Car Stalled Twice - Troubleshooting Advice

Kusje

My Lancer EX 1.5A has stalled twice recently (once today and once last week). Both times, the car stalled when moving off after stopping at a junction. I did not change gears away from D and kept my foot on the brakes at the junction.

I quickly switched to neutral and cranked the engine - no problems in starting it.

Any clue what could be wrong? Spark plugs need to change? Cam shaft sensor?

Thank you in advance.

*Car is 7 years old and I've driven about 120k km. Spark plugs have not been changed before.

Edited by Kusje

even iridium plug only last 100k. High time to change liao,,,,,,

Oh. Oops. Just went through my service records and the spark plug was changed at 75k (means only used for 45k)

Any other ideas or should I still change the spark plugs and see what happens from there?

Bro, you may want to also check the fuel pump?

My Lancer EX 1.5A has stalled twice recently (once today and once last week). Both times, the car stalled when moving off after stopping at a junction. I did not change gears away from D and kept my foot on the brakes at the junction.

I quickly switched to neutral and cranked the engine - no problems in starting it.

Thank you in advance.

*Car is 7 years old and I've driven about 120k km. Spark plugs have not been changed before.

Oh. Oops. Just went through my service records and the spark plug was changed at 75k (means only used for 45k)

Any other ideas or should I still change the spark plugs and see what happens from there?

I had this long ago in my COE car. The electronic coil in the distributor was spoilt n it only stalled when it got hot.

After a few minutes it wud cool n can can start again. Problem solved when I changed the distributor with a 2nd hand one with the electronic coil all together.

Did u check if there was any spark to the plugs when the car stalled? At night did all the lights n meters all went dim as the car stalled?

I had this long ago in my COE car. The electronic coil in the distributor was spoilt n it only stalled when it got hot.

After a few minutes it wud cool n can can start again. Problem solved when I changed the distributor with a 2nd hand one with the electronic coil all together.

Did u check if there was any spark to the plugs when the car stalled? At night did all the lights n meters all went dim as the car stalled?

Was in the middle of the road so I did not manage to check anything - just a quick crank and I was off when the engine started. The lights/meters were still on when the engine stalled.

Didn't need anything to cool down so doesn't sound like the same problem as yours.

Battery or alternator problem? Just wondering.

Battery is quite new. How to check alternator?

Bro, you may want to also check the fuel pump?

Can I check the fuel pump on my own? I'm afraid if I bring the car into a workshop without knowing anything, the mechanic will tell me to change everything.

check/clean your MAF (mass air flow) sensor ...

Same thing. How would I check this?

Edited by Kusje

Hi bro did you top up aircon gas recently? happen to me once when i top up gas and my car stalled once, found it suspicious so next day went to workshop and otw stalled twice over a 40 mins period reach workshop and they release some aircon gas after that the car was ok ever since

I kena this before on my old Mazda, which was at its 9th year, about 140 km mileage. It just stalled and refused to start, but can crank. After rest a while, it could that start.

Yes, I also changed to a used distributor from a nearby WS.

Was in the middle of the road so I did not manage to check anything - just a quick crank and I was off when the engine started. The lights/meters were still on when the engine stalled.

Didn't need anything to cool down so doesn't sound like the same problem as yours.

Battery is quite new. How to check alternator?Can I check the fuel pump on my own? I'm afraid if I bring the car into a workshop without knowing anything, the mechanic will tell me to change everything.

As what bro P69 had mentioned, you check your distributor and ignition coil first.

Alternator if faulty your Battery warning light would appear in your dash.

Unlikely to be fuel pump because you could start your engine without any problems (I think lah).

Do you remember if the petrol gauge was low or near empty when the stalling happened?

Battery is quite new. How to check alternator?

Can I check the fuel pump on my own? I'm afraid if I bring the car into a workshop without knowing anything, the mechanic will tell me to change everything.

Same thing. How would I check this?

Do you remember if the petrol gauge was low or near empty when the stalling happened?

Nope. Plenty of petrol - 3/4 tank and full tank respectively.

Should be the distributor or spark plug cable.. Change those out.. While you're at it, check your throttle body see if its dirty and clean it as well.. And clean the maf sensor as well..

Wah. So many things. Let me change the spark plugs first and see what happens. Planning to drive the car until COE expires (3 more years).

Oh, I feel the car is a little more sluggish and has less power but I'm not sure if it is psychological.

my friend's lancer glx had the same problem and it was his ignition coil that was failing on the 7th year, happen in jb so brought him to my workshop...

www.doityourself.com/stry/6-symptoms-of-ignition-coil-failure#b

www.doityourself.com/stry/7-symptoms-of-a-bad-fuel-pressure-regulator#.U7EzyykZ7qA

hope this helps

Wah. So many things. Let me change the spark plugs first and see what happens. Planning to drive the car until COE expires (3 more years).

Oh, I feel the car is a little more sluggish and has less power but I'm not sure if it is psychological.

Edited by Meganut

A few questions..

1. How did your car behave before it stalled, i.e. During the moving off, while your car was at low speed, was there any stuttering of engine/did you feel any jerking before it stalled?

2. If you have intermittent stuttering problem at low speed, does it go away at higher rpm or higher speed, like cruising on expressway?

If you encounter similar issues above, you might want to have your ignition coil checked out as it is similar to the issue I faced recently where my car stuttered until it stalled while moving off.

Regarding fuel pump/alternator/battery issues, when you start up the car and you have a strong crank without hesitation, then the likelihood that these are the contributing factors to your car stalling would be minimized.

Stalling on automatic car is unusual (Duh!) and first thing that comes to my mind would be the electrical/ignition components of the engine.

Thank you in advance.

did u pump ron92??

i know that certain car manual states min ron is 91 but certain cars cant handle ron92 especially fr SPC...

i had this prob on my previous ride and after switched to ron95, all is good...