Sell Your House Directly

GongJiaoWei

Do you get an property agent to sell your house? Or will you do it directly?   

18 members have voted

1. 1. Will you try to sell your house directly?

• Yes
    • No

Hi Guys

Just wondering whether do all of you get an agent to sell your house?

Anyone try to sell directly?

Any experience to share?

Hi Guys

Any experience to share?

done it before......

mainly because I know I can get a better price than those agents who are more keen to close deals fast even if it means a thousand dollar less in commission they collect.

done it before......

mainly because I know I can get a better price than those agents who are more keen to close deals fast even if it means a thousand dollar less in commission they collect.

agreed.

very unprofessional of some agents.

my brother did sell by himself before.

quite cumbersome if you not already know the way.

agreed.

very unprofessional of some agents.

my brother did sell by himself before.

quite cumbersome if you not already know the way.

I have 3 properties sold by agents before and 1 by myself.

my only conclusion is they want to seal the deal fast and it means they are ready to come back to convince seller to accept low price or even leak out the seller's baseline price to the buyer so that buyer know not to offer to high but is also convinced to throw in a bid price quickly.

some may say, trust the agents to get a better price for me as they know the market better. I don't doubt they know the market slightly better but since their motivation is contradicting my interests, I dare say most of the times they used the better knowledge they have for their advantage rather than my advantage.

an exception is only when the agents serving us are our personal friends or relatives and they have a lot of shared agents' information of the latest transacted prices in that condo development. for example, when I bought my current condominium, my agent disclosed to me some deals closed at high prices and that prompted me to quickly offer before these latest higher $ deals get reflected on the caveated prices. indeed after I purchased mine, the higher prices gets reflected on the ura portal and I avoid having to compete the purchase on the back of higher transacted prices.

Hi Guys

Any experience to share?

Pte or hdb? Quite different process.

Oppss..Sorry

my only conclusion is they want to seal the deal fast and it means they are ready to come back to convince seller to accept low price or even leak out the seller's baseline price to the buyer so that buyer know not to offer to high but is also convinced to throw in a bid price quickly.

some may say, trust the agents to get a better price for me as they know the market better. I don't doubt they know the market slightly better but since their motivation is contradicting my interests, I dare say most of the times they used the better knowledge they have for their advantage rather than my advantage.

an exception is only when the agents serving us are our personal friends or relatives and they have a lot of shared agents' information of the latest transacted prices in that condo development. for example, when I bought my current condominium, my agent disclosed to me some deals closed at high prices and that prompted me to quickly offer before these latest higher $ deals get reflected on the caveated prices. indeed after I purchased mine, the higher prices gets reflected on the ura portal and I avoid having to compete the purchase on the back of higher transacted prices.

Thanks for sharing!

Pte or hdb? Quite different process.

Pte.. Apartment style.

HDB is more easier I assume with the garment covering all aspects.

By the way, how you "promote" or advertise if by yourself.

Cos' if go thr agent, at least they place ads on propertyguru and etc..

You do the documents yourself also?

if you sell it yourself, your first medium would be the Straits Times Classifieds. They do accept advertisement from retail customers if i not wrong,the cost should be about $40+ per advertisement. even thru this medium solely, you can get quite a lot of viewers and enquirers already. but take note many agents will then call you to try to persuade you to let them market your property exclusively.

if you happen to have an agent friend, you can ask him help to advertise on propertyguru, you pay him some money to offset his propertyguru subscription so as to sweeten the deal.

Pte.. Apartment style.

On the contrary.

I tink pte is much more straight forward n after u grant the 1% option then pass to the lawyers n they sort it out liao. U show up 3 months later, sign some papers n collect cheque. ^_^

HDB ah? Simi first appt, second appt, muz get COE based on income, now dunno wat no COV but got valuation, if seller change mind cry farder marder go MP......sibei complicated sia. [dizzy][dizzy]

Oppss..Sorry

Thanks for sharing!

Pte.. Apartment style.

By the way, how you "promote" or advertise if by yourself.

Cos' if go thr agent, at least they place ads on propertyguru and etc..

