Buy a Ferrari on Groupon for $307,000

missmarigold

Always check groupon fine print... most of cheap stuff comes with gimmicks. hahaha

post-137676-0-85672500-1399517173.jpeg

Coupon website Groupon has listed a deal for a Ferrari California that lists its price at $307,000. That sounds like a bargain, but you'll have to register the car in Malaysia, where it's for sale (for RM800,000).

But that's not the only catch.

Look at the deal's fine print and you'll notice that the listed price excludes a duty payment of RM400,000. That brings the total price to RM1,200,000, or $460,607.

post-137676-0-05899300-1399517178.jpeg

Do your duty, and look

The deal allows you to put down a refundable RM5,000 deposit to book the Ferrari, and after inspecting and test-driving the car you have to plonk down the remaining RM1,195,000 to secure it.

No mention is made of whether the car is new or used, but the picture in the ad appears to feature a car from a used Ferrari specialist in the UK.

Perhaps the real catch is that the Ferrari California is set to be replaced by a heavily-revised model, the California T.

That's being launched on Thursday in Singapore, and apart from a restyled front end has a more powerful and less thirsty turbo engine than the California in the listing.

Edited by missmarigold

Groupon getting ambitious rah.

And even if it's cheaper, I cannot imagine the face of a driver who says he bought his Ferrari with a coupon. [laugh]

Groupon has similar deals in other countries too. Nothing new.

Damn dulan now!

I bought this deal from deal.com.sg (http://www.deal.com.sg/deals/singapore/only-1150-travel-adaptor-4-usb-ports-includes-4-different-plugs-choice-2-colours-1)

Price state $11.50, but original price was $59.90. Earlier when I went to collect, saw the pricing at $12 at the shop. Save 50 cents.. Kena cheated like fark sia... Not gonna use their site any more..

I admit, also my mistake for not checking up prices from other places, but this is a freaking scam lah...

All the deal sites so desperate already?

Damn dulan now!

I bought this deal from deal.com.sg (http://www.deal.com.sg/deals/singapore/only-1150-travel-adaptor-4-usb-ports-includes-4-different-plugs-choice-2-colours-1)

Price state $11.50, but original price was $59.90. Earlier when I went to collect, saw the pricing at $12 at the shop. Save 50 cents.. Kena cheated like fark sia... Not gonna use their site any more..

I admit, also my mistake for not checking up prices from other places, but this is a freaking scam lah...

They pull this kind of crap ALL the time. Mine was for aircon service. Bought a Groupon advertising "servicing for 2 units". They came home, and claimed that the Groupon only applied to one unit and I needed to top up for the other. Lan lan paid. Was angry about the deception, but since it was still a little cheaper than going back to Gain City, just let it slide after a single written complaint to Groupon (which they completely ignored - the company was allowed to carry on selling Groupons with the same deceptive advertising).

I wouldn't use Groupon without comparing prices first, because the "original price" is always overinflated crap. And the courier service SUCKS. They come as and when they feel like it, and you can't pin them down on a time or even a date. Request they call you first, and they ignore you. If you miss the delivery (mostly during office hours), either have to play the random waiting game again or bite the bullet and go pick it up.

Plus Groupon's "deals" are often more expensive than others like Qoo10, but the latter also has issues.

EDIT: Just saw yours was from "deals.com.sg" but I think they're all just as bad.

Damn dulan now!

Deal sites are mainly advertising agency lah. Merchants go to them to promote a product and they just put it up on the website for their members. Savings usually not much.

Damn dulan now!

i stop looking at groupon & deal, what you see there can get almost the same price in the retail shop or departmental store. The travel deal has hidden cost and when you think is cheap, you can get the same deal from other online booking.

They pull this kind of crap ALL the time. Mine was for aircon service. Bought a Groupon advertising "servicing for 2 units". They came home, and claimed that the Groupon only applied to one unit and I needed to top up for the other. Lan lan paid. Was angry about the deception, but since it was still a little cheaper than going back to Gain City, just let it slide after a single written complaint to Groupon (which they completely ignored - the company was allowed to carry on selling Groupons with the same deceptive advertising).

I wouldn't use Groupon without comparing prices first, because the "original price" is always overinflated crap. And the courier service SUCKS. They come as and when they feel like it, and you can't pin them down on a time or even a date. Request they call you first, and they ignore you. If you miss the delivery (mostly during office hours), either have to play the random waiting game again or bite the bullet and go pick it up.

Plus Groupon's "deals" are often more expensive than others like Qoo10, but the latter also has issues.

EDIT: Just saw yours was from "deals.com.sg" but I think they're all just as bad.

Guess the line "there's a sucker born every minute" held true for me. I was the sucker this time.. Previous time I got conned also similar way, RC helicopters.. The deal site sold at $30, UP $60.. Turned out, for $30, I could get a way better RC helicopter at Mustafa.. Fug them man..

I just downloaded an addon for Firefox to block sites, and I blocked deal.com.sg and groupon.com liao..

Deal sites are mainly advertising agency lah. Merchants go to them to promote a product and they just put it up on the website for their members. Savings usually not much.

Savings of 50 cents! I wouldn't have minded if they didn't artificially inflated the usual selling price and then said it was such a good deal. Then again, if the savings was 50 cents, I wouldn't have traveled so far just for this one item. (OK, two, since I bought for my friend too).. Still, the fuel and parking already didn't make it worth my while..

i stop looking at groupon & deal, what you see there can get almost the same price in the retail shop or departmental store. The travel deal has hidden cost and when you think is cheap, you can get the same deal from other online booking.

Ya, I blocked them already.. Now when I try to access it, the page wouldn't load on Firefox.. [bounce1] [bounce1] [bounce1]

Guess the line "there's a sucker born every minute" held true for me. I was the sucker this time.. Previous time I got conned also similar way, RC helicopters.. The deal site sold at $30, UP $60.. Turned out, for $30, I could get a way better RC helicopter at Mustafa.. Fug them man..

OT, but Mustafa has got some awesome RC helo models. Some of them damn big and well constructed, and they're not as expensive as you'd think!

Ya! I saw.. I wanna get one of them soon.. Last time was there with foreign friends, so can't do own shopping.. Haha.. You play RC helo too?

Hobby/Toy section is Mustafa is my must-visit if i go to that building. I suspect the items there are mostly on consignments.

Me small fry lah, but I've owned about 5 over time. :D All small type so I can play indoor with my kid. Break one, buy another loh. Though the latest one I bought from Mustafa very hardy, not broken for many months already.

Hobby/Toy section is Mustafa is my must-visit if i go to that building. I suspect the items there are mostly on consignments.

Quite convenient, first stop from the basement carpark.

Me small fry lah, but I've owned about 5 over time. :D All small type so I can play indoor with my kid. Break one, buy another loh. Though the latest one I bought from Mustafa very hardy, not broken for many months already.

Quite convenient, first stop from the basement carpark.

Best shopping layout in town for hobbyists!!!