Coffee worse than horse piss?

Jman888

Horseplay over coffee insult
By Adrian Lim
MyPaper
Tuesday, Apr 08, 2014
horsecoffee.jpg?itok=i5hkysKe
Criticised for serving a latte which was "possibly worse than drinking horse piss", a restaurant has turned the situation on its head by launching a week-long campaign to disprove the claim.
On Friday, Roosevelt's Diner & Bar placed a quirky sign outside its premises that says: "Come taste our coffee that Daphne Maia on Instagram thinks is WORSE than HORSEPISS".
The diner, located in New Bridge Road, wants its supporters to use the hash tag #nothorsepiss on social media.
Ms Daphne Maia Loo, 31, who tried the diner's coffee on Thursday and is the Instagram user, is not too impressed.
"I'm baffled (as to) why they have to single me out. When you go to other review websites, I'm sure you can find other negative feedback..." said Ms Loo, who is a social media consultant.
Ms Loo told My Paper yesterday that she will not be responding to the diner's actions, adding that she would be happy to provide more feedback about the coffee that had annoyed her.
"As a business, they have to take criticisms and feedback. I'm entitled to my opinion that I don't like the coffee," Ms Loo said.
Asked why they embarked on the campaign, manager Huang Shiying said that besides the "horse piss" comment, they also did not take kindly to Ms Loo's statement: "Do NOT drink coffee here".
"If it was a personal blog... it might not have that big an impact... But she's a social media consultant and has more than a thousand followers," said Ms Huang.
A check found that Ms Loo has over 1,500 Instagram followers and more than 2,900 Twitter followers.
Ms Huang also said that the diner wanted to stand up for staff who had been "demoralised" by the "nasty" remarks.
Defending her position, Ms Loo said: "(Horse piss) is really just an expression, people use it all the time... it does not mean that we are comparing it to horse piss. It's like when someone says it's 'hot as hell'. Apparently they took it to mean exactly that."
Ms Huang said they have "no hard feelings" towards Ms Loo and the campaign is meant to be a "light-hearted" affair where everyone can just have a laugh.

what do you think??

1. as a business owner, you should take all the criticism and improve on it.

2. as a so-call social media consultant (wtf do these people do?), should watch what they write (words used) even if they have negative feedback.

quite clever ma.

-quickly improve the quality of coffee (if it really was horse piss previously)

-invite people to taste.

-make the reviewer look like a fool while creating a social impact AND attracting new customers.

ok le.

quite clever ma.

-quickly improve the quality of coffee (if it really was horse piss previously)

-invite people to taste.

-make the reviewer look like a fool while creating a social impact AND attracting new customers.

ok le.

yeah.. .. pple laugh at the sign and prolly rem the place.. good marketing effort..

reviewer gets her additional popularity hits..why not?

Sorlee, I have never tasted horse's piss before. No comment.

Heck, I dun even drink coffee. Heng ah, the things coffee drinkers have to go thru....tsk tsk.

yeah.. .. pple laugh at the sign and prolly rem the place.. good marketing effort..

reviewer gets her additional popularity hits..why not?

If I see the sign for the first time I will avoid it coz the girl might be right. You never know. Better not go thru the horse piss ordeal.

Heck, I dun even drink coffee. Heng ah, the things coffee dinkers have to go thru....tsk tsk.

I also heard people say the almond pudding dessert taste like horse piss [laugh]

Heck, I dun even drink coffee. Heng ah, the things coffee dinkers have to go thru....tsk tsk.

If I see the sign for the first time I will avoid it coz the girl might be right. You never know. Better not go thru the horse piss ordeal.

but u will rem the shop rite?

"ohhh! i rem the shop sell horse piss kopi"..

Sorry, but the coincidence is most unfortunate - Ms. LOO talking about PISS.

NO WONDER LA confirm she will know the taste ... LOL

I also heard people say the almond pudding dessert taste like horse piss [laugh]

I always hear older folks say almond smells like crushed bed bugs. And they have to say this when I eat my fav almond paste. <_<

"social media consultant"? is that a step above "stomper"?

anyway, how in the world does she know what horse piss tastes like?

I know what tiger piss probably tastes like, cos I hv tried warmed tiger beer LOL

is she another like the 'Xiasuay' blogger??? don't quite remember the blogger's name. They depend on people visiting their website to get revenue. Social media consultant? Easier to say blogger.

Edited by Christan

Two questions:

1. She chio or not? :ph34r:

2. How she know what a horse's piss tastes like? [confused]

fake edit: you all damn cb beat me to it.

"As a business, they have to take criticisms and feedback. I'm entitled to my opinion that I don't like the coffee," Ms Loo said

I don't think comparing coffee to horse piss is criticism and feedback

It's cowdung statement.

"As a business, they have to take criticisms and feedback. I'm entitled to my opinion that I don't like the coffee," Ms Loo said

I don't think comparing coffee to horse piss is criticism and feedback

It's cowdung statement.

Coming from a professional 31 years old social media consultant [rolleyes] [rolleyes]

but u will rem the shop rite?

"ohhh! i rem the shop sell horse piss kopi"..

I will only remember its negative points to avoid it.

To be remembered for the wrong reason. Is that how marketing works nowadays?

What's a "social media consultant" ?

Who or which authority confer her the honorary title of "consultant" ?

As for the restaurant, they have the right to challenge the "consultant"