Anti-China protesters in Vietnam

Jman888

Anti-China protesters set fire to factories in Singapore-run industrial parks
AFP Wednesday, May 14, 2014
V17.jpg?itok=EY6x4Ec8
*Update: In response to media queries on the protests at the Vietnam-Singapore Industrial Parks I and II in Binh Duong Province, Vietnam, an MFA Spokesman said:
"MFA has been informed of the protests that have broken out at the Vietnam-Singapore Industrial Parks (VSIP) I and II in Binh Duong and that a number of foreign companies have been broken into and set on fire. Singapore views this issue very seriously given our close economic cooperation with Vietnam. The Singapore Embassy in Hanoi and the Consulate-General in Ho Chi Minh City have separately requested the relevant Vietnamese authorities to restore order urgently.
"This morning, MFA called in the Vietnam Ambassador to Singapore to register its serious concerns about the security situation in VSIP I and II, and the attacks on foreign companies in the two industrial parks. MFA requests the Vietnamese government to act immediately to restore law and order in the two VSIPs before the security situation worsens and investor confidence is undermined."
The government of Singapore is monitoring the situation closely and so far there have not been any reports of Singaporeans affected by the demonstration. Singaporeans in Vietnam who require consular assistance can contact the Singapore Embassy in Hanoi, the Singapore Consulate-General in Ho Chi Minh City or the MFA 24-hour duty office at:
Embassy of the Republic of Singapore - Vietnam
No. 41 & 43, Tran Phu Street, Ba Dinh District, Hanoi, Vietnam
Tel: 001-84-(4) 38489168 or 001-(84) 904696589 (24-hours)
Fax: 001-84-(4) 38489178
Consulate-General of the Republic of Singapore - Vietnam (Ho Chi Minh City)
The Saigon Centre, Level 8, 65 Le Loi Boulevard, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Tel: 001-84-8-3822 5174 or 001 (84) 903 113 500 (24-hours)
Fax: 001-84-8-3914 2938
Ministry of Foreign Affairs Duty Office (24-hours)
Tel: 6379 8800, 6379 8855
Fax: 6476-7302

@Sabian : are you there?

Somebody investment $$$$$$$$ [angel] again leow lor .... [sly]

I always remember the Suchou Industrial project many many years back .... [lipsrsealed]

No wonder lar, asked 'not to aim high' .... :ph34r:

Edited by Picnic06

Somebody investment $$$$$$$$ [angel] again leow lor .... [sly]

I always remember the Suchou Industrial project many many years back .... [lipsrsealed]

No wonder lar, asked 'not to aim high' .... :ph34r:

Sounds like our gahmen's investments are So Jinxed man! :D

Yeah right, some fear mongers threaten to move their companies from Singapore to countries with cheaper labour.

Please move to Thailand and Vietnam and see what will happen.

Anti-China protest hits Vietnam factories
PUBLISHED ON MAY 13, 2014
HANOI - Anti-China protesters set more than a dozen factories on fire in Vietnam, state media said Wednesday, in an escalating backlash against Beijing's deployment of an oil rig in contested waters.
Workers looted goods and attacked offices in a rare outburst of public unrest Tuesday in the authoritarian communist nation, which allowed mass anti-China rallies around Vietnam at the weekend.
The protesters targeted manufacturing companies that are owned or managed by Chinese as well as Chinese workers in Binh Duong province, the Vietnam Singapore Industrial Park said in a statement.
There were no reports of casualties.
Tens of thousands of workers poured onto the streets Tuesday and a small number of them began looting and attacking security guards and factory management before setting fire to at least 15 factories, the state-run VNExpress website reported.
Videos and images posted on dissident blogs showed thousands of workers, many waving the Vietnamese flag, destroying factory gates and pouring into compounds and causing widespread destruction of property.
A number of Taiwanese, Japanese and South Korean businesses have shut their plants for the day, giving workers the day off, and have hung Vietnamese flags outside their business in a bid to deter looters, VNExpress added.
Hanoi's Ministry of Public Security has deployed rapid-response riot police to the area to reinforce local security staff and prevent further unrest, VNExpress said.
"There will be serious punishment for those who abused the situation to instigate unrest," local official Tran Van Nam was quoted as saying.
Taiwan condemned the violence and said it had urged Vietnam to guarantee the safety of Taiwanese nationals in the area.
"We urge the Vietnamese people to exercise restraint and not to take violent and non-rational actions as this would affect Taiwanese businessmen's willingness to invest," Foreign Minister David Lin said.
Vietnamese police and officials contacted by AFP repeatedly refused to comment.
China and Vietnam are locked in long-standing territorial disputes in the South China Sea over the Paracel and Spratly islands, which both claim.
There have been repeated skirmishes near the oil rig in recent days involving vessels from the two countries, with collisions and the use of water cannon.
Vietnamese protesters staged multiple, large anti-China demonstrations Sunday with at least 1,000 people gathering in Hanoi and a similar-sized crowd in Ho Chi Minh City.
Experts say Vietnam's leadership has allowed some public protests to go ahead as a means of expressing extreme discontent with Beijing.

