Conti Car Worth buying ?

KenNeo

Hey bros out there !

I am sharing my experience. For those who plan to buy conti car like BMW or others. Used car i am referring to.

Most people put this consideration in 1st piority when they decide to buy Big Car.

1. You can afford to make downpayment.

2. You can afford to pay monthly installment.

3. You can afford to pay insurance.

4. You can afford to pay road tax.

In the road , you can see alot of Merc, BMW . These 2 are the most common in singapore which is affordable.

Usually you make downpayment like $15k-$20 you can buy one 2000cc . In house-loan usually will accept.

When people said high maintainance costs for conti car. It is true.

In most cases, people can afford to purchase them but when problem kick in ... their pocket is burn a Huge hole and for many people cannot afford to pay for the repair/ replacement costs. Every CAR , problems kick in after 5years mark. every issue start coming in every year or so.

Don't think that you won't be so sway / unlucky. This issues is the life span of those parts, is not you lucky or not.

Problem can easily hit $3000 to over $10,000 repair costs. Gear Box issue most commonly ( huge costs ).

Seriously you earn $10,000 - $20,000 per month , even you can afford to pay for the repairs. Is it worth it? For those who earn lower than this amount then good luck to you! According to my regular workshop boss , he told me that alot of people can afford to buy bmw or merc but when repair time come ..... they can't afford to pay the amount and end up selling it away.

BMW compare to Merc benz , Merc benz is a better choice , they are much durable. BMW are not designed for long distance drive , like going to genting , kl ...etc Ofcourse you can drive but your parts worn out faster than you think ! I driven before Merc benz , BMW 3 series , 5 series , lexus and others. I have tested myself and my bmw came back singapore and straight back to my workshop for repair.

If you need a luxury car , choose Lexus . When it come down to repair , I guarantee you that the repair costs compare to conti repair is a huge surprise for you ! Toyota lexus repair can use any other toyota parts which means is much much cheaper. GS350 model. 250 model not all parts suitable.

Everyone understand Houses is Profit , Car is Loss . We need car , some need big some need small , no matter what we are trying to save as much as we can ! Drive Safe , Think Smart !

Enjoy guys ! Hope you like it !

Edited by KenNeo

So based on your write up...all should buy a Chery QQ..affordable... cheap parts...also go to workshop after a trip to genting like your BMW... ..all German Marquis eat sai liao...

hahahaha ... yeah Chery QQ can liao ... top speed in spore is 90kmph only what ... QQ can

So based on your write up...all should buy a Chery QQ..affordable... cheap parts...also go to workshop after a trip to genting like your BMW... ..all German Marquis eat sai liao...

BMW cannot go long journey .......

Tomorrow i go bang PML table. They never tell me that i can't drive from Tuas to Changi.

Of course, you need a grand tourer for that [laugh]

Upgraded Toyota ... luxury meh....

I would go for BMW and Merc anytime ....

It is about choice ..... and to each his own.

Just prove that this forum people like to sensationalise and have ADHD problem.

TS already put clearly he is talking about used conti cars that are going 5 years old that will incur high repair bills due to tear and wear items. Generally a very good piece of advise for those who think those cars are good deals.

Hey bros out there !

I am sharing my experience. For those who plan to buy conti car like BMW or others. Used car i am referring to.

Most people put this consideration in 1st piority when they decide to buy Big Car.

In the road , you can see alot of Merc, BMW . These 2 are the most common in singapore which is affordable.

Usually you make downpayment like $15k-$20 you can buy one 2000cc . In house-loan usually will accept.

In most cases, people can afford to purchase them but when problem kick in ... their pocket is burn a Huge hole and for many people cannot afford to pay for the repair/ replacement costs. Every CAR , problems kick in after 5years mark. every issue start coming in every year or so.

Don't think that you won't be so sway / unlucky. This issues is the life span of those parts, is not you lucky or not.

Problem can easily hit $3000 to over $10,000 repair costs. Gear Box issue most commonly ( huge costs ).

