Getting PR for spouse

Sci10213

Hi

Can anyone here please share your experience in processing time for PR application for spouse? Preferably like to hear from those who have applied in recent 1-2 years...

If possible, can anyone who has connections with ICA staff care to share more about the main consideration factors to grant PR? I heard from many people that income is very important but anyone knows what is the "cut-off" e.g. monthly $5k, $8k, etc...

Thanks

Hi

Can anyone here please share your experience in processing time for PR application for spouse? Preferably like to hear from those who have applied in recent 1-2 years...

If possible, can anyone who has connections with ICA staff care to share more about the main consideration factors to grant PR? I heard from many people that income is very important but anyone knows what is the "cut-off" e.g. monthly $5k, $8k, etc...

Thanks

As dependent or on her own merit?

Hi

Thanks

What they take into account is very murky, and to the best of my knowledge has never been announced or discussed.

I would say, if its a "she", there are children involved and she is working - I don't see why it should be a problem.

talk to your MP in your area first. ask them to write letter...if you just apply, ICA may not approve....

I did apply for my wife PR a year plus back. Basically there are a lot of red tape to cross and you have to be really careful. From what I read in the expat foreign, some other foreigner forum where they are applying for PR, it seems top of the list of criteria is the nationality of your spouse. Followed by how long have he/she been in Singapore.

I was pretty lucky to have my wife application for PR approved at the first attempt. But this is coupled with numerous trips to the embassy, ICA and other stuff.

My wife is keen to become Singaporean so we will be following the rules and apply for her citizenship upon 2 years of PR status.

It appears "murky" 'cos they don't want applicants to "engineer" themselves to fit into those profile. And you start to have people questioning why their applications are not approved even though they have met all criterias, etc, etc......

Good and bad lah, but I think it's a wise move so far.

But ultimately it boils down to $$$ (economic contribution) + job stability.

that's what happened to my neighbour upstair. army regular... married a PRC.. pour hot water out of window etc... totally bitch. last year CNY hear she scolding the chap for wanting to give some money to his folk for CNY.

If my son is to tell me he is marrying a PRC woman, I will rather disown him early...

that's what happened to my neighbour upstair. army regular... married a PRC.. pour hot water out of window etc... totally bitch. last year CNY hear she scolding the chap for wanting to give some money to his folk for CNY.

If my son is to tell me he is marrying a PRC woman, I will rather disown him early...

they dun show their color until you sign on the dotted line [laugh][laugh]

hmm...

not to be an ass. but i know a guy that wife left him the moment she got her citizenship.

china woman. must be careful hor.

No need to be careful because it will eventually happen (for such women). Better to have it happen sooner than later.

Sianz..guy in singapore hard to get by...before get attached need to wreck brains to chase after all the princesses, after sign ROM, need to be careful of women charter..cos if wife made angry...wants to run road..still have split your hard earned $$ with her half half...

totally 'boh hwa' being a guy here..women make all the calls...

even if consider want to marry a foreign bride..also scared she run road after getting PR or citizenship..sigh.. [shakehead]

Hi

Thanks

ICA won't tell you the considerations to grant PR, simply becos every case is different.

ICA won't tell you the reason, when an application is rejected, simply becos every case is different. So don't bother to ask if rejected, just re-apply.

No need to be careful because it will eventually happen (for such women). Better to have it happen sooner than later.

but really do have some that have happy endings....

just that most of us hear too many horror stories about them

Wah lau, I got a friend his wife was born a citizen, but left him 1 year after marriage. So how ? Marriage of man and woman is a personal choice, nobody can say right or wrong except themselves.

i know a couple. met in ntu. got married. wife run away the night of the wedding dinner after everything complete.

sibei drama

Sianz..guy in singapore hard to get by...before get attached need to wreck brains to chase after all the princesses, after sign ROM, need to be careful of women charter..cos if wife made angry...wants to run road..still have split your hard earned $$ with her half half...

totally 'boh hwa' being a guy here..women make all the calls...

even if consider want to marry a foreign bride..also scared she run road after getting PR or citizenship..sigh.. [shakehead]

i heard you were looking at viet?

but really do have some that have happy endings....

just that most of us hear too many horror stories about them

i know a couple. met in ntu. got married. wife run away the night of the wedding dinner after everything complete.

sibei drama

I think what he mean is for those women that married for citizen one sooner or later will leave. hence better to be now then later.

don't think he mean to one bamboo break the whole ship.

Yeah lor..last resort...keke

u da best lar..now happily married and stable.. [thumbsup]