Temporary Tire Repairs

Bluecollar

Hi All,

Some cars these days do not come with spare tires, although not much of an issues if you are in Singapore. However if traveling north in the middle of no man's land may be a problem and personally have a completely toasted tire with a spark plug pierced into the tires before in Malaysia.

So the question is can tire sealant helped until you find a next available tire shop??? What about sidewalls???.

Is there any external temporary patch of sort that can use on sidewall available in the market????

Note we are talking about temporary repairs only until you find earliest available help.

If it's sidewall damage, only way is replacement.

Maybe for your peace of mind, can buy a spare rim/tyre with and put in the boot.

Don't forget jack too.

Edited by Kangadrool

No point lah. The air pressure acting on the sidewalls will just blow whatever patch away. That's why you can't even find a temp solution in the market for this kinda thing. The only solution is in your boot - spare tire.

Anyway now cars have space saving tires that's skinny enough not to take up too much weight & space but it will bring you safely to a workshop to get your damaged tire fixed.

which baffle us since it's space saver, why scrimp on it and give us repair kit instead. I reckon those space saver tyres cost very little only.

No point lah. The air pressure acting on the sidewalls will just blow whatever patch away. That's why you can't even find a temp solution in the market for this kinda thing. The only solution is in your boot - spare tire.

Anyway now cars have space saving tires that's skinny enough not to take up too much weight & space but it will bring you safely to a workshop to get your damaged tire fixed.

bmw?

honda fit??

some model of audi

Really ah !!

Then if in a ulu remote place no one to call for help, how ??

temporary as just help you to mobile your car to the nearest shop to get the job done permanently

using those sticky stuff to seal the hole / minor cut even on sidewall temporary is possible.(better than no sparewheel)

only thing is you need to have a portable pump to inflate the flat tyre

There's no repair for sidewall damage.

to add in

IT is true that no sidewall repair is allow (not safe)

but now we are talking about temporary allow the car to move to taya shop to change new one or get it properly(permanently repair internally.

Do remember the insert may make your nail punctured hole bigger or crack(if is old age hardened taya)

Chop down a tree and cut into a wheel, fixed it and drive out from the jungle. :D

That's why never buy car w/o spare wheel/tyre.

Really ah !!

Edited by Kangadrool

Run flat tyres are designed to resist the effects of deflation after the tyre is punctured and the car should be able to continue to be driven at reduced speeds of up to around 80km/h (50mph) and generally for short distances limited to about between 50km to around 100km++ depending on the tyre model as indicated by the tyre manufacturer..

Some drivers also choose run flat tyres to have more space on the car boot by removing the spare tyre. With the spare tyre removed, it is generally said that because there is less load on the car, this also helps to remove fuel usage and improve overall mileage. This is even when run flat tyres tend to be slightly heavier than regular tyres.

Do note that even though run flat tyres are designed to offer the car driver extended mobility temporary even after the puncture causes complete air pressure loss, run flat tyres could still fail if the tyres are driven on too far, too fast or loaded too heavily when flat.

Which car nowadays have no spare tyre ??

Volvo is another without spare tire, the only thing now is to find how to get the spare tire into the car when it arrives.

You learn something new everyday......

Which car nowadays have no spare tyre ??

Volvo

Volvo is another without spare tire, the only thing now is to find how to get the spare tire into the car when it arrives.

You learn something new everyday......

In fact I was told by the SE that different batch of their new car come with either spare tyre OR repair kit. For the model come with repair kit, the boot design has no emboss area for spare tyre storage.

Hi All,

Some cars these days do not come with spare tires, although not much of an issues if you are in Singapore. However if traveling north in the middle of no man's land may be a problem and personally have a completely toasted tire with a spark plug pierced into the tires before in Malaysia.

So the question is can tire sealant helped until you find a next available tire shop??? What about sidewalls???.

Is there any external temporary patch of sort that can use on sidewall available in the market????

Note we are talking about temporary repairs only until you find earliest available help.

Your tire wud prob have been very old n worn for a spark plug to b able to pierce it.

And those liquid tire sealant unlikely can help. Either u use yr space-saver or u have another full sized tire in yr boot as a back-up.

Really ah !!

Then must cal Batman n Robin.

They always wil respond to a desperate call for help. But sad we dun stay in Gothem City. [:(]

That's why I m a AA member. Up north oso ok.

smartest MOVED AA AA AA all the way

sorry for AA staff

Edited by Roberttan