Lei Garden Orchard closes (manpower shortage, they say)

Alheych

A pity, because I think this is a very good restaurant.

http://www.straitstimes.com/news/singapore/more-singapore-stories/story/lei-garden-closes-orchard-shopping-centre-branch-2014070

With so many restaurants closing down, or on the brink of closing down, due to manpower shortage issues, and such news being repeatedly published on MSM, I think the message is clear.

It reminds me of an oatmeal comic. Food can really get people to react like nothing else can:

twinkies.jpg

Maybe manpower shortage is not the real reason?

Anyway there's a branch at Chjimes and yes it is a good restaurant. I once ordered steamed fish, the famous double boiled fish soup, fried rice, a vegetable and crab and the bill went up to almost $500 (almost $150 for the steamed fish Jesus!) for 2 pax - a little expensive but decent.

More likely rental and landlord issue, the building is bloody old and run down.

Yeah I also say. Far East mah

Anyway there's a branch at Chjimes and yes it is a good restaurant. I once ordered steamed fish, the famous double boiled fish soup, fried rice, a vegetable and crab and the bill went up to almost $500 (almost $150 for the steamed fish Jesus!) for 2 pax - a little expensive but decent.

You are damn farking elite.. $500 bucks meal for 2?...... Knn.. I find $50 buck expensive already.. Hehehe

My last meal there was a business lunch and I think the whole time, between 12 - 2, there were about 4 tables that were occupied.

We had the largest table of 10, 3 waitresses served our table with another lady who looks like a supervisor standing beside.

Not a restaurant business expert but looks to me is the case of poor business and bad location. Just 2 buildings down or cross the traffic light, you get Orchard Central with many selections of great restaurants or Mandarin Orchard with yet other choices. To pay that kind of money to eat at Lei Garden @ Orchard, for me, I'd go else where.

You are damn farking elite.. $500 bucks meal for 2?...... Knn.. I find $50 buck expensive already.. Hehehe

Eh buy an associate from Japan dinner mah. Next time I go there she buy me kobe beef :D

All businesses that close now will tell you one thing - labour stortage and secondly rental albielt in a very subtle way.

Edited by Kangadrool

haolian spotted .... hahahaaaa... but a damn nice one, and worth its salt bcz it is so naturally.

No haolian lah. You don't think it's expensive meh? The food is good but it's really quite expensive

oh well, more of these news coming out... people will be brainwashed and say: hey, actually the foreigners are very important!

and the govt can justify opening their door again

My last meal there was a business lunch and I think the whole time, between 12 - 2, there were about 4 tables that were occupied.

We had the largest table of 10, 3 waitresses served our table with another lady who looks like a supervisor standing beside.

Not a restaurant business expert but looks to me is the case of poor business and bad location. Just 2 buildings down or cross the traffic light, you get Orchard Central with many selections of great restaurants or Mandarin Orchard with yet other choices. To pay that kind of money to eat at Lei Garden @ Orchard, for me, I'd go else where.

really? been there a few times for weekday lunch and the restaurant is usually 80% full.

only the chinese restaurant at mandarin hotel orchard can fight with Lei on quality. the rest of them within walking distance belong to another tier, quality-wise.

No haolian lah. You don't think it's expensive meh? The food is good but it's really quite expensive

not just the fish but i think the soup is also very expensive. learnt it the hard way too. [grin]

for the past 3 years rental for retail and restaurant had skyrocketed crazily.

current situation will only gets worst before it gets better

A lot of business manpower shortage.. MBFC 鼎泰丰,the receptionist got to serve Q, wait table, serve dish, settle payments, clear table.. Sibei poor thing

why not help them a bit? I always walk to counter to settle bill after meals instead of getting the waiter to walk back-and-forth.

A lot of business manpower shortage.. MBFC 鼎泰丰,the receptionist got to serve Q, wait table, serve dish, settle payments, clear table.. Sibei poor thing

Singaporean shun these jobs that FW were employed. FW policy needs to be tweaked to allow more FW for these jobs that singaporean won't do.