Soon Huat Tyres - Closed?

Emils

Has anyone visited Soon Huat Tyres recently? Noticed that its website has been down for the past few weeks. Wonder if it's still in business.

Edited by Emils

website was good when I visited 10 seconds ago. Think it'll be faster to just call them

40 Toh Guan Road East
#01-67 Enterprise Hub
Singapore 608582
Tel: 9365 5498
Fax: 6896 6970

Email: [email protected]

Edited by Othello

Car battery Posted on 20-Mar-2016 spacer.gif Overall Rating:  

• Technical Expertise1/5
  • Customer Service1/5
  • Value for money1/5
  • Outlet Experience1/5

Will never patronize this outlet again. Purchased car battery with warranty only to realize when battery is faulty, your warranty is 'pro-rated' never heard about pro-rated warranties. Would you want to replace your battery there again. OF COURSE NOT. BEWARE OF SUCH SHOPS.

Management Response by Soon Huat Tyres Pte Ltd

We had done a check on your car battery upon your arrival and the battery is in working condition. Based on the product warranty policy, we are unable to exchange the car battery for you. We can only do one to one exchange when the car battery is not in working condition.

We can understand your concern when there is a comment from another workshop that the battery may be faulty soon. We did offer a goodwill discount to you, a 10% discount when you decided to change the battery with us. Once again, seek your understanding on the product warranty policy

Just wanna share my bad experience with a tyre shop located at Enterprise Hub.

I went to a famous tyre shop along Toh Guan Road East, Enterprise Hub. Bought 4 new Goodyear tyres with no issues and was promised 5 time free tyre rotation. After changing the tyre, paid a good price and drove off with no issues.

However problems started when I return for my so-called "free" rotation...

My first rotation the guy told me the spacer was missing and I have to pay $15 to replace it. No one else had touch my tyres since I last changed with them, so how could it "disappear". The shop gave no explanation but demanded $15 for the replacement. They also insisted that my sports rims were "dented" and should not be used anymore for safety reason and recommended that I change to a new set. I always been a very safe driver and did not even have any kerb rash on rims, how could the rims are dented now and if really so, why this wasn't brought up when I changed my tyres then!? I refused to change the rims, paid $15 for the "missing" space and left.

Second time I came back for my "free" rotation, I was told there was a nail on my tyre and recommend that I patch "internally". However the price was a ripped off, and the guy told me the price is fixed and a small handwritten price list was stuck on the wall right beside the office. Honestly if the price was right the entrance I can tell you I would never have step into the shop. Left with little choice for my rather new tyres I paid for the exorbitant price. However to think back, my driev to the shop was perfectly fine how could my tyre suddenly had a nail on it? My second experience raised more suspicion over this "free" rotation.

Undeterred, I went back for the third time for my "free" rotation. This time I told the guy please removed my tyres one by one and I would follow him throughout. I told him my previous experiences and told him I felt that the "extra charges" were deliberate, he actually gave me a BIG GRIM. Just as persistent as I am, they found a tiny strip of metal on the tyre and said it could be pierced through. I got him to scrap off the tiny metal strip and the tyre was perfectly okay. I was aghast by how an experienced tyre fitter can tell me a tiny metal strip can pierce through the tyre. I finally had my tyres rotated without having to pay for the "extras", but the BIG GRIM was enough to tell me what the trust actually was.

And without saying, I NEVER EVER RETURNED to the shop. If you are looking for tyres at this area, do STAY AWAY from this famous shop. I can't remember the name but they are located inside Enterprise Hub and carries Goodyear brand as their main tyres.

If you are shopping for new tyres around that area do be careful. I hope my bad experience will help.

Edited by Detonator8

My Mr.Datonator8

let me share my Personal view of your bad experience

once your car run on the road , few possible cause rim to dent are not only mount curb , driving over HuMP (commonly here), reverse park when hard enough to impact the concrete block. (this can happen without your knowing

losing of your so call round spacer missing ? to be fair , when you send your car for any servicing ,workshop does need to remove your rim from car (so that is another party touch it)

talking about cost of service and tyre repair ( me always has no comment because is entirely free market for you to go anyway you are comfortable and happy)

base on your comment here, this famous shop already provided you free rotation service which most shop don't provide

only service I like is they provide Internal patching tyre service which is Best and only repair method ensure your Patched tyre is SAFE to carry on using it (very Professional job)

just MHO

I had good experiences with them when I installed my rim protectors with them twice.

Both sets were for my K5.

First time was recommended by Amourcoat when I wanted to repair my kerb rashes on my rims. They suggested putting rim protectors instead. Can hide the kerb rashes AND protect the rims from further damage.  [smash]

2nd time was when I had to change my tyres, and the rim protectors cannot be re-used, so went back again to install.

No complaints for both times.

to be fair , when you send your car for any servicing ,workshop does need to remove your rim from car (so that is another party touch it)

why service car need remove rim?

I went to a famous tyre shop along Toh Guan Road East, Enterprise Hub. Bought 4 new Goodyear tyres with no issues and was promised 5 time free tyre rotation. After changing the tyre, paid a good price and drove off with no issues.

