$1000 for engine repairs in Tan Chong

Mactrek

I was quoted $1000 before gst for repairs to my Nissan Latio. Is this reasonable or is there another recommended workshop that is cheaper? Thanks everyone.

This was what was recommended by tan chong -

"RECOMMEND TO CHANGE ALL ENGINE MOUNTINGS,ROCKER, TIMING COVER CHANGE ROCKER/TIMING/C/SHAFT OIL SEAL"

No need to check, outside Ws would be cheaper for sure...

Btw, how old is your Latio? Mine 7yrs but has not change engine mount yet...

Edited by Blackyv

Engine mountings are wear and tear items. The rubber will harden and excessive vibration will be felt.

Once changed, the cabin will be smooth.

Anyway, outside sure cheaper

Mine's 7 years old too. Any workshop to recommend?

btw , Ur Latio is 4AT or the Xtronic cvt ?

4at,,,,

Don't have lobang.... If I'm changing, I will ask around for few quote to compare and Search in this forum for lobang lor...

Tan Chong recommends to change engine mounting etc..

but the more important question is, do you feel any bad vibrations when idle and driving? Do you see oil stains/leaks in your engine bay? Is anything out of the normal?

Anyone can recommend change here or fix that. But at $1k, without very conclusive proof that you absolutely have to fix it, esp if you don't see or sense anything wrong, it may not be worth it.

My latio is a CVT. Some knocking sound occasionally (quite rare) but doesn't really bother me. Don't see any leakage anywhere. Just worried this will get worse if I just leave it like that. Will wait a while longer and monitor before sending it in for repairs.

Tan Chong recommends to change engine mounting etc..

but the more important question is, do you feel any bad vibrations when idle and driving? Do you see oil stains/leaks in your engine bay? Is anything out of the normal?

Anyone can recommend change here or fix that. But at $1k, without very conclusive proof that you absolutely have to fix it, esp if you don't see or sense anything wrong, it may not be worth it.

Good advice!

Times are bad.

Workshop always say change this or that, if no urgency better get a few quotes or advise first

I think going outside workshop got pros & cons. Changing engine mount is no simple task. A lot of parts to remove to get to them. Engine mounts are not just at the bottom of the engine. Top also have one or two.

Usually if you buy engine mounts it comes in a set of 5(for example), 3 bottom, 2 on top. Usually top ones are not likely to wear. The bottom ones are the ones which need to be replaced. So workshops who want to save time and labour costs just replace the bottom 3 and charge you the cost of the full set and their labour cost. Of course they won't tell you coz you won't know. I feel that some things that you should know about.

2nd thing is the "rocker" I dunno what part it's refering to. Cannot be the valves rocker arm else the final bill will be a lot more.

3rd item is timing cover, change timing cover oil seal (I'm guessing since it's not written very clear). If they saw that the cover is leaking oil...I mean at the same time when changing engine mount it would be easy to replace.

So you got to ask Tan Chong. Whether they will be changing all the engine mounts. Outside workshop will be cheaper coz they will likely change the bottom ones which are affected, not affected top ones they will leave them alone. They cut short on the time which is labour cost to replace engine mounts. Tan Chong wise if they really change ALL of the mounts that will take more time which cost more labour.

Bottom line, most cases what you pay is what you get. So you got to go find out whether Tan Chong will really change all of the engine mounts or not.

Agreed that need more information on the rocker issue. Tan Chong did say that there was some seepage.

I think going outside workshop got pros & cons. Changing engine mount is no simple task. A lot of parts to remove to get to them. Engine mounts are not just at the bottom of the engine. Top also have one or two.

Usually if you buy engine mounts it comes in a set of 5(for example), 3 bottom, 2 on top. Usually top ones are not likely to wear. The bottom ones are the ones which need to be replaced. So workshops who want to save time and labour costs just replace the bottom 3 and charge you the cost of the full set and their labour cost. Of course they won't tell you coz you won't know. I feel that some things that you should know about.

2nd thing is the "rocker" I dunno what part it's refering to. Cannot be the valves rocker arm else the final bill will be a lot more.

3rd item is timing cover, change timing cover oil seal (I'm guessing since it's not written very clear). If they saw that the cover is leaking oil...I mean at the same time when changing engine mount it would be easy to replace.

So you got to ask Tan Chong. Whether they will be changing all the engine mounts. Outside workshop will be cheaper coz they will likely change the bottom ones which are affected, not affected top ones they will leave them alone. They cut short on the time which is labour cost to replace engine mounts. Tan Chong wise if they really change ALL of the mounts that will take more time which cost more labour.

Bottom line, most cases what you pay is what you get. So you got to go find out whether Tan Chong will really change all of the engine mounts or not.

Bro, i used to drive a latio too. 4AT. the engine mounting really is wear and tear. Bo pian, LL must change one.

I can recommend you my workshop if you want to do up your car. It is at serangoon thou.