BB's Australia: Gold Coast Experience 2014 (With Pictures)

BabyBlade

Starting a travelogue complete with pictures taken from my GC 2014 trip (raw pics as I haven't got the time to edit). Anyone with pictures to share of your trip in any parts of Aussie, feel free to add on! @blueblueman this is for you.

More pictures, less words. ^_^

post-107101-0-74807800-1401606292_thumb.jpg

Traveled by FlyScoot.

post-107101-0-74971100-1401606298_thumb.jpg

Sea World

If you're going to Sea World, I suggest you put on lots of sunblock lotion, bring extra clothes as there are water rides there, and be dressed in casual = shorts, slippers. Weather isn't gonna be easy on you, as least for the month of April which I went.

post-107101-0-74408600-1401606440_thumb.jpg

post-107101-0-64733300-1401523051_thumb.jpg

Parking @ Sea World. Don't think you have to worry about parking lots as it is highly sufficient from what I saw.

post-107101-0-00742500-1401523087_thumb.jpg

post-107101-0-38747000-1401523308_thumb.jpg

post-107101-0-75711700-1401523315_thumb.jpg

Must watch Dolphin Show. Always the highlight.

Dinner @ Surfers Paradise. Many many food joints you don't have to worry about starving. Jap food, Korean food, American, Mediterranean, etc etc etc.

This is mine @ The Coffee Club, next to Ben & Jerry. Their sandwiches were pretty damn good.

post-107101-0-73967500-1401523382_thumb.jpg

post-107101-0-20918300-1401523391_thumb.jpg

post-107101-0-82212600-1401523398_thumb.jpg

Movie World

post-107101-0-62380100-1401523423_thumb.jpg

One of the two best rides. Batwing Spaceshot drop and Superman Escape rollercoaster ride (accelerates 0 to 100 in 2 seconds!) Don't forget to take the Green Lantern rollercoaster too, located directly beside the entrance in full view.

post-107101-0-78268600-1401523441_thumb.jpg

post-107101-0-19543500-1401523450_thumb.jpg

Crowd on a weekday, I think it was on a Monday.

post-107101-0-86427100-1401523475_thumb.jpg

Pavilion. Gather around here for the Batman - Shadows of Gotham live show at 1pm.

post-107101-0-64945000-1401523499_thumb.jpg

post-107101-0-53528200-1401523509_thumb.jpg

Hollywood Stunt Driver 2 live show, featuring gun shots, explosions and car chases. Right after the Batman live show ended at 1.15pm, everyone went to queue up for the 2pm Hollywood stunt show. They didn't have proper allocated queues so it's gonna be pretty messed up. Good thing is that the venue is able to accommodate a whole lot of people.

post-107101-0-50492900-1401523535_thumb.jpg

Arkham Asylum (Suspended roller coaster) MUST TAKE!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oSFRpJO2xgE

post-107101-0-60186100-1401523559_thumb.jpg

post-107101-0-95283100-1401523568_thumb.jpg

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=siKw60INs0Y

post-107101-0-85737200-1401523600_thumb.jpg

Kebabs widely sold in Surfers Paradise. Had to try one since it was everywhere.

post-107101-0-90161900-1401523762_thumb.jpg

post-107101-0-60199100-1401523772_thumb.jpg

post-107101-0-95334900-1401523783_thumb.jpg

Remember to update GPS maps. Roadworks all around (especially at Surfers Paradise since they are doing hte railway line) and GPS navigation isn't accurate, as experienced on my friend's GPS.

post-107101-0-83138200-1401523794_thumb.jpg

Surfers Paradise Beach

post-107101-0-10459500-1401523806_thumb.jpg

Q1 Observation Deck

post-107101-0-61918400-1401523817_thumb.jpg

Quite suaku. First time seeing such pay-to-park machine. [laugh] From what I observed, it gets extremely hard to find a road side/parallel parking lot at Surfers Paradise in the nighttime. We had to park inside of those buildings quite a distance away from the main beach.

post-107101-0-01661100-1401523828_thumb.jpg

post-107101-0-68255400-1401523843_thumb.jpg

post-107101-0-38790000-1401523856_thumb.jpg

3 minutes of wow and after that I'm thinking okay what's for lunch.. It's one of those gotta do and visit places when you're in GC but it gets boring after 3 minutes, IMO haha.

Lunch @ Harbourtown Shopping Center.

