VW jin-buay-song owner

Eyke

A3 uses S-tronic which is a 7-speed dual clutch tranny.

A6 2.0L uses multitronic which is CVT in Audi's speak.

So, you go figure out, which is more/less problematic.

Then the previous A4 3.2 quattro, with Tiptronic automatic transmission even lagi less problematic (more reliable).

I would rank them as follows:

1. Tiptronic automatic, most reliable, most costly

2. Multitronic (CVT), less reliable, less costly

3. 7-sp dry DSG, least reliable, least costly (cheapest)

I'd leave it to the better informed, to slot in where the 6-sp wet DSG should be in the reliability vs cost-to-manufacture scale.

In life, more often than not, good things don't come cheap!

I test drove the A3 recently. Like it very much. Was told it uses the same engine as the Jetta. The SE said the GB built in Europe and VW built in South Africa so cannot compare. Audi has better QC and workmanship so no issue on their GB.

I still feel insecure after hearing so many complaints about this GB.

Anyone can comment if the above is true?

load of bull. it is the design issue, not made in where issue.

Audi_3.gif

This is the graphical view. A4 least reliable than A3 and even A3 more reliable than A6.

maybe due to the numbers on the road now?

Let me count, i drive my VW Touran for 2 years and 8 months before trading it in.

So is it long enough for you haha?

Not all vw owners are unhappy. I highly suspect those who make loudest noise are those who drove jap cars previously and have been having second thoughts all along. So suay suay got the lemon dsg and complain and complain to vent their frustrations.

If not wrong, you also change to Jap car (Mazda Biante) recently.

Why never stick to VW but change to Jap car? Why change car at 2 years 8 months? Is it VW warranty expiring at 3 years?

Just curious....

Then the previous A4 3.2 quattro, with Tiptronic automatic transmission even lagi less problematic (more reliable).

I would rank them as follows:

1. Tiptronic automatic, most reliable, most costly

2. Multitronic (CVT), less reliable, less costly

3. 7-sp dry DSG, least reliable, least costly (cheapest)

I'd leave it to the better informed, to slot in where the 6-sp wet DSG should be in the reliability vs cost-to-manufacture scale.

In life, more often than not, good things don't come cheap!

If A3 is using DSG and A4 is using CVT, then why statistics show A4 less reliable than A3?

ahemmm.....that's kinda like saying fail at 49 marks is better than failing at 40 marks. but bottom line is: still fail. [:p]

It is a different discussion leh...we are talking about whether A4/A6 more reliable than A3. Comparative analysis lah.

If A3 is using DSG and A4 is using CVT, then why statistics show A4 less reliable than A3?