My first rotation the guy told me the spacer was missing and I have to pay $15 to replace it. No one else had touch my tyres since I last changed with them, so how could it "disappear". The shop gave no explanation but demanded $15 for the replacement. They also insisted that my sports rims were "dented" and should not be used anymore for safety reason and recommended that I change to a new set. I always been a very safe driver and did not even have any kerb rash on rims, how could the rims are dented now and if really so, why this wasn't brought up when I changed my tyres then!? I refused to change the rims, paid $15 for the "missing" space and left.

Second time I came back for my "free" rotation, I was told there was a nail on my tyre and recommend that I patch "internally". However the price was a ripped off, and the guy told me the price is fixed and a small handwritten price list was stuck on the wall right beside the office. Honestly if the price was right the entrance I can tell you I would never have step into the shop. Left with little choice for my rather new tyres I paid for the exorbitant price. However to think back, my driev to the shop was perfectly fine how could my tyre suddenly had a nail on it? My second experience raised more suspicion over this "free" rotation.

Undeterred, I went back for the third time for my "free" rotation. This time I told the guy please removed my tyres one by one and I would follow him throughout. I told him my previous experiences and told him I felt that the "extra charges" were deliberate, he actually gave me a BIG GRIM. Just as persistent as I am, they found a tiny strip of metal on the tyre and said it could be pierced through. I got him to scrap off the tiny metal strip and the tyre was perfectly okay. I was aghast by how an experienced tyre fitter can tell me a tiny metal strip can pierce through the tyre. I finally had my tyres rotated without having to pay for the "extras", but the BIG GRIM was enough to tell me what the trust actually was.

And without saying, I NEVER EVER RETURNED to the shop. If you are looking for tyres at this area, do STAY AWAY from this famous shop. I can't remember the name but they are located inside Enterprise Hub and carries Goodyear brand as their main tyres.

If you are shopping for new tyres around that area do be careful. I hope my bad experience will help.

My take on tyres.

If you pay for 4 tyres, the shop probably makes a couple of hundreds from you.

He keeps the old tyres and get a few dollars for them.

Then he has his overheads and workers salary to pay.

If he throws in 5 free rotation, his labour is going to cost him if every customer comes back to claim.

And also your car is taking up space where he could sell more tyres.

He might as well promise lifetime tyre rotation, but he's knows he won't do that bcuz most tyres will run bald before long and you have to change anyways.

Taking out tyres sometimes may lose a hub ring without the mech noticing, bcuz most sports rims are lug-centric, you need a hub ring. I've taken out tyres before and they do drop off.

If your tyres do not suddently lose drastic pressure, it is unlikely there's a nail or screw in it.

Some slivers of scrap metals may be embedded on the surface of the tyres, but they usually do no harm.

So if you don't want to mess with his numbers and "free" stuffs, just find a tyre shop that gives you good price and no free this or that.

Free stuffs does not usually come for "free".

You have to pay for it somewhere.

Car battery Posted on 20-Mar-2016 spacer.gif Overall Rating:  

• Technical Expertise1/5
  • Customer Service1/5
  • Value for money1/5
  • Outlet Experience1/5

Will never patronize this outlet again. Purchased car battery with warranty only to realize when battery is faulty, your warranty is 'pro-rated' never heard about pro-rated warranties. Would you want to replace your battery there again. OF COURSE NOT. BEWARE OF SUCH SHOPS.

Management Response by Soon Huat Tyres Pte Ltd

We had done a check on your car battery upon your arrival and the battery is in working condition. Based on the product warranty policy, we are unable to exchange the car battery for you. We can only do one to one exchange when the car battery is not in working condition.

We can understand your concern when there is a comment from another workshop that the battery may be faulty soon. We did offer a goodwill discount to you, a 10% discount when you decided to change the battery with us. Once again, seek your understanding on the product warranty policy

the issue here is how to define battery as "not in working condition".

Edited by Fuelsaver

Wait a minute. I thought quite clear cut one leh, as long as the battery tester said failed is failed lor. Or the battery indicator show Replace.

The type that include load test.

If the shop does not even have a proper tester, just forget it.

the issue here is how to define battery as "not in working condition".

The black shop is "Soon Huat" or not?

Post under shop name may be misleading.

My take on tyres.

If you pay for 4 tyres, the shop probably makes a couple of hundreds from you.

He keeps the old tyres and get a few dollars for them.

Then he has his overheads and workers salary to pay.

If he throws in 5 free rotation, his labour is going to cost him if every customer comes back to claim.

And also your car is taking up space where he could sell more tyres.

He might as well promise lifetime tyre rotation, but he's knows he won't do that bcuz most tyres will run bald before long and you have to change anyways.

Taking out tyres sometimes may lose a hub ring without the mech noticing, bcuz most sports rims are lug-centric, you need a hub ring. I've taken out tyres before and they do drop off.

If your tyres do not suddently lose drastic pressure, it is unlikely there's a nail or screw in it.

Some slivers of scrap metals may be embedded on the surface of the tyres, but they usually do no harm.

So if you don't want to mess with his numbers and "free" stuffs, just find a tyre shop that gives you good price and no free this or that.

Free stuffs does not usually come for "free".

You have to pay for it somewhere.

In Japan, there is a saying:

There is nothing that is more expensive than "free".