Everyone says Fish & Chips is a must to try in Aussie and so we did. Cheap and good!

post-107101-0-28576700-1401524333_thumb.jpg

post-107101-0-47385400-1401524347_thumb.jpg

post-107101-0-22868700-1401524358_thumb.jpg

Parking @ Harbourtown.

To be continued.................................

• Praise 13

most impt pic is missing, pic of you [laugh] [laugh]

why you so tiko de........but we same same thought...... [:p][laugh]

Edited by Tianmo

why you so tiko de.......... [:p][laugh]

oei, i only help u all ask the question that u so wanted to ask, why u accuse me? [:|]

in terms of tikoness, i m in no where near your league [lipsrsealed][laugh] [laugh]

oei, i only help u all ask the question that u so wanted to ask, why u accuse me? [:|]

in terms of tikoness, i m in no where near your league [lipsrsealed][laugh] [laugh]

You need to go mountain to train then can reach his level. [laugh] [laugh]

Here's Part II!

Brisbane for 2 days 1 night.

Took the train to Brisbane and our sg friend who is studying at a local uni there came to fetch us from the train station. As it was late at night he brought us to do some quick sightseeing nearby.

post-107101-0-80430400-1401525528_thumb.jpg

The Wheel of Brisbane (over 80meters high), for all of us in SG this is nth much as the Singapore Flyer is already 167.6m. When my friend told us "Bring you guys to see the Ferris wheel", our reply was "Why sia. We already got SG Flyer lei." Hahaha. Idiot Singaporeans like us everything also want to compare. [laugh]

post-107101-0-49592400-1401525536_thumb.jpg

Man-made beach out of nowhere in the City. Chlorine smell super strong!

The Three Monkeys cafe for desserts.

I have a super sweet tooth so dessert is a must to have each day! Read pretty good reviews online about their cakes. Actually it was only so so for me. I've had better ones in SG, but the rustic atmosphere's good to chill out in with friends, esp since it opens till late.

post-107101-0-07200900-1401525543_thumb.jpg

post-107101-0-85191800-1401525551_thumb.jpg

post-107101-0-16436800-1401525560_thumb.jpg

post-107101-0-00762900-1401525569_thumb.jpg

post-107101-0-22108600-1401525584_thumb.jpg

post-107101-0-54121700-1401525595_thumb.jpg

post-107101-0-93699400-1401525604_thumb.jpg

post-107101-0-37998200-1401525616_thumb.jpg

I think this is called the Story Bridge.

Breakfast @ The Newsroom Cafe, Brisbane

post-107101-0-57150900-1401525625_thumb.jpg

post-107101-0-69098800-1401525635_thumb.jpg

post-107101-0-00277900-1401525646_thumb.jpg

Damn good breakfast and extremely big portion. Almost everything served in Aussie is more than what you would get in Singapore. The portion is good enough to share between two girls.

Road trip to Byron Bay (Cape Byron Lighthouse) from Brisbane.

Approximately two hours drive to our destination via Gold Coast Highway. Extremely scenic views once you exit the highway. Drivers are extremely courteous and keep off the fast lane, gives way automatically to faster cars, and 9/10 drivers uses their signal. [thumbsup]

post-107101-0-95554000-1401531499_thumb.jpg

post-107101-0-93219400-1401531508_thumb.jpg

Cape Byron Lighthouse (Australia's most eastern point)

post-107101-0-49154400-1401531520_thumb.jpg

post-107101-0-26439100-1401531531_thumb.jpg

post-107101-0-16948300-1401531540_thumb.jpg

There's actually lots to do in Byron Bay. For the beach and sun lovers, there's always surfing, kayaking, scuba diving, snorkeling. Then there's paragliding for the thrill seekers! Rushing for time so didn't play any of those. My main purpose was to look see around the lighthouse. Saw wild dolphins too! More than 10 of them together.

Byron Bay was by far the most beautiful place that I've visited for my 2014 GC trip.

To be continued...

Nice , reliving some memories.

Thanks.

Glad you like it! Shows that my effort for uploading these hasn't gone to waste. ^_^

most impt pic is missing, pic of you [laugh] [laugh]

Haha. I knew, I knew I knew. I knew this was coming somehow. [laugh]

Part 3!

Hurricane's Grill @ Surfers Paradise.

