will be jampacked today!

haha i try not to have huge expectations of any food i'm recommended nowadays.

We always tend to overhype things. Now when i recommend things, i will just say that i will eat that stall if I'm here. haha

thanks but i don't work in town.