You do the documents yourself also?

what document? bro ... there's almost nothing for you to do. (maybe just check through the option if your lawyer prepares, but who doesnt read through this stuff anyway ..?)

let me list out the steps for you ... from start to finish, to show you how easy it is.

1. advertise in newspaper

2. entertain caller and do viewing

3. find a suitable lawyer beforehand

4. once you and the buyer reach a deal, ask them to issue a 1% cheque while your lawyer prepares a 2 week option (can vary based on terms agreed by both parties) for them. both of you exchange the items.

5. wait 2 weeks for the buyer to exercise the option. his lawyer will send his 4% option fee to your lawyer under CVY account. your lawyer will inform you when its exercised.

6. their lawyer will lodge caveat

7. you will provide your lawyer with tenancy agreement copy, mcst fees and property tax payment proof (up to the month of completion where necessary)

8. send the documents to your lawyer. (this is the only part you need to worry about .. delivering the documents. if you have the title deed with you, also better to send it by hand)

8a. where bank loan is concerned, just inform your lawyer to write in to the bank regarding redemption of loan.

9. wait for the deal to complete, collect your money.

nowhere in that grand scheme of things do the property agents do any kind of paperwork for you (unless they are using their standard company option .. which anyone can do .. fill out name, address, amount sold etc ... very simple stuff)

On the contrary.

I tink pte is much more straight forward n after u grant the 1% option then pass to the lawyers n they sort it out liao. U show up 3 months later, sign some papers n collect cheque. ^_^

HDB ah? Simi first appt, second appt, muz get COE based on income, now dunno wat no COV but got valuation, if seller change mind cry farder marder go MP......sibei complicated sia. [dizzy][dizzy]

Yes totally.

Private definitely easier.

Done it twice myself.

Not difficult, just dont be sentimental and treat it like a pure business decision.

If people criticise the property, let it be.

Offer a different perspective but no need to take it personally.

The problem with a lot of owners is that they take it personally and pride prevents the deal.

Stupid. In that case just use an agent.

pure wisdom [thumbsup]

Yes totally.

Private definitely easier.

Done it twice myself.
Not difficult, just dont be sentimental and treat it like a pure business decision.
If people criticise the property, let it be.
Offer a different perspective but no need to take it personally.

The problem with a lot of owners is that they take it personally and pride prevents the deal.
Stupid. In that case just use an agent.

One of the main reasons why i went to take a CEA licence is because i can save on the ridiculous agent comm if i buy and sell my own properties. Plus i can help relatives and friends save on comm too if i do their tenancies for them

the savings far outweigh whatever fees i pay for the licence

One of the main reasons why i went to take a CEA licence is because i can save on the ridiculous agent comm if i buy and sell my own properties. Plus i can help relatives and friends save on comm too if i do their tenancies for them

the savings far outweigh whatever fees i pay for the licence

but you cant sustain the cea licence if you don't have sufficient commission over 1 year?

got such rule meh?

in my first year i closed only 1 deal, but still managed to renew without problem

maybe it is the agency's rule, not CEA rule

got such rule meh?

in my first year i closed only 1 deal, but still managed to renew without problem

maybe it is the agency's rule, not CEA rule

yeah it is agency rule. but I always thought agency endorsement needed to maintain cea licence?

that's the thing about it. sometimes I wonder whether I can set up my own agency hehe

p/s: your david moyes avatar is making me puke..........

Edited by Acemundo

yeah it is agency rule. but I always thought agency endorsement needed to maintain cea licence?

that's the thing about it. sometimes I wonder whether I can set up my own agency hehe

p/s: your david moyes avatar is making me puke..........

some agencies do not have such rules i guess

i believe u can set up your own, just need to meet CEA requirements (like closing minimum number of deals, years of experience etc)

i also can;t stand moyes face.. LOL

some agencies do not have such rules i guess

i believe u can set up your own, just need to meet CEA requirements (like closing minimum number of deals, years of experience etc)

i also can;t stand moyes face.. LOL

hehe so which agency are you from?