they actually started with anit-china, suay suay taiwan and singapore also kena.

Edited by Jman888

Yeah right, some fear mongers threaten to move their companies from Singapore to countries with cheaper labour.

You can't put a price on the placidity of a workforce.

they still can go pinoyland u know!

Don't get the relation between subject header and the news content leh.

How come anti-China protesters burned Singapore-run industrial park?

Or are they anti-Singapore?

Errrrr.............. SG run Industrial Parks rental to China companies ..... [sly]

I think they view Taiwan and SIngapore as Chinese since we are majority ethic chinese hence have links to China. Also it could be instigated by the leaders to use it as an excuse to loot.

Like a joke I read before, the Ang mo say:

"Chinese, Japanese, Taiwanese your all the same!"

Edited by Pocus

飞车党趁火打劫
狮城厂区传枪声
14/05/2014 on 新明日报 by 萧佳慧
SM_14_05_2014_CJ_1_25012642_25012468_seo
越南民众在平阳省工业园展开大规模示威。(图/互联网)
越南民众因反对中国在南海架设钻油平台引发的示威,波及当地的外资企业,新加坡工厂区惊传枪声。
平阳省一个工业园区昨有工人举行大规模示威,其间有飞车党直闯工厂,大肆破坏工厂,趁火打劫。有当地的台籍员工批评,示威活动乃越南当局默许。
昨午1时,大批越南工人因为中越南海之争,在胡志明市北部的平阳省工业园区内示威,并攻击有中文字的厂商及商店,不但堆倒铁闸、击破工厂的玻璃窗,更抢夺设备。台商传回的照片显示,厂内办公室的遭示威者捣乱,有在平阳台商会馆的台商遭工人乱棍打伤送院。
目击者:新加坡工业区破坏最严重;示威者烧毁新加坡国旗。
完整报道,请翻阅14.05.2014的《新明日报》。

A number of Taiwanese, Japanese and South Korean businesses have shut their plants for the day, giving workers the day off, and have hung Vietnamese flags outside their business in a bid to deter looters, VNExpress added.

----------------

Vietnamese cannot tell the difference between Taiwanese, Japanese & Koreans? :o

One thing i thought of this:

They dare to speak out and act out just to protect their own country. Of course, I am not in favour of looting and setting of fires to destroy property. But, speaking out is something a citizen should do, right?

Then, I ask myself, do we singaporeans have the rights to speak out? Peaceful marching like in HK?

No way man, we need a licence just to speak out in Hong Lim Park. How pathetic !

Perhaps it is orchestrated by the viet govt to burn other proxy factories as a warning to China.... Unfortunately Taiwanese factories are the closest to actually burning a PRC one (it is part of China according to PRC).

Viets and Chinese are traditional enemies, 60's-70's China support for Vietnam was an abnormality. Tension will continue to simmer.

One thing i thought of this:

They dare to speak out and act out just to protect their own country. Of course, I am not in favour of looting and setting of fires to destroy property. But, speaking out is something a citizen should do, right?

Then, I ask myself, do we singaporeans have the rights to speak out? Peaceful marching like in HK?

No way man, we need a licence just to speak out in Hong Lim Park. How pathetic !

We did speak out.

That's how we ended up as bigots and xenophobic!