25 happiest countries in the world

tudorpapa

25 happiest countries in the world. . .

The UN has declared 20 March the International Day of Happiness, and in commemoration of that, we bring you the 25 happiest countries in the world, as listed in the UN's World Happiness Report for 2013.

It's based on life freedom, GDP per capita, generosity, social support, perceived corruption and length of life, and survey respondents were asked to rate both their emotions and lives as a whole. Their answers are then placed on the happiness ranking with an overall score.

Singapore ranks at number 30 on the list, the highest among its Southeast Asian regional counterparts as well as above Hong Kong, Japan, China and Taiwan.

See the UN's full report here.

France

646a6e4f-f909-45cd-9902-828053d5bcc9_Fra

Brazil

ef8645f9-1ea5-4bc7-ba9c-1ce8c834a0cd_Bra

Oman

7782ec84-5b43-4e4b-b1c9-c47f7629d500_Oma

UK

1846a0d4-092d-47b5-993b-5f2835e33b5f_807

Belgium

be085c77-ab8b-4023-a429-f4410c281988_Bel

Venezuela

42dc52e8-aae1-41a0-9f48-14c4faab785e_Ven

Luxembourg

762fcfc8-0daa-42fd-8d00-5e29b07516d2_Lux

Ireland

cfaeaa4d-7a84-478a-98f5-df01542283e4_Ire

USA

40460f61-7240-47a1-b08c-715cada773b8_USA

Mexico

81dc9ee1-8bb4-42fb-a59e-86be25823424_Mex

Panama

6add291b-106f-4b92-80d5-7597231f143c_Pan

UAE

628f3b49-1f9d-470c-bd63-6ea03919f522_UAE

New Zealand

d30ee375-fac7-4e53-a3eb-da20b9348574_Zea

Costa Rica

08b435d7-d093-4e5f-947f-9406404c39cd_Cos

Israel

eae597a8-cf96-4e00-8c08-c6931f94a3bc_Isr

Australia

ea0a34c8-2630-4517-ab25-fd5171cafb62_Aus

Iceland

4fa7a2fc-5d40-4805-984a-1b582cbebf3c_Ice

Austria

1c6a4ab4-6071-40f8-b713-610e4744a3fb_Aus

Finland

e3c9b8ca-3692-4f45-b799-695562abcbb6_Fin

Canada

e533cab9-047e-40d4-9694-1db38aa93362_Can

Sweden

54818843-4628-476e-b669-01dfd050249e_Swe

Netherland

a7b2f909-30b6-49c6-b2ef-8d46c611a179_Net

Switzerland

22a2a8c5-d77a-4a1c-aa48-7de8b17ce7e6_Swi

Norway

b279d92d-07be-4ca6-9cf9-fcfbb66d3fa2_Nor

Denmark

a2a082a5-f9d1-429d-baff-4c83ae0cedfc_Den

Here

USA at no. #17 ...... :o

If USA at no.17, there won't be any shooting at the streets, schools, bars, .... etc....

Wu Salar Boh ... [sly]

Think UAE also no happy one, where got people happy live under 40+ degree celcius?

If USA at no.17, there won't be any shooting at the streets, schools, bars, .... etc....

Wu Salar Boh ... [sly]

shootings and killings are diabolical happiness.

How come i no happy?

Because you have not become T3 yet.

Wu Salar Boh ... [sly]

Well, if Mexico can be #16, then why not? ^_^ Edited by Bavarian

shootings and killings are diabolical happiness.

Because you have not become T3 yet.

Hmm this one sounds logical, with T3 spending power, i don't have to worry about my future.

Anyway is T2 looking for godson? :D

Well, if Mexico can be #16, then why not? ^_^

Cos with a guitar, a mexican will be happy liao

Unlike singapore, got 5C also put long face

Hmm this one sounds logical, with T3 spending power, i don't have to worry about my future.

Anyway is T2 looking for godson? :D

Cos with a guitar, a mexican will be happy liao

Unlike singapore, got 5C also put long face

And all the tequila and happy smokes in the world. :D strange that they are only #16.

sunny sinkiepore only #30? what, we must be no.1 in everything !!!

quickly, the officially sanctioned 150th media aka spin doctors and the multimillion ministars, get to work

Wu Salar Boh ... [sly]

They just legalise this mah. . .

marijuana-entrepreneur-plans-million-mar

They just legalise this mah. . .

marijuana-entrepreneur-plans-million-mar

hmmmmmm................. so their term of happy is smiling all the way ... [sly]

with that kind of cigy, sure ppls smiling all the way and some look zombie even ..... [laugh]

All the four nordic countries are ranked very highly....

I notice the more "remote" countries with good natural resources tend to be happier.

They have less people, more resources to share around, of course happier lah.

singapore is #30

venezuela #20, brazil #24 and argentina #29 ... all are happier than singapore ... muahahahaha

sibei kelong leh

Singapore leh ?

singapore is #30

venezuela #20, brazil #24 and argentina #29 ... all are happier than singapore ... muahahahaha

sibei kelong leh

Israel no 11........

sunny sinkiepore only #30? what, we must be no.1 in everything !!!

quickly, the officially sanctioned 150th media aka spin doctors and the multimillion ministars, get to work

Suggest a three-pronged strategy:

1) Highlight that the survey talked about "countries", whereas we are a "city".

2) Handwave away the survey as somehow being more relevant to "expat happiness" than "citizen happiness", as if the latter is sky high in comparison.

3) If all else fails, call us "daft" for not realising how great we have it.

(The last strategy really isn't advisable, especially in the current climate. This might have been recognised since the last time someone used the word "repent", and the wrong party ended up repenting).

See, I can be [scholar] too! [laugh]