Car Insurance Renewal

Kingkong

Would like to find out if anyone who had done renewal this year, did your premium increased compared to last year?

By increase, I mean all other factors remain the same, ie NCD & OFD.

If increased, please state by how much, and which company is it.

Mine was increased from $860 to $1040, and cited increase across the board from AIG.

An increase of 20% lei...

Thought the companies are already making $$ liao.

Edited by Kingkong

just shop around and get the cheaperer one.

Mine remained the same from the same insurer. So, I shopped, happened to chance upon Citi-AXA promo, got it $200 lower.

The thing with insurance is there's no loyalty one.

Would like to find out if anyone who had done renewal this year, did your premium increased compared to last year?

Mine was increased from $860 to $1040, and cited increase across the board from AIG.

It is likely due to increase in claims for:

1. Make & model similar to yours;

2. Drivers in your age bracket.

Make $$ does not mean make $$ across all make & model.

Go & source from other insurer loh.

If possible, change insurer every year. So they know you mean business.

That's why I don't always give to the cheapest one, but the cheaperer one. Sometimes, have to show them.....

Edited by Kangadrool

Am already asking around for better alternative. Just wanna find out if its true the increase is across. Looks like it is not.

Mine also from AIG and premium increased from $600 to $700.

In the end I switched to another insurer with a lower premium.

My last yr insurance was NTUC.

This year both NTUC n AIG give me same rate as last year ...

So Take AIG as they give free excess of $600 for 1st claim.

I'm sure u can get lower

Stayed with China Taiping for the past 4 years. My last premium March this year, is $527. 50% NCD comprehensive, OPC car. The year before was $602

I changed from lonpac to AXA Citibank promo. 25% cheaper than the renewal given by lonpac. Terms even better.

I renewed my insurance towards the end of last year. Switched from AIG to NTUC. When the AIG CSO asked me why I didn't want to renew with them, I just her matter-of-factly that I managed to find a cheaper insurer. She didn't even bother to see if she can do a reduction for AIG's offer.

just shop around and get the cheaperer one.

Mine remained the same from the same insurer. So, I shopped, happened to chance upon Citi-AXA promo, got it $200 lower.

The thing with insurance is there's no loyalty one.

I noticed sometimes the premium for comprehensive insurance cover is cheaper than premium for only 3rd party cover!! I was quoted for both on my COE car. Any brother has the same experience?

All the quotes I get, comprehensive is slighter more than 3rd party, abt 100-200 difference only.

I noticed sometimes the premium for comprehensive insurance cover is cheaper than premium for only 3rd party cover!! I was quoted for both on my COE car. Any brother has the same experience?

Direct Asia renewal at $1400.

Direct Asia online quote $1150.

When I took the screenshot to them, they say they will match the online quote.

Sometimes I really wonder what is going on.

trying to pull a fast one? Frankly i dont even bother to ask a quote from them. Too many patterns...

Or simply put it, they always try to rid off the loyal customers.

And what I heard, insurance don't pay in full.

As when comes to claims during the in-between period, fully paid premiums might not have a sucessful claim as they already took in the revenue.

Lucky you try the online quote, if not for nothing kana makan $250.

$250 can pump full tank few times!

As some said. There's no loyalty incentive and they dun value it. Contrary, they dangle carrot for new applicants. I change my insurer every year.