Dis-Incentive for Public Transport?

Darryn

Today I went to work by BMW...(farking shat, two trains I couldn't board!!)

Anyway - crossing the CTE bridge I saw that BUS ERP was $9...

It seems that a big bus will pay at least $15 to get to the CBD at this timing - or about 50 cents per passenger.

Is this the right thing to do?

While busses do cause congestion, they are also a far better option than private cars or taxis.

Shouldn't we be trying to make bus transport cheaper? A more attractive alternative?

If this is the case - why are bus passengers charged basically 50cents each on a daily basis in ERP?

It seems that a big bus will pay at least $15 to get to the CBD at this timing - or about 50 cents per passenger.

While busses do cause congestion, they are also a far better option than private cars or taxis.

Shouldn't we be trying to make bus transport cheaper? A more attractive alternative?

If this is the case - why are bus passengers charged basically 50cents each on a daily basis in ERP?

bus passenger pay 50 cents ERP?

Tuck Yew already said regular fare increase.

Public transport is condemned.

bus passenger pay 50 cents ERP?

i think he what he meant was there were 18 pax in the bus....since the bus had to pay 9 bucks.....so he divided the cost to the number of pax!

Darren.....welcome to SG!

issit you looking forward to buy one of those mercs vito bus [sly]

very expensvie lah [crazy]

LoL...this is Sg, one of the most expensive places on Earth.

If you see anything that has become cheaper...prease let us know.

Now he better think many many times before buying a bus. [laugh] His mini bus will cost more than 50 cents per passenger, probably $1 each.

issit you looking forward to buy one of those mercs vito bus [sly]

very expensvie lah [crazy]

Celery got count anot? [laugh]

Edited by Kangadrool

Whatever costs are transferred to commuters. What's wrong with collecting more money.... has always been the stance of our gahmen the last few decades.

SGreans are screwed whichever way you look at it so just accept the reality.

Now he better think many many times before buying a bus. [laugh] His mini bus will cost more than 50 cents per passenger, probably $1 each.

if ah nee ho tan, i also go buy one and start fetching passengers liao [laugh]

if bus wanna make money one is at least those 44 seater type

i think he what he meant was there were 18 pax in the bus....since the bus had to pay 9 bucks.....so he divided the cost to the number of pax!

Darren.....welcome to SG!

Zacheries lah - except in the 830-900 belt it is at least $15 in ERP (so keeping the math simple - 30 pax, 50 cents each)

Not sure if I counted all gantries (I counted three - before and after Braddel and also Anson)

Zacheries lah - except in the 830-900 belt it is at least $15 in ERP (so keeping the math simple - 30 pax, 50 cents each)

Not sure if I counted all gantries (I counted three - before and after Braddel and also Anson)

wah...u really counted the gantries har? With the jams and everything.....thats why many prefer to take own transport. Zacharies simi har? Agak-agak ration har?

Aiyoh 2 trains u can't board u aarrgh.

Those who hv to wait 3-4, can break out in violence??

Btw, did u read that bus fares gg to increase after it is being sub-con out?

Keeping using public tpt costs down is nvr the top priority.

Perhaps we shd qtn y shd staff workg in smrt, LTA n sbs b entitled to free travel on public tpt?

The only certainty in this transport system of ours is that the fare will only goes up !

Every other things is uncertain to us :)

wah...u really counted the gantries har? With the jams and everything.....thats why many prefer to take own transport. Zacharies simi har? Agak-agak ration har?

You've never heard of zacheries disease?

Then of course, there's also duck's disease...

"You look like you've got Duck's Disease."

"What's Duck's Disease?"

"It's when your legs are too short for your body so your bum's too close to the ground."

Aiyoh 2 trains u can't board u aarrgh.

Those who hv to wait 3-4, can break out in violence??

Btw, did u read that bus fares gg to increase after it is being sub-con out?

Keeping using public tpt costs down is nvr the top priority.

Perhaps we shd qtn y shd staff workg in smrt, LTA n sbs b entitled to free travel on public tpt?

I'm inpatient (not at Hougang Avenue 8 though)

I think free transport for SMRT etc workers is a good thing

I think COE should be a direct subsidy for busses

I think busses should be exempt from ERP

You've never heard of zacheries disease?

Then of course, there's also duck's disease...

"You look like you've got Duck's Disease."

"What's Duck's Disease?"

"It's when your legs are too short for your body so your bum's too close to the ground."

I'm inpatient (not at Hougang Avenue 8 though)

I think free transport for SMRT etc workers is a good thing

I think COE should be a direct subsidy for busses

I think busses should be exempt from ERP

ahhhh....exactly....but i prefer buttherface!

Hee...

are you familiar with the phrase -

You don't look at the mantlepiece while you're stoking the fire?

I am here to remind you and TS to enjoy one item that is "Free of Charge" in Singapore [thumbsup][cool]

. [rolleyes]

Singapore Air [nod]

Hi, Darryn,

Please be our opposition candidate [nod] , my whole Fong's clan 2016 GE votes confirm tick X for you :wub:

Singapore's policy is to make EVERYTHING more expensive, but make the "lowest common denominator" option least expensive. They're not making the latter *cheaper* or even affordable to the most indigent class, just ensuring it's seen as least expensive. That way they can wayang and pretend they've done something for the majority of Singaporeans.

Examples of such "lowest common denominator" options: buses, MRT (transport), HDB (housing), multi-bedder wards in restructured hospitals and polyclinics (healthcare). I hope you can see my point - by no means would any of these be considered "cheap" to a rational observer, but they are certainly less expensive than their respective alternatives. But the bottom line is they want to keep making money off everything.

• Praise 12