Famous for their ribs, steaks. This is heaven for meat lovers but I'm not one so to see beef ribs, pork ribs etc right infront of me was quite nauseating to say the least. Haha. Food was okay though, if you're a meat lover I'm sure it will be mouth watering good (to you).

post-107101-0-65345200-1401532915_thumb.jpg
Beef Ribs

post-107101-0-08357500-1401532934_thumb.jpg
Definitely need salad after having such a sinful dinner.

post-107101-0-59279100-1401532925_thumb.jpg
I love chicken! [laugh]

Breakfast @ Chevon Island's 58 The Village (Stone-throw away from Surfers Paradise).

To those who don't already know, I've mentioned on the other thread that I stayed in a homestay instead of hotels, motels, hostels. We wanted to save on accommodation since we will be on the road most of the time anyway and it was one of the best decision made. This little cafe was highly recommended by the host of my homestay. We stayed at Chevron Island itself, so we only needed to walk to get to 58 The Village.

post-107101-0-98905000-1401532943_thumb.jpg
post-107101-0-74189200-1401532951_thumb.jpg
Their breakfast = one of the BEST I've had, similar to the ones we have in SG like Wild Honey etc, but BETTER. I gobbled all up. Portion wasn't the usual upsize one sadly, I could have eaten all.

Hot-air Balloon Flight with Hotair

Coach picked us up at 4am Aussie time, about an hour or so coach ride to the launch venue.

post-107101-0-69758400-1401532959_thumb.jpg

post-107101-0-02250200-1401532969_thumb.jpg

post-107101-0-22671300-1401532980_thumb.jpg

Preparing the balloon.

post-107101-0-50850500-1401532987_thumb.jpg

post-107101-0-47682100-1401532994_thumb.jpg

post-107101-0-24525500-1401533002_thumb.jpg

post-107101-0-58770000-1401533010_thumb.jpg

Our experienced ballooner.

post-107101-0-74914000-1401533020_thumb.jpg

post-107101-0-25595900-1401533032_thumb.jpg

post-107101-0-76240900-1401533039_thumb.jpg

post-107101-0-32376200-1401533051_thumb.jpg

post-107101-0-29277000-1401533059_thumb.jpg

post-107101-0-64633300-1401533068_thumb.jpg

An hour plus of flight time before we landed. Wasn't as scary as I thought it would be and it flies really slow. It is as fast as the wind takes you. Pretty stable but I didn't dare to move much lol. Place to land would actually depend on the wind conditions but the whole place is surrounded by greens. Weather was a little cloudy, cooling.

post-107101-0-84023800-1401533077_thumb.jpg

The dirty part of the hot-air balloon ride which our guide cheekily said 'Didn't read the fine prints, did you?." Keeping the balloon back, and getting your hands dirty! Cow dungs all around btw but it's all part of the experience.

post-107101-0-33404200-1401533089_thumb.jpg

post-107101-0-65696400-1401533096_thumb.jpg

Champagne breakfast at O'Reilly's Grand Homestead (provided for).

post-107101-0-93653900-1401533103_thumb.jpg

post-107101-0-47897800-1401533113_thumb.jpg

post-107101-0-11758900-1401533121_thumb.jpg

post-107101-0-91452200-1401533129_thumb.jpg

post-107101-0-35216800-1401605554_thumb.jpg

post-107101-0-12703800-1401605563_thumb.jpg

Elvis Presley Boulevard?

Fantastic breakfast, fantastic overall experience and at a great price we paid for.

Bought this deal from experienceoz website.

http://www.experienceoz.com.au/gold-coast/activities/ballooning-climb-and-sky-pass/ballooning-climb-and-sky-pass

To be continued....

Time to kickstart my Saturday instead of spending so much time infront of the computer. Lol.

still missing the all impt pic leh [smash] [smash]

Nah, the girl [gorgeous] in black jacket holding a professional camera and the other picture is her back facing us talking to AM, I'm getting jealous she talk to the AM liao :angry:

Above second last picture captured Porker most valuable asset [laugh]

Edited by Fongmy

Nah, the girl [gorgeous] in black jacket holding a professional camera and the other picture is her back facing us talking to AM, I'm getting jealous she talk to the AM liao :angry:

AM tua kee, u buey song ah? [laugh] [laugh]

seems like this didn't change much 15 years ago.

And most probably the same for another 15 years............. [grin]

You saw some pics of beaches? Look harder, maybe one of the bikinied bodies belong to TS!!!

give me a shout if you need a magnifying glass!! [grin]