the year of a report

age of tested vehicles

vintage

average fault rate

amount of models in a report Audi A3

rank

fault rate Compare with

car make - modelAlfa Romeo 145Alfa Romeo 147Alfa Romeo 156Alfa Romeo 159Alfa Romeo MiToAudi 100Audi 80Audi A2Audi A3Audi A4Audi A5Audi A6Audi A8Audi Q5Audi Q7Audi TTBMW 1BMW 3BMW 5BMW 7BMW MiniBMW X3BMW X5BMW Z3BMW Z4Chevrolet AveoChevrolet KalosChevrolet MatisChevrolet MatizChrysler Grand CherokeeChrysler PT CruiserChrysler VoyagerCitroën AXCitroën BerlingoCitroën BXCitroën C1Citroën C2Citroën C3Citroën C4Citroën C4 PicassoCitroën C5Citroën SaxoCitroën XantiaCitroën XsaraCitroën ZXDacia LoganDacia SanderoDaewoo KalosDaewoo LanosDaewoo MatisDaewoo NubiraDaihatsu CuoreDaihatsu SirionFiat 500Fiat BarchettaFiat BravaFiat BravoFiat CinquecentoFiat DoblóFiat Grande PuntoFiat MareaFiat MultiplaFiat Palio WeekendFiat PandaFiat PuntoFiat SeicentoFiat StiloFiat TipoFiat UnoFord C-MaxFord EscortFord FiestFord FiestaFord FocusFord FusionFord GalaxyFord KaFord KugaFord MondeoFord S-MaxFord ScorpioFord SierraHonda AccordHonda CivicHonda CR-VHonda CRVHonda JazzHonda LogoHyundai AccentHyundai AtosHyundai ElantraHyundai GalloperHyundai GetzHyundai i10Hyundai i20Hyundai i30Hyundai LantraHyundai MatrixHyundai PonyHyundai Santa FeHyundai TucsonHyundai TusconJeep Grand CherokeeKia CarnivalKia Cee´dKia KarnivalKia PicantoKia PrideKia RioKia SephiaKia SorentoLancia YLancia Y10Lancia YpsilonLand Rover FreelanderMazda 121Mazda 2Mazda 3Mazda 323Mazda 5Mazda 6Mazda 626Mazda DemioMazda MX 5Mazda MX-5Mazda MX5Mazda PremacyMercedes-Benz 190Mercedes-Benz AMercedes-Benz BMercedes-Benz CMercedes-Benz CLKMercedes-Benz CLSMercedes-Benz EMercedes-Benz GLKMercedes-Benz MMercedes-Benz MLMercedes-Benz SMercedes-Benz SLMercedes-Benz SLKMitsubishi CarismaMitsubishi ColtMitsubishi GalantMitsubishi OutlanderMitsubishi PajeroMitsubishi SpaceMitsubishi Space WagonNissan AlmeraNissan MicraNissan NoteNissan PrimeraNissan QashqaiNissan SerenaNissan SunnyNissan TerranoNissan Terrano IINissan X-TrailOpel AgilaOpel AntaraOpel AstraOpel CorsaOpel Corsa BOpel FronteraOpel InsigniaOpel MerivaOpel OmegaOpel SharanOpel SignumOpel TigraOpel Tigra TwinTopOpel VectraOpel ZafiraPeugeot 1007Peugeot 106Peugeot 107Peugeot 205Peugeot 206Peugeot 207Peugeot 306Peugeot 307Peugeot 308Peugeot 309Peugeot 405Peugeot 406Peugeot 407Peugeot 806Peugeot 807Peugeot PartnerPorsche 911Porsche 993Porsche 996Porsche BoxsterPorsche BoxterPorsche CayennePorsche CaymanRenault 19Renault 21Renault ClioRenault EspaceRenault KangooRenault LagunaRenault MéganeRenault ModusRenault ScénicRenault TwingoSaab 9-3Saab 9-5Saab 900Seat AlhambraSeat AlteaSeat ArosaSeat CordobaSeat IbizaSeat LeonSeat ToledoSmart City CoupéSmart ForfourSmart FortwoSubaru ForesterSubaru ImprezaSubaru LegacySuzuki BalenoSuzuki Grand VitaraSuzuki IgnisSuzuki JimnySuzuki SplashSuzuki SwiftSuzuki SX4Suzuki VitaraSuzuki Wagon R+Škoda FabiaŠkoda FavoritŠkoda FeliciaŠkoda OctaviaŠkoda RoomsterŠkoda SuperbToyota AurisToyota AvensisToyota AygoToyota CarinaToyota CorollaToyota Corolla VersoToyota IQToyota PicnicToyota PriusToyota RAV4Toyota StarletToyota YarisVolkswagen CaddyVolkswagen EosVolkswagen FoxVolkswagen GolfVolkswagen Golf PlusVolkswagen LupoVolkswagen New BeetleVolkswagen PassatVolkswagen Passat CCVolkswagen PhaetonVolkswagen PoloVolkswagen SciroccoVolkswagen SharanVolkswagen TiguanVolkswagen TouaregVolkswagen TouranVolvo 440Volvo 540Volvo 850Volvo 940Volvo C30Volvo C70Volvo S40Volvo S60Volvo S70Volvo S80Volvo S90Volvo V40Volvo V50Volvo V70Volvo XC70Volvo XC90 2013 - 2-3 years - ±2009

6.2% -- 132 car models 13.

percentage.gifpercentage_out.gif

3.9% 41.

5.0% 2012 - 2-3 years - ±2008

5.9% -- 129 car models 23.

4.1% 30.

4.4% 2011 - 2-3 years - ±2007

5.5% -- 132 car models 13.

3.3% 31.

4.2% 2013 - 4-5 years - ±2007

10.8% -- 121 car models 19.

6.9% 22.

7.3% 2010 - 2-3 years - ±2006

5.1% -- 131 car models 17.

3.3% 23.

3.5% 2012 - 4-5 years - ±2006

10.3% -- 122 car models 21.

6.8% 15.

6.2% 2009 - 2-3 years - ±2005

5.0% -- 117 car models 25.

3.7% 22.

3.5%

http://www.anusedcar.com/index.php/tuv-model/audi-a3

This is TUV report - another view which shows A3 more reliable than A4.

not all models of A4 using CVT. only the 1.8L version. the 2.0L is using a diff GB.

Hello, you quite blur ah?

When did I say A4 uses ONLY CVT? It was someone else, perhaps.

It is not the model that determines the transmission system, but the engine type/capacity that it is paired with.

So A4 1.8T had the CVT

A4 3.2 NA had the Tiptronic automatic

A4 3.0T has the 6-sp S-Tronic (aka wet DSG)

Your stats read from where one?

Does it have the granularity to breakdown by sub-model, engine and transmission type?

If not, no point comparing, nor arguing.

Do you know if that came from a country having A4s with the dreaded 7-dry DSG?

No wonder it's so unreliable lah! :D

As far as many past owners and the world at large knows it, any VAG model, whether A1, A3, A-what, Golf, Scirocco, Touran, whatever lah - as long as it comes with the 7-dry DSG (typically mated to 1.4T and 1.2T engined models) are the least reliable.

In fact, the worst of the lot.

Edited by W210k

Let me count, i drive my VW Touran for 2 years and 8 months before trading it in.

Not all vw owners are unhappy. I highly suspect those who make loudest noise are those who drove jap cars previously and have been having second thoughts all along. So suay suay got the lemon dsg and complain and complain to vent their frustrations.

Lemon too sour liao huh?

2 year 8 month only? how come not further huh?

Let's me guess... Maybe u going to tell me u are very rich...

But y go for a lousy Jap car which you claim leh?

Mazda better huh?

How come u didn't upgrade to Passat or Tiguan since u love VW soooooooooooooooooooo much?

Or u don't mind eating humble pie?

Poor guy.. i pity u.. [grin]

By the way, how was the resale value huh?

Is the salesman impressed with your lemonade ?

Muhahahhahahaa [drivingcar]

Edited by L23

So you think people that buy lemons from VW and got bad service from the AD should

just keep quiet and not complain?

This is a car forum and we come here to share what is good and no good so that buyers

can make an informed decision.

I would like to thank all the people here for sharing their valuable experience

on their cars and the service they have been receiving.

If you do not like to hear people's opinions on their cars then maybe you are in the wrong

forum and if you only like to hear good things then I think there is a radio station just for you.

Did i mention that we should just keep quiet about the problems? Or did i just touch on the underlying cause?

Touch your heart and say what i wrote earlier is not true.

so ur 2.67 yo ride nvr ever have any issue, including MU and clutch replacement? what's the mileage like?

Think i put down somewhere in this forum already.

My touran went through 2 mu changes and a clutch change, aircon fan spolit, battery replacement, all foc under warranty. To me is ok to be down once or twice for the joy that the car brought. I was still happy with the car when i sold it. Doesn't mean cannot sell car even when still happy with it right haha?

Btw, my mileage is pretty industry standard.

My touran went through 2 mu changes and a clutch change, aircon fan spolit, battery replacement, all foc under warranty. To me is ok to be down once or twice for the joy that the car brought. I was still happy with the car when i sold it. Doesn't mean cannot sell car even when still happy with it right haha?

But you can't deny the fact that you moved on to a Japanese brand and that doesn't add up if you were so happy with it and doesn't mind a bit spoil here and there... The key is why move to nippon made after owning conti and I think money is never your concern from the way you write your post... Hehehe

Did i mention that we should just keep quiet about the problems? Or did i just touch on the underlying cause?

Touch your heart and say what i wrote earlier is not true.

That sounds so familiar. I wonder where I have read that before.

Are you a VW dealer?

You should read your own words.

some pple are happy even when shit happens / they get screwed over,

but good lah, coz they can live happily watever happens

So I guess probably no more than 75k km when u sold it.

Jus sharing, my prev MIT cpt only replaced batt til I sold it at 3.5yrs w 70k km. I'm also still happy when I sold it.

But you can't deny the fact that you moved on to a Japanese brand and that doesn't add up if you were so happy with it and doesn't mind a bit spoil here and there... The key is why move to nippon made after owning conti and I think money is never your concern from the way you write your post... Hehehe

dissonance?

dissonance?

Ummm not a doctor or in medical field, you tell me lor... Hehehe

https://sg.news.yahoo.com/toyota-recalls-2-27-mn-vehicles-globally-over-055608612--finance.html

Toyota recalls 2.27 million vehicles over airbag defect.

Now it is Toyota's turn and its airbag defect can result in fire. I guess no manufacturers are spared...

It has been discussed before, it's never about car recall but about ability to solve the defect after recall.... Don't compare an apple with a coconut... Hehehe