10 bizarre driving laws around the world

Jman888

10 bizarre driving laws around the world
Whether due to antiquated laws that never got updated, or logistic challenges unique to that country, the world is full of strange laws. Some may not sound outlandish in concept, but have extreme consequences; for example, if you’re in Vietnam without a Vietnamese driver’s license, you risk a prison sentence of up to three years. Others—like banning the practice of tying your pet on the roof in Alaska—seem to be the result of an overzealous legal system.
Here are ten of them from around the globe.
By Aki Sugawara | Motoramic
1. Drivers male or female in Thailand can’t drive shirtless, whether it’s a car, bus, or a tuk-tuk cab.
2. No brown-bagging needed while driving in Costa Rica—it’s legal to drink and drive, so long as your blood alcohol level is lower than 0.05% The country also prohibits blasting loud music near churches, hospitals and schools.
3. On the other end of extreme, while France requires its drivers to carry a portable breathalyzer at all times when driving a car. The one-time kits cost around $5, and if you don’t have one the fine is a paltry 11 euros ($15)—but the law is seldom enforced.
4. If your car is dirty enough to pen dust art, in Moscow it’s liable for a fine of 2000 rubles (about $55). Although enacted in part to prevent muddied and obscured license plates, it’s up to the officers to make the call. Worse yet, it’s illegal to wash your car by hand on public property for ecological reasons—forcing you to take it to one of the few car wash facilities.
5. Never mind obscene gestures--even raising your hands in a bout of road rage in Cyprus can get you fined for 25 euros, or about $35. The law states a driver can be fined if the person “is in an irregular position inside the vehicle or raises his hand from the steering wheel unnecessarily.”
6. In South Africa, shepherds have the right of way. Although most probably wouldn’t play chicken with an ostrich crossing anyway, the law explicitly says that “the driver of a vehicle on a public road shall stop such vehicle at the request or on the signal of a person leading or driving any bovine animal, horse, ass, mule, sheep, goat, pig or ostrich on such road.” Fines can get as high as $500.
7. Politeness isn’t just the culture in Japan, it’s part of driving laws. Splashing a pedestrian with a puddle from your car will cost you over $60. The country is also strict with its DUI laws—riding with or loaning your car to a driver who gets caught drinking and driving can lead to a fine costing thousands of dollars.
8. Careless driving laws exist both in the United States and in the United Kingdom, but it can get draconian in the UK, where motorists have been ticketed for eating a sandwich or apple.
9. Although some countries like Italy restrict driving access to certain zones, Manila, Philippines takes the cake for the most convoluted traffic law. You can’t drive in some of the busiest districts of Manila, depending on the day of the week and the last digit on your license plate. For example, if your plate ends with 1 or 2, you can be fined if caught driving between 7am and 7pm on a Monday.
10. The United States isn’t immune from bizarre laws, either. In Montana it’s illegal to have sheep in the cab of your truck unless there’s a chaperone—but luckily it’s legal to keep Dolly inside the passenger cabin without supervision. In Nevada driving camels on highways is prohibited.

SG oso have bizarre law. It's seems unlawful to signal or give way.

lawful to show sign language if you are out of the car?

fingersnew1.JPG

In Singapore, foreign cars with totally blacked out windows are allowed on the roads.The

The law only "takes care" of local vehicles!

In Singapore, foreign cars with totally blacked out windows are allowed on the roads.

Not only foreign cars lo. Any car also can drive around with totally blacked out windows. Seen many already. Was waiting for my dad at sin ming yesterday and a group of LTA bikes rode past a Vios with totally black windows and they didn't even bother to do anything.

It must be legal in Singapore to road hog and irritate the hell out of everyone

dun blame these driver, you would understand when you are older [laugh][laugh]

reply to my own post.....

why they mind female driving in shirtless? :huh:

1. Drivers male or female in Thailand can’t drive shirtless, whether it’s a car, bus, or a tuk-tuk cab.

It must be legal in Singapore to road hog and irritate the hell out of everyone

they should start banning L cars on public roads at peak hours in the morning as well.sometime when i am at ubi around 7-8+ morning.those L cars are irritating everyone off where many has to switch lane and then cut in back infront of the L cars just because the L cars are d@mn SLOW.

it's really very inconsiderate of them to come out in public roads during peak hours causing the already slow traffic to slow down even further. very frequently i see cars switching lanes and nearly crashed with another car on the other lane just because the driver wanted to overtake slow L car.

the authorities should ban L cars on public roads the same timing as bus lane peak hour timing.

it's pissing everyone off when everyone is rushing and these jokers are out there hogging the roads.

they should start banning L cars on public roads at peak hours in the morning as well.sometime when i am at ubi around 7-8+ morning.those L cars are irritating everyone off where many has to switch lane and then cut in back infront of the L cars just because the L cars are d@mn SLOW.

it's really very inconsiderate of them to come out in public roads during peak hours causing the already slow traffic to slow down even further. very frequently i see cars switching lanes and nearly crashed with another car on the other lane just because the driver wanted to overtake slow L car.

the authorities should ban L cars on public roads the same timing as bus lane peak hour timing.

it's pissing everyone off when everyone is rushing and these jokers are out there hogging the roads.

don't forget it's a PUBLIC road, not licensed road. Moreover, you were a L-plater before, isn't it? Give people a chance lah, you think they not stress when learning in a busy traffic?

I will always give way whenever I see one cos I was one of them before, esp those on Traffic police test. Will facilitate them for lane change. What goes around, comes around.

Was waiting for my dad at sin ming yesterday and a group of LTA bikes rode past a Vios with totally black windows and they didn't even bother to do anything.

the LTA probably act upon public feedback as a main source of leads..so if one sees a vehicle with illegal modifications please feedback to LTA [cool]

At no 5 in Cyprus, no hand gesture or fine

I think somehow i understand the meaning of this. They passed this law because Cyprus people tend to curse more than they thank people for giving way and most of hand gesture would be probably middle finger.

why during the time you take tp car license test you never protest to the tester

"i refuse to take the test at this time as i will add to the congestion to our road"