Odd HDB design at Kreta Ayer

Alheych

I've always wondered about this random HDB block design at Block 5 Banda St in Chinatown...

Some floors' staircase landing has a window/opening, while many other don't have. There doesn't seem to be a pattern, and the windows aren't regular as well. As far as I know this is a one-room flat block. Anyone knows why it's designed like that?

Kreta_Ayer_HDB_block.JPG

It's like those plastic sheets at construction sites usually put up on neighbouring fence to prevent dust fly to neighbour hse. The holes allow air to flow thru so the sheets won't tear. Last time contractors can makan money. Scare piling nvr do properly wind blow down the building?? Huat ah!!

I've always wondered about this random HDB block design at Block 5 Banda St in Chinatown...

Some floors' staircase landing has a window/opening, while many other don't have. There doesn't seem to be a pattern, and the windows aren't regular as well. As far as I know this is a one-room flat block. Anyone knows why it's designed like that?

What about the other side? Maybe the other side is full view opening, so this side (where the photo is taken) does not need to have every floor window/opening....I think. [:/]

maybe they are one-room flat unit?

TS already said it is a "one-room flat block".

1st tot it is purely a design decision...to contrast with the rest of the building with has repetitive pattern. Fairly common in some of the early flats...especially those built by SIT. Some have balcony located at the living room, while some at the bedroom...all these are in a single block of flats.

But it could also to minimise the area where outsiders can attempt suicide from jumping and onto the roof of the shop houses which used to stand there. Perhaps a reaction to the 'suicide' blocks which used to stand opp Hong Lim Park. It was so popular that the gov decided to fenced up all corridors.

Edited by Silver_blade

The only reason I can think of is shortage of bricks or short of material. We are talking about a couple of decades ago, so it's difficult to imagine what issues and challenges they were facing. At that time of nation building probably the high demand of construction raw materials probably means they will have to make do with what is available.

shortage of bricks so should have more openings? rather than less?

Less?? I see quite a lot of openings on the right side of the building.

How many professional engineers in the construction sector back dan? My guess is the openings were initially not in the drawing or plans. When ppl realise there's a shortage it's probably too late. No senior engineers to make decisions, pro engineers hired were probably mostly foreigners who dun stay long, there might might be a language barrier, communication issue on the ground... blah blah blah. That's why I mentioned nobody knows what kinda challenges the ppl face back dan.

Less?? I see quite a lot of openings on the right side of the building.

How many professional engineers in the construction sector back dan? My guess is the openings were initially not in the drawing or plans. When ppl realise there's a shortage it's probably too late. No senior engineers to make decisions, pro engineers hired were probably mostly foreigners who dun stay long, there might might be a language barrier, communication issue on the ground... blah blah blah. That's why I mentioned nobody knows what kinda challenges the ppl face back dan.

but other HDB flats built in the 60s/70s (eg at Toa Payoh) dun have the same "design issues"

moreover, this block looks newly painted... means it has undergone upgrading scheme (repainting, etc) in recent years

if got any "design deficit", surely HDB will do something about it?

my friend who used to stay there didn't know the reasons as well......she just take it as a 'design'......

What about the other side? Maybe the other side is full view opening, so this side (where the photo is taken) does not need to have every floor window/opening....I think. [:/]

As mentioned by another bro above, the random openings provide a visual 'relief' to the other repetitive / monotonous window patterns on the rest of the block.

Its like in some aspects of life, some variations in an otherwise routine life is necessary to break the boredom.

Must be designed by a local poly student lol

some of the local iconic buildings were designed by poly grads.... [grin]

As mentioned by another bro above, the random openings provide a visual 'relief' to the other repetitive / monotonous window patterns on the rest of the block.

Its like in some aspects of life, some variations in an otherwise routine life is necessary to break the boredom.

some of the local iconic buildings were designed by poly grads.... [grin]

Like what? Ocbc building? That circular look alike hdb? *Facepalm* Edited by Thaiyotakamli

OCBC building is designed by I.M. Pei...renowned american-chinese architect who also designed new extension of Louvre Museum in Paris, Bank Of China in Hong Kong,

Edited by Silver_blade

OCBC building is designed by I.M. Pei...renowned american-chinese architect who also designed new extension of Louvre Museum in Paris, Bank Of China in Hong Kong,

Actually ocbc still ok but the the pearl bank apartment really cmi, also the people park complex

One man's meat is another's poison, LOL

No idea why it was designed like that, but the corridors are very dark. Very scary-movie feel.