Seriously you earn $10,000 - $20,000 per month , even you can afford to pay for the repairs. Is it worth it? For those who earn lower than this amount then good luck to you! According to my regular workshop boss , he told me that alot of people can afford to buy bmw or merc but when repair time come ..... they can't afford to pay the amount and end up selling it away.

BMW compare to Merc benz , Merc benz is a better choice , they are much durable. BMW are not designed for long distance drive , like going to genting , kl ...etc Ofcourse you can drive but your parts worn out faster than you think ! I driven before Merc benz , BMW 3 series , 5 series , lexus and others. I have tested myself and my bmw came back singapore and straight back to my workshop for repair.

If you need a luxury car , choose Lexus . When it come down to repair , I guarantee you that the repair costs compare to conti repair is a huge surprise for you ! Toyota lexus repair can use any other toyota parts which means is much much cheaper. GS350 model. 250 model not all parts suitable.

Everyone understand Houses is Profit , Car is Loss . We need car , some need big some need small , no matter what we are trying to save as much as we can ! Drive Safe , Think Smart !

How about the maintenance cost for a 5 years old Lexus IS250?

Just sharing my personal experience.... not rich so stick to buying 2nd hand car..

i have 6yrold one for 2yr liao... previously driving 3series. for the is250.. bar 10k km normal servicing, didn't do anything else.... rest is cosmetic (keeping my fingers crossed)

My bill for the (6yo then as well)beemer repair was 8k in 11mths of ownership including a breakdown due to water tank burst which required engine flushing.

These are all costs...

From my exp... i really like the 3series drive better... and maybe suay i picked that one.. At least my lex now is hassle free :D

if you like driving....Bimmer gives the best experience...

Merc is over-rated... especially the newer ones... lack of road feel... AMG overly powerful with no matching control... to the point of feeling dangerous... W123 are the ones that made the mark for Mercedes.. those are built like a tank... newer ones pales ....

Lexus... like most Japanese makes... runs like a clock.. but its essentially a rebadged Toyota... get a Mark X and save a bundle..

On durability... its down to owner's driving habits and also upkeep... and throw in abit of luck (ie kana lemon)

My OC's 325i... clocked >160k still running fine with no major repairs... IMHO.. Bimmer is known for the IL-6.. their 4-cylinder not so good ... even the N20 also got durability problem...

Hey bros out there !

very good advice, i dun think ts is saying BMW not good, just that if u planning to drive 1 for 10 years, or getting a 5 years BMW, u must be prepared to spend on maintiance,

dun just buy the car base on monthly installation and insurace carpark, but leave out repair cost.

if you like driving....Bimmer gives the best experience...

Merc is over-rated... especially the newer ones... lack of road feel... AMG overly powerful with no matching control... to the point of feeling dangerous... W123 are the ones that made the mark for Mercedes.. those are built like a tank... newer ones pales ....

Lexus... like most Japanese makes... runs like a clock.. but its essentially a rebadged Toyota... get a Mark X and save a bundle..

On durability... its down to owner's driving habits and also upkeep... and throw in abit of luck (ie kana lemon)

My OC's 325i... clocked >160k still running fine with no major repairs... IMHO.. Bimmer is known for the IL-6.. their 4-cylinder not so good ... even the N20 also got durability problem...

is, GS & Mark X shares the same platform.

But these 3 are 3 totally diff car.

So, nvr compare IS & Mark X.

IS interior is so much more lux than Mark X

Hey bros out there !

Fully agree with you. I just scrapped my conti as it reached its10th year. My conti started showing major problem after the 5th year, and was limping for the following 5 years. My initial choice than was to replace with either a Merc or Lexus, knowing these 2 are the most robust for a preowned. However, as I wasn't willing to stretch that much, I bought a Jap instead.

worth or not is subjective..

some prefers a fun ride, but not so great in reliability.

some, cheap, but compromise on the ride, etc.

important is to do your research thoroughly before plunging into it.

are we talking about resale mercs and bmw or contis in general?

anyhow, resale mercs are ok. the only one not so reliable is bmw.

why paint all the contis with the same brush of the reliability of bmw?

even then some bmw owners like radx attest to reliability of bmw