All Malaysian highway rest stops to become smoke-free zones

Tianmo

Hosay liao............ciggy going to increase price in MY........smoking at R&R tio orh gong RM250-RM500.........worse than speeding......

http://transport.asiaone.com/news/general/story/all-malaysian-highway-rest-stops-become-smoke-free-zones

IPOH - Smokers will have even fewer places to light up soon. All rest and recreation (R&R) stops along highways are to be designated as "no-smoking" zones by year-end, with the coverage expanding to a radius of 3m around the covered areas of the facility.

Health Minister Datuk Seri Dr S. Subramaniam, who announced this yesterday, said it would mean that eateries and even toilets at R&Rs would be smoke-free.

He added that the ministry had set a target to lower the number of smokers in the country by 16 per cent because the Global Adult Tobacco Survey 2011 showed that 23.1 per cent or 4.7 million Malaysians were smokers.

Vowing to expand "no-smoking" zones in the country, Dr Subramani­am said discussions had been held with the relevant agencies and all had agreed to gazetting R&Rs as "no-smoking" zones.

"We want to implement this as soon as possible.

"The smoke-free zones will cover a 3m radius within the area," he told reporters after launching the national-level "International No Tobacco Day" event at a hypermarket in Meru Raya here.

Dr Subramaniam said that Kuala Lumpur City Hall (DBKL) would also gazette its sheltered walkways spanning 23km in the city centre as smoke-free zones.

"The authorities will also be stepping up enforcement and monitoring these areas to deter people from smoking.

"I know that enforcement will be a challenge as it covers a large area but it will be done.

"It is only through strict enforcement that we can drive our message across," he said, adding that offenders could be fined between RM250 and RM500.

The minister warned that those who failed to pay their compounds could be brought to court and fined a maximum of RM10,000 or face up to two years in prison if found guilty.

Dr Subramaniam said the ministry had also beefed up enforcement against sales and procurement of illegal cigarettes.

He added that the ministry wanted a 70 per cent tax imposed on cigarettes to deter the young from picking up the habit.

- See more at: http://transport.asiaone.com/news/general/story/all-malaysian-highway-rest-stops-become-smoke-free-zones#sthash.eGTvQhAS.dpuf

Even if strictly enforced, people there would just switch to chewing tobacco. boleh means boleh.

one stone so many birds............increase tax ..........orh gong...........kopi money...........imagine speeding official ticket is rm150-rm300 the kopi is rm50...............this one orh gong rm250-rm500 means kopi is rm100 liao...........huat liao....... [laugh] [laugh]

Smoke inside car lor.... It's all about playing with words and looking out for loopholes.

But then I wonder who is so Bo liao to come up with such law/regulation because the purpose of these rest stop is for the drivers and commuters to have a short break by having toilet break Makan break n smoke break to recharge themselves.

Life is already so miserable , why make it more worst by doing this stun?

can always smoke next to the car.

smoke next to car hot lah.........want to take 5 have a coffee and ciggy mah............or go toilet come out light a ciggy .....by the time walk to car just nice finish liao............

Smoke inside car lor.... It's all about playing with words and looking out for loopholes.

But then I wonder who is so Bo liao to come up with such law/regulation because the purpose of these rest stop is for the drivers and commuters to have a short break by having toilet break Makan break n smoke break to recharge themselves.

Life is already so miserable , why make it more worst by doing this stun?

collect money legally mah............

Rules can be implemented by any Tom, Dick or Harry!

It's juz a matter of whether its being enforced tat shows the country effiency level.

Dun say bolehland, even my place void deck, people still blatantly smoke and illegally playing cards!

Call NEA, SPF and even send email to MP also useless!

Bloody inefficient wayang organization who can only work during GE.

PUI!!!!

Edited by Ronleo

Rules can be implemented by any Tom, Dick or Harry!

It's juz a matter of whether its being enforced tat shows the country effiency level.

Dun say bolehland, even my place void deck, people still blatantly smoke and illegally playing cards!

Call NEA, SPF and even send email to MP also useless!

Bloody inefficient wayang organization who can only work during GE.

PUI!!!!

gambling???.........

my side complain only they run here and see............. [laugh] [laugh]

I have no problem with people smoking. It's their freedom. However, the ONLY pet peeve I have is those who smoke and walk at the same time. The whole trail is filled with tobacco smell!

gambling???.........

my side complain only they run here and see............. [laugh] [laugh]

Yah... A group of ard 6-8 Lao Beng smoking and gambling at the resident corner!

Littering the whole floor with cigarette butts and ashes, and also causing the void deck to stink!

Been going on for mths liao...

Yah... A group of ard 6-8 Lao Beng smoking and gambling at the resident corner!

Littering the whole floor with cigarette butts and ashes, and also causing the void deck to stink!

Been going on for mths liao...

resident corner..............I think under RC leh............have to talk to RC manager.......

I have no problem with people smoking. It's their freedom. However, the ONLY pet peeve I have is those who smoke and walk at the same time. The whole trail is filled with tobacco smell!

I also have no problem with people smoking too ( btw, I'm a smoker)!!!

Juz tat be considerate and smoke at designated areas! Try bringing your kids walking thru a cloud of smoke every evening!

resident corner..............I think under RC leh............have to talk to RC manager.......

RC manager? Ok... Didn't cross my mind. Tks pal!