IPPT may be made simpler, says Dr Ng Eng Hen

Vega

Which station or stations should be removed?

http://www.channelnewsasia.com/news/singapore/ippt-may-be-made-simpler/1221962.html

Defence Minister Ng Eng Hen said the yearly fitness test may include fewer test stations, and more details will be announced in the next few months.

SINGAPORE: The yearly Individual Physical Proficiency Test (IPPT) may be made simpler, with having fewer stations, as the Singapore Armed Forces (SAF) moves towards being more flexible and listening to feedback from National Servicemen, according to Defence Minister Ng Eng Hen.

Dr Ng, speaking to the media ahead of SAF Day on July 1, said Singapore is moving away from taking a strictly dogmatic approach by listening and responding to feedback by NSmen, such as on issues concerning IPPT. While the gold standards for IPPT will not change, the overall fitness test may be made simpler, he said.

"IPPT is not a be-all and end-all of fitness. It is a measure of fitness. So if we treat it that way, can there be simpler tests? Do other militaries use less stations? And as we look deeper into it, other militaries do use less. We are among the few militaries that use five (stations). Others use three, some more. But a majority of militaries actually use simpler tests," Dr Ng said.

More details will be announced in the next few months, he added.

The IPPT was launched in 1979 and taken by about 116,000 SAF personnel annually. The test format, unchanged since 1982, requires servicemen to go through the five stations of sit-ups, standing broad jumps, pull ups, a 4x10 metre shuttle run and 2.4-kilometre run.

We should benchmark to those who do more, not less.

If we go by the reasoning that there are more militaries who do less, then might as well scrap NS because there are far more countries that doesn't have NS.

I think just maintain long-distance run good enough 'cos enemies come, you run mah..... You don't do monkey chin ups for show, jump like a frog, etc.... Maybe increase from 2.4 to 4.2km run.

We should benchmark to those who do more, not less.

If we go by the reasoning that there are more militaries who do less, then might as well scrap NS because there are far more countries that doesn't have NS.

We should bench mark those that got do actual war.

They will know which are the stations that is required.

running lor. [laugh] Actually, all still need except sit-ups.

Edited by Kangadrool

Responding to Dr. Ng's announcement, "experts" and "observers" said that while the review by the "relevant authorities" was "timely", more could be done to reassure NSmen because the announcement did not contain anything about making things more "affordable" and hence was unnerving.

replace chin up to push up. min to pass, 1 min 30 standard push up.

remove sit up and shuttle run.

if I am not wrong, our ippt is bench marked after the Israeli arm forces.

replace chin up to push up. min to pass, 1 min 30 standard push up.

remove sit up and shuttle run.

if I am not wrong, our ippt is bench marked after the Israeli arm forces.

Last time is, now don't know Liao.

Anyone know what isreal ippt is like??

Just run SOC. If you can do SOC, you are good enough.

like that SAF need to issue weapon for us to train at home.

SOC in the rough sea ai mai?

Orrrhhhh....Comparing wor. Claim extra credit lor. Plainclothes Commando Special Force Counter Terrorist 1-punch-1 kill